We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow this place was amazing, we can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yabbaloumba Retreat
1 review
“Wow this place was amazing, we can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My partner & I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend escape. Cottages were clean, private, modern, inviting and well appointed and feature spectacular views of Barb & Lloyd's farm and beyond, we could not stop taking photos! We also purchase a bbq pack for our first night & it was great value, complete with amazing chocolate mousse to enjoy by the fire. Plenty of places to explore on the property and you can even say hello to the farm animals. A short drive to the charming town of Kenilworth were you can enjoy a cottage pie from the local bakery and take home locally made yoghurt and cheese. A beautiful country escape that is a must do for all couples.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were so excited about coming to stay here! We used to camp down the road in the forest, but the tent days are behind us I am happy to say! We were greeted at the house by Barb, who is a wonderful host! After explaining that we could go just about anywhere on the property, she gave us the key to our cabin and away we went. Walking into the cabin was a real treat, king size bed, spa bath, and a great veranda to view the property from. Barb and Lloyd have thought of just about everything you may need. TV/DVD with USB connectivity, heaps of dvd's to choose from, and so many other niceties. I was happy as Larry to find that my mobile phone was out of range for the duration! So quiet at night with the gas fireplace going.. We had the breakfast hamper each morning, and it was value for money! Fresh warm croissants delivered to your door, fruit platter, fresh eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, and some of the best bacon I have had in ages! We had plans to explore the property, but to be honest, we just couldn't be bothered to leave the room.. :D Guess we will save that for next time! Thanks Barb and Lloyd we will be back someday!!!

Room Tip: There are only for cabins, and all are situated so you will not see your neighbor.. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Yabbaloumba Retreat is breathtaking :) .. No other words to describe this place. Barb and Lloyd were very welcoming when we checked in and again when we borrowed their phone to call home (sorry techos minimal reception here, BUT who needs reception when you are at a place like Yabbaloumba??).

We stayed at the retreat for 2 nights for my partner's bday; it was very relaxing, calming and the view from our balcony was breath-taking. We utterly enjoyed watching the cows, ducks and 1 horse who thinks he is a cow walk around. A must do for visitors is a walk around the estate .. up and down the hills - good exercise!!

Our cabin was a perfect size with kitchenette, BBQ, huge spa, comfy bed and a fire place. A bonus we were also impressed with was breakfast hamper including fresh croissants every morning. Since there aren't any close shops around; included breakfast was the cherry to the cake.

This weekend tops most locations we have stayed in (from Goldie, to Sunny Coast, Melbourne to Tassie) ..

Will definitely be back ;) .. Thanks Barb and Lloyd!! A+++++

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank K7hazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Yabbaloumba Retreat isn't just for couples!!

Eight members of the Pastel Society of Australia booked with " Plein Crazy Escapes" for a few days of en Plein air pastel painting in a rural setting. We were blown away with the setting of the homestead and our luxurious cottages, which were beyond our expectations with every convenience thought of. The hospitality of Barb and Lloyd was amazing. As our group were often up near the homestead we ended up feeling we were not just guests but friends visiting friends as they welcomed us into their home. Our every request was met and we enjoyed Barb's great cooking and many of Lloyd's stories. There were so many lovely vistas to paint plus white turkeys, guinea fowl, goats, cattle and birdlife to photograph as reference material - Lloyd, with his gorgeous full white beard graciously posed too! Thank you both - And a Thank You to our wonderful tutors who were savvy enough to find Yabbaloumba for our Escape.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this beautiful retreat to escape from hussle and bussle,the large highway that we were living next to and most importantly our extremely busy and stressful lifestyle within the hospitality industry... We arrived late to find an absolutely amazingly peaceful,calm,ambiently lit immaculate room complete with relaxation music a gas fire place and big two person spa and everything you could ever imagine... We were instantly relaxed we could have dropped to the floor!... The hosts brought us warmed fresh croissants the next morning to have with all of the other beautiful foods such as fresh fruit platters, yoghurt,muesli and bacon and eggs,tomatoes and mushroom for us to cook .. There was juice, select teas and percolated coffee... It was like we had the royal spread!...All of this we had on the veranda that overlooked an absolute tranquil oasis at the foot of the mountains .. Beautiful,healing,pristine rolling intense green hills with a crisp soft breeze of life giving fresh air..If you think I am exaggerating your going to have to check it out for yourself !!! I give the room, service, location,experience and feeling after being to Yabbaloumba retreat.. 10 stars!!!! :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Sounds perfect where do I book...that's right, we live it everyday. Thanks for sharing our special place and the great review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Yabbaloumba Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a lovely time we had during our stay. Accomodation, location and our hosts were amazing, we were even lucky enough to be there when a calf was born! Barb and Lloyd took us down to see the new-born and talked us through what was happening, was just beautiful and we felt so lucky to be there for that! If you are looking for a relaxing and peaceful getaway then this is for you! Breakfast was also really good!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Yabbaloumba Retreat,it was our pleasure to share new life here at Yabbaloumba and we thank you very much for the photos you sent us, we hope to see you again one day, Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

With my wife and I struggling with the stress of our jobs and being her birthday, going away to a rural retreat for a weekend to help quiet the mind and spend quality time together sounded like a plan.

What we found at Yabbaloumba Retreat was amazing and more than we expected. Beautiful cottages, inspiring views, wonderful wildlife and a sense of piece and tranquility that made it so special - just what my wife and I needed.

Close enough, yet far enough from all major centres made this a wonderful location to explore the Mary Valley (or just relax at the retreat).

We will be back.

Room Tip: Order the dinner packs - they are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
On behalf of Yabbaloumba Retreat, we wish your wife a Happy belated birthday. Its great to hear that your visit to Yabbaloumba was what you both needed, we would have to agree that there is something so special about it here and we are so glad we got to share that with you both. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
12.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
15.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
171 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
11.5 mi away
Mapleton Cabins & Caravan Park
13.4 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yabbaloumba Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabbaloumba Retreat

Property: Yabbaloumba Retreat
Address: 118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yabbaloumba Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yabbaloumba Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing