We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Sippy Downs, Australia
2 reviews
“Too crowded”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Unpowered site was full of bull ants and rocks will have to buy new tent pegs. Amenities were kept clean however not enough of them (often q for min 20min for a shower.) camp kitchen was great. Unpowered area dangerous for small children due to heavy traffic. 3000 people is just too much for this space.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Sales & Marketing Production Manager at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback.

I just wanted to make sure that you are aware that our unpowered sites are scattered throughout the entire park and are not pre-allocated so I recommend spending some more time searching for a better site next time, or arriving earlier to secure a site you love.

There are 5 amenities blocks in the park, which we usually find is adequate for the amount of people visiting the park. I would like to reassure you that although our park can get very busy throughout school holidays, there has never been 3000 people at the park. The most people we have ever had in the park at once has been 2200. This is our limit and it is very rare that we ever reach this amount.

I hope you consider returning to our park in a quieter time.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    68
    30
    20
    17
See reviews for
110
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at an unpowered campsite that was well maintained with clean amenities and well thought out camp kitchen, cricket oval, holiday kids activities and safe swimming section.
The staff were efficient and helpful and the campsite clean and we'll organised.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a good camping or cabin holiday with the opportunity to bring your own water sports along.

We will definitely be coming again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deception Bay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Lake Sommerset Holiday Park but am upset by the new changes made in the park. There is now a wire fence separating campers from day visitors. Sounds like a good plan. I thought so until …… my children have kayaks on trailers. They had to wheel them all the way to the office then all the way down to the swim only area. Yes there are two openings in the fence near the oval but only wide enought to walk through. The swim only area is now part of the day trip area. Not good for campers.

A grandfather was examining the fence one morning and I spoke to him. Turned out his young grandchild had run into the fence during the previous evening while playing on the oval. I can see how. The fence is made up of wires not visible at night.

I felt sorry for day trippers now restricted to only one boat ramp. The north-eastern side. The damage done to some of the boats while getting them out of the water with the strong north-easterly blowing, which btw, happens every afternoon.

My biggest complaint is against my fellow skiers and wake boarders. There are maritime laws about speeds around boat ramps and shores. I would say most ignore the laws and enter the ramp area on the south-eastern shore at high speed to deposit those they tow onto the shore. This completely ignores those attempting to get boats in or out of the water and those swimming. Who is there to enforce this. No one. There are also maritine laws about direction of travel which are signed but almost always ignore.

To sum up, the park is an anything goes, essentially self regulated environment. Management never lifts a finger and your enjoyment is solely based on how considerate those camping or boating around you are. Pretty sad and not that enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TryingT0Relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilcoy hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were looking forward to a few days of red clawing and fishing on the dam, bitterly disappointed after leaving them overnight to have a four new pots stolen, apparently this is normal for the locals if they don't take the pots they take your catch. this really put a damper on our holiday however we did find it a Lovely park with excellent service from reception staff.
but Toilet block need cleaning did not see it cleaned in the 4 days we were there.
Also found it very noise on the Friday night due to the school holiday crowds arriving, they do not have any consideration for anyone else

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Noisy speedboats towing skiers, jet skis, , no tv reception, poor mobile phone and Internet coverage, not much wild life around. Not a patch on Lake Wivenhoe.

Ok it's election night and we have paid the $50 bond for a cable tv connection.... Well, we get all of 6 out of 10 channels working and no sound on Sky News. Rang reception to enquire but even Telstra can't string a call together here so we gave up after 3 dropouts in 3 minutes.

Its quite a walk to the refuse disposal point from the powered sites ......you'd think there could be a couple of wheelie bins nearby. Positively, they do have a dump point.

You can buy a "cabin here" starting at $155,000.... which would appear to include a fair old profit margin for the park ....and then you then you pay $350 to $450 a month in electricity and other fees and never own the land its on. They do advise you that it's not an investment. Naturally not too many "cabins" have been built to date. Wonder if the operators are surprised.

Previous reviewers have mentioned noise from unpowered camp sites quite correctly.

On the positive, this is a lovely location. There are fish cleaning facilities and ample toilet facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The dam is amazing.Beautiful I must say. I found it a very clean park overall..Where it fails at the moment I am in the power sites in our tent. I have 3 children 1 is a 1 year old. Our area is across from the non power sites.There in the process of having a party.. The music is so loud they are screaming and singing. If the music was for there own hearing and not the parks I would not complain. I have rang the office which is closed. So whats the point of having this a family park. If there is no one to help make it suitable for all? I will not return. Fishing if u don't. have a boat u get to fish along the walkway in the non shaded area..which has jet ski's,boats and canoes constantly going past u..they have no camping areas because that's the areas for the boats.. Why are u allowing boats etc in this area?? Where do u expect anyone without a boat to fish? This is not a family park..it's a party park.. The amount of beauty and money in this park for the fun at heart with a boat. I will never return. I travelled for this. If u can't run it right don't run it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank jod1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice place to relax pricing was alright we stayed in powered camping, desk staff weren't very welcoming or helpful. Nice and clean bathrooms playground would be better in upgraded we enjoyed feeding a possum of the night but we went when it was quiet and didn't enjoy being right next to people. And people arriving late at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcoy
5.0 mi away
Kilcoy Gardens Motor Inn
16.1 mi away
Weltevreden Domes Retreat
19.5 mi away
Dayboro Cottages & Llama Walks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
No photo provided
Exchange Hotel Toogoolawah
#1 of 2 in Toogoolawah
8 reviews
17.4 mi away
Esk Motel
Esk Motel
#4 of 4 in Esk
8 reviews
24.6 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Somerset Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Somerset Holiday Park

Property: Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Address: 78 Kirkleagh Rd, Kilcoy, Queensland 4515, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Somerset > Kilcoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kilcoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Somerset Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Somerset Holiday Park is located on the shores of Lake Somerset, centrally located between Brisbane, Toowoomba and the Sunshine Coast. It is a short 10-15 min drive south of the nearby town of Kilcoy and you can launch straight off the bank onto thousands of kilometres of pristine lake. Lake Somerset Holiday Park offers a relaxed 45 hectare family friendly environment for camping and water sports, providing camping sites, modern amenities, electric BBQs, 2 boat ramps, sporting oval and a kiosk stocking drinks, snacks, ice, gas and limited grocery items. Ideal accommodation for Lake Somerset fishing holidays or water sport getaways. Renowned for premier angling, Lake Somerset is a great place to have your next fishing holiday. The waters surrounding Somerset Dam are home to a host of fishing delights, all waiting for you to explore. Our camping and backpacker facilities and family holiday cabins cater perfectly for any type of water sports or fishing holiday in the Lake Somerset/Somerset Dam area. Lake Somerset Holiday Park's patrons are often seen undertaking water sport activities such as waterskiing, wakeboarding, flyboarding, sailing, kayaking and canoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Somerset Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing