We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Beautiful surrounds at Lake Somerset. Amazing backdrop with the lake and mountains behind. We've been here before on day trips and always promised ourselves to come back and camp, which we did. As it was our first time, we opted for a powered tent site just so we could relax and fully check out the place for next time. It was great not having to worry about fridges/batteries etc, but as the powered sites are clustered together, we had to pitch the tent on the lot we had booked which was on bare dirt in full sun. Being winter this didn't matter but would be very hot in summer. Also, it took us an extra hour just to get the pegs into the rocky ground. We also felt on top of other campers, and for 2 nights we had a screaming baby about 4 feet from our heads! So if you have a generator and good battery, head for the more remote parts of the park. That's what we'll be doing next time. Our 2 boys, 11 and 15, had a ball sailing on the lake in our little sabot, and we loved the mini golf. We had a roaring campfire every night, and really enjoyed the night time movies on the cricket oval. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we are really looking forward to making a return trip.

Room Tip: Take a generator and head for the more remote and spacious parts of the park.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank gumtreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    68
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
109
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

we have a family tradition to stay at somerset every easter and have done for 10 years, last year we paid nearly $500 for 1 week (2 adults 2 children)
we could have stayed in a hotel for this or even a caravan park that has more stuff for the children to do.
the easter morning was DISGUSTING we were all just totally disgusted with the organisation of it we come in a group of 12 families and at least 5 of the kids were hurt in the stompeade to get the easter eggs
this is very poorly done- easter bunny rides around half the oval on a golf buggy and just throws out the easter eggs- the children jsut go crazy and stomp on each other to get them
NOT ADVISABLE FOR CHILDREN UNDER 10

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lollypops007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilcoy hotels

Glass House
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

toilets showers a bit old but very clean. Great camping ground on the water, very good for families. We had some trouble with loud cmpers on the first night but after complaingng to staff they were told to leave and we had a great time we will be back! good family place

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambGlassHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Having just stayed for an extended weekend with three other families our only complaint was our stay was to short. We will be back as soon as we can.On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff of the park who were more than helpfull with anything we asked. We chose to stay on an upowered site which gave us a free free choice of spots to park our van so we chose to park near the swimming area. we had three young young to teenage boys in our group who spent most of their time in inflatable boats exploring and fishing and doing what boys do and enjoy .Now having just read a review writtenby someone who stayed at your park i feel like i should comment on some of their concerns. Rubbish bins in one central spot is a great idea as there is no rubbish blowing around the park (and no smell) which i would like to add is very clean. We placed our rubbish in the bins on a daily basis. If you had animals getting into your rubbish keep it up off the ground or buy yourself a small bin as you would do at home problem cured.A walk to the bins. Excercise never hurt anyone. Toilets are only made dirty by the people that use them not by the people that clean them and they cleaned them quite often.A bit of paint peeling off well that must of been a bit stressful for you!!!!! You are not in the city so water pressure is not the same as most people would understand . And as for a shower head being removed for replacement or repair or maybe stolen use the other shower then do the right thing and let know.WE will stay here again for sure as this is one of the best value for money places we have stayed at so close to home as we also come from the Brisbane area. We make that assumption on 35 years of camping and caravaning with our children and now grandchildren so we are quite informed on what is available. As for telling our friends about this place well they told us.But i can assure you we will continue telling others at every opportunity.Camping is not 5 star accomodation but this park is as close as it gets.The next time we stay at this park we look forward to people who wrote in my opinion(and when this park in peak times holds 4000 people so i guess theirs as well)to you and your friends being at one of those other places which i am sure you won't be happy at either.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HamiltonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I camped for 3 nights. The park itself is very large and as there were hardly any other campers we had our choice of spots. The first night we used one of the bbqs which were free and quite clean. The amenities block left something to be desired. My husband stated that there was no rose on one shower and the other had very poor pressure. In the ladies shower the paint was peeling off the walls. The exterior of the amenities blocks looked quite modern as though the exterior had been updated but not the interior. There appeared to be plenty of boat ramps for those with a boat, which is recommended when staying there. There are no rubbish bins scattered around the park, rather a central collection point near the front gate. As it is such a large park it becomes quite an exercise to dispose of rubbish regularly and as the wildlife is quite prolific, this needs to be done almost after every meal. We had previously stayed at another holiday park run by the same organisation (Family Parks Association) at Lake Monduran and from that experience expected that Lake Somerset would be equally as good but we were rather disappointed. I don't think we will be staying here again. There are quite a few camping areas in the district.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank molletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djtilto, Owner at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Lake Somerset Holiday Park. We are currently undergoing major refurbishment of the park including internal of all amenities, installation of a brand new camp kitchen and additional powered sites. As a result, if you choose to stay with us again, your issues with the amenities will be rectified. Maintenance issues are addressed daily at the park by the managers who welcome your feedback.

Our bins are centralised so that guests are not affected by bin odour close to their site, as garbage collection occurs once a week. All guests are given garbage bags to eliminate loose rubbish at your site.
Please be aware that Family Parks is a marketing chain, they do not own either Lake Somerset Holiday Park or Lake Monduran Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We have camped here on two occasions. The latest being May 2010 during the Qld long weekend. On this occasion the place was almost packed out. On our first visit there were very few people camping. Lake Somerset Holiday Park is an excellent choice for campers. It is approximately 1 1/2 hours from the sunshine coast and less than 2 hours from Brisbane. (depending on where you leave from). The park is huge with freestyle camping, mostly unpowered sites and also a variety of cabins to choose from. The park is extremely popular for boating and fishing with numerous boat ramps for guests to use. There are amenities blocks spread throughout the park with hot showers and also a guest laundry. A new office block has been recently open and basic supplies are available for campers. There is a sports field and kids playground. During the long weekend there were organized activities such as jumping castle (fee), movie under the stars and sport for families to enjoy. Camp fires were also allowed. There is a web site for further information and bookings. We have arrived on both occasions without a booking for camp sites however it is advisable to book the cabins particularly in the holiday season. It is only a short drive into town if needed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

After arriving to find our booking had been lost we were offered no compensation, no apology, and were told that it was our fault for reasons the manager seemed to be pulling out of thin air! Three days before arriving I tried ringing to confirm our accommodation but was unable to get through, only offered a recording saying everything I needed was available through their website which is obviously not true. The one night we stayed the accommodation in the cabins was very poor, being paltry 3 stars at most, not nearly 5 as the $200/night price tag suggests. My advice is to stay elsewhere, but if you do have to stay at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, stay in a tent or campsite, ring to book then ring to confirm every three days afterwards, and don’t get your expectations too high.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigerzark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Owner at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
In response to "Worst Holiday Ever" comments we would firstly like to apologise to this guest who was obviously inconvenienced by our booking process. Our booking policies require guests to pay a deposit in advance when booking accommodation to ensure that these type of situations do not occur. Once a deposit is paid, the cabin or site is confirmed, and confirmation of the same is sent to the guest, there is no on-going need to check back with the park, the deposit holds the cabin or site for you.

It is not our intention to make the reservation process difficult for customers, and we strive to ensure all of our guests enjoy our park, facilities and service so we value the feedback of all of our customers which allows us to continually improve our levels of service.

While we have both 3, and 4 star cabins in our park, I believe the guests comments related to one of our new cabins that were commissioned in December 2009. These cabins are large, modern, well equipped 2 bedroom cabins, with large decks featuring a built in BBQ, plasma television, Austar and access to free wireless internet. They have achieved a minimum 4 stars as per the national AAA rating scheme. It is disappointing to hear that you did not believe that the cabin was value for money.

We hope that you will return to Lake Somerset Holiday Park in the future and your stay will be an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcoy
5.0 mi away
Kilcoy Gardens Motor Inn
16.1 mi away
Weltevreden Domes Retreat
19.5 mi away
Dayboro Cottages & Llama Walks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Uluramaya Retreat Cabins
12.0 mi away
No photo provided
Exchange Hotel Toogoolawah
#1 of 1 in Toogoolawah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Somerset Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Somerset Holiday Park

Property: Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Address: 78 Kirkleagh Rd, Kilcoy, Queensland 4515, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Somerset > Kilcoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kilcoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Somerset Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Somerset Holiday Park is located on the shores of Lake Somerset, centrally located between Brisbane, Toowoomba and the Sunshine Coast. It is a short 10-15 min drive south of the nearby town of Kilcoy and you can launch straight off the bank onto thousands of kilometres of pristine lake. Lake Somerset Holiday Park offers a relaxed 45 hectare family friendly environment for camping and water sports, providing camping sites, modern amenities, electric BBQs, 2 boat ramps, sporting oval and a kiosk stocking drinks, snacks, ice, gas and limited grocery items. Ideal accommodation for Lake Somerset fishing holidays or water sport getaways. Renowned for premier angling, Lake Somerset is a great place to have your next fishing holiday. The waters surrounding Somerset Dam are home to a host of fishing delights, all waiting for you to explore. Our camping and backpacker facilities and family holiday cabins cater perfectly for any type of water sports or fishing holiday in the Lake Somerset/Somerset Dam area. Lake Somerset Holiday Park's patrons are often seen undertaking water sport activities such as waterskiing, wakeboarding, flyboarding, sailing, kayaking and canoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Somerset Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing