We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuranda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely site with great staff. Pretty quirky and although it pretty much rained the whole time we stayed, we still enjoyed being there. Not too expensive at $30, pretty average but I would guess cheap for this region. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We - 2 elderly danes- stayed in this wonderful camp park for 4 days in nov. 2012. It's rainforest attributes were ekselent with a lot of funny birds sounds - and the cozy little thai restaurant offered very tasty meals and pleasant service at low prices. And all the amenities were clean all the time. But the best feature was that the empatic manager Collin McDonald several times daily walked around in the area to ask the guests if everything was all right - and if you needed help with something he assisted you immidiately - and his wife managed the office superbly. This was the most positive camp site experience on our 16 days trip to Queensland.

Room Tip: we were in a camper van
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Intended to stay here for one night whilst travelling across Australia and ended up staying a couple more. Fantastic location amongst the rainforest. Sites were fairly well spaced out with plenty of room for my smallish van. Facilities were brilliant; good kitchen, clean toilets and showers and wifi available in some parts of the site. Staff at reception were welcoming and helpful. Can't remember how much the site was, but I seem to remember it was pretty good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in our campervan, at an unpowered site. The staff were very friendly and helpful! The campground is well-maintained, with clean facilities (including camp kitchen, laundry, and hot showers). There's also a nice little swimming pool. The sites themselves were a bit small, but certainly enough space to pull the van into, and to set up our camp chairs. It was a beautiful setting to stay in, and we really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank descending_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We chose to stay here for a night on our way to Palm Cove.
the 5 of us checked in around 1pm and asked the lady at reception if there was anywhere we could get a meal that evening. She informed us that their on site Restaurant would be open at 6:30pm.

Cabins were OK, large, clean and very basic with a slightly institutional feel and parts of the site had an oddly sterile atmosphere - considering we were in a rainforest.

The menu looked good but, the Restaurant did not open at all that evening - which was a shame because it looked very nice - Asian in stlyle, with a kind of tented verandah situated behind the lovely little pool area, on high ground overlooking the cabins.

We were so hungry we could've eaten the little wild Wallaby that we saw hopping around in front of our cabins, but there was nowhere else you could get any food!

There were no staff whatsoever on duty just a board in front of the Restaurant with a moble phone number on it (no answer,straight to voicemail)

Two of us took the car into Kuranda, 2 minutes away hoping to find a takeaway but the town is a very,very BIZZARE and different place by night - like a GHOST TOWN. Just a few odd (very odd) drunken locals arguing and kicking bottles in the streets.
All we found open was a garage and a bottle shop (off licence/liquor store) so we went hungry.
When we left around 10am the next day, all ready to say how disappointed we were - again there was nobody around at reception, just a key deposit box and a public telephone which was out of order.

Proprietors of this place - SHAME ON YOU!
With a little care and attention to your paying guests - you could make the experience of coming to your property a great one.
At the moment all you are offering is a fancy website, a lack of important information and a careless attitude.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dondenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jai875, Owner at Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

To the writer of this review here are a few points that need to be clarified.

The restaurant, which is situated within the park grounds, is not operated by the owners of the accommodation park. It is run by another business couple under another name and is open 7 nights a week in the height of the tourist season in Far North Queensland. It normally operates from 6pm. With regards to the night it was not open in April, the couple had unfortunately had a child that was very sick and had gone to the hospital in Cairns for emergency treatment. They had, as per hospital policy, turned off their mobile phone and were unable to be contacted.The restaurant remained closed for 3 days due to the gravity of their childs illness. Whilst the restaurant may have been closed, the owners of the accommodation park were still on-site, and could have been contacted through either a phone call or by ringing the office bell. They would have been able to give other suggestions on where to eat or perhaps help the guest out with some food that is sold within the office be it that the writer was considering eating the wallaby they saw..

The accommodation park is situated as the writer said, approximately 2 minutes away by car from the town of kuranda..
What might go on in the town at night has no bearing whatsoever on the peace and quiet that is found within the park.In fact, that is the beauty of where we are situated. The writer should have written a review of the town separately to the review of the park, or perhaps, let their feelings be known about the town to the tourist body as it does seem they were less than impressed.I'm sure every "tourist town" as some oddity to a visitor.. It might be wise to look up the town you are visiting to gather some information on it and not rely on "some fancy website" to tell you everything you think you need to know.

I am glad though that the writer found our cabins large, clean and basic, clean being the operative word.Not sure about the "slightly institutional feel" though. We offer good, clean accommodation for the family, couples or a single person.Also,the word sterile is a bit odd to be used for a rainforest setting.The writer stayed with us in April, and I can only think that this word has been used to refer to some parts of the park that may have been bare due to the effects of Cyclone Yasi that hit FNQ in February 2011..Rather strange use of words. However, moving on, it is now September 2011 and all "sterile' parts of the "site' are now flourishing!!

Upon check-out, the writer has referred that there was"still no one around". The office closes at 10.00am each morning, and re-opens again in the afternoon.The owners are still on-site and can be contacted either by phone, walkie-talkie that is located at the office door, or you can ring the office bell should you wish to talk to someone face to face.We are not a hotel and therefore our reception is not manned 24 hours, but we are still"around' if you need us. If the writer was so disappointed , I would have thought that they would have chosen one of these options to contact us.We do offer the key return box for guests that do leave early prior to the office opening and also for guests that don't feel that they have to say goodbye personally if they don't want to.As for the "out of order pay phone" , things do stop working sometimes when they are used alot.If you do know of a make and model that lasts a life time, I'll buy it!

"Dondenext" shame on you!.They are no careless attitudes here. If we didn't care, we wouldn't be writing this.If we didn't care, our cabins wouldn't be clean.If we didn't care, our accommodation park would be overgrown.If we didn't care, we wouldn't be here when you needed to check-in. We pay attention to our guests at all times, but we are certainly not "in their face" at all times.We do have guest that have a "great stay" here. If yours wasn't "that great" that is a shame.At least the wallaby is still alive!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I called to make a reservation with only 24 hours or so notice and the lady was very helpful. I was not offered a backpackers double room, so I'm not sure if there were none left or if they no longer offer them and I was in too much of a rush to ask about them so I agreed to the poolside unit they had available :)

The kitchen and bedroom area was nice and open and had everything you would need for a few days. Bed was very comfy and bathroom clean, functional and again, spacious. The balcony and view out to the pool was very nice but we were unlucky with weather and it was too cold to use it! The aircon unit did a good job of regulating the massively fluctuating outside temperatures for us, although it was a little noise even on quiet mode. The bed was so comfy though that it made no difference to the nights sleep!

Car parking is excellent, there is a restaurant on site and the set up looks pretty damn good for tents and camper vans too.

All in all we had a really nice stay here at the rainforest park and would have liked to stay longer. Kuranda is a lovely little town but beware, it does tend to close down rapidly after 3-4PM and there are very limited food or entertainment options after this time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I booked 2 nights in a single budget room in the lodge style accommodation. The person at reception was very friendly & helpful, and I felt very welcome. the single room was basic and needed a bit of airing, but for the price I wasn't worried. the facilities are very basic (especially the bathroom) but clean. there was no detergent in the kitchen or soap in the hand basin, so I guess you're meant to bring your own. Unfortunately there were some rather strange long term residents living in the lodge, who barely spoke a word to you or made you feel welcome. I took a walk around the grounds and it looks like it is very popular with caravans and campervans. I'd be happy to come back but would probably rather camp or stay in one of the cabins than in the backpacker lodge again.

Room Tip: good facilities for caravans & campers, but lodge is a bit run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuranda hotels
6.9 mi away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
0.6 mi away
Ronday-voo Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Speewah Country Tavern
Speewah Country Tavern
#4 of 5 in Kuranda
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Barron Lodge
Grand Barron Lodge
#3 of 5 in Kuranda
2 reviews
1 mi away
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kuranda
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park

Address: 88 Kuranda Heights Rd, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Kuranda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kuranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing