We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the feeling of rainforest from the room! and cassowaries”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cassowary House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuranda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cassowary House
Ranked #1 of 4 Kuranda B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved the feeling of rainforest from the room! and cassowaries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

It feels like a million miles away from everything in the middle of rainforest. We stayed in the room above the garage that had the toilet outside on the porch. There are two rooms above the garage the one we stayed in had a little kitchen area (fridge, microwave, sink) I don't think the other one did? Ours had a separate toilet on the porch area, shower in the room. The other room had all of those things in the room. I liked our room though because it was on the back of the garage with the porch looking into the rainforest, while the other one looks out on the driveway. Our friends stayed in that one. When we arrived we were in a hurry, I always plan too much in one day. We booked the night spot lighting tour and we had time for a shower (came straight from diving on the reef) but not to eat too, so she got us a menu for the pizza place and gave us her phone to make the call and said she would let the guide know we were going to be a little late so we could eat. Very nice of them both. We found a white lipped tree frog in the toilet area (I left the door open by mistake). Saw birds from the porch (king parrots). In the AM breakfast at 8 was great with fun fruit from the area, hard boiled eggs, lots of bread products and jams, honey, plus juice, tea, coffee and lots of birds. We saw rifle birds, catbird, butcher birds, brush turkeys, a tree rat kangaroo and 2 cassowaries about half way through breakfast. So we were very lucky they did not come later in the day, since we would have been gone. We only had one night to give for this place due to packed schedule. It is in a good location with food and places to shop in town of Kunranda about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: I liked the apartment above the garage with the outside bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Definitely hard to rate this place. We stayed in the Catbird Cottage - quaint but very rustic. Bed very uncomfortable & noisy to sleep as no insulation on roof so rain sounds like a freight train & wildlife dropping stuff on roof all night also. However, the lack of sleep was absolutely worthwhile as seeing the cassowary up close was an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilless42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a wonderful place for our family to stay - we spent 4 nights, and then one last one before leaving the area on a longer trip up to the rainforest, tablelands and GBR. We stayed in the cottage, which has the best bathroom and back porch view we've had - straight into a rainforest ravine. Morning calls by a wide diversity of species wake you - and the cassowaries that live nearby are frequently seen as well. The hosts are very knowledgeable and happy to help you plan your visit. They also have a great range of guidebooks and can help you sort out what you have been seeing. A great spot both in terms of access to a diversity of other sites, and also value for a family.

Other visitors have mentioned dogs - they currently have just one dog, who is very friendly and no bother in the least. You can sometimes hear dogs on another property, but only rarely their dog.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage - enjoying a chance to self-cater. There was plenty of room for our family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

It’s very difficult to rate this property. If you are a birder, you will probably love it. We saw the cassowary and numerous other forest birds and animals. On a night trip, arranged by the hosts, we saw sugar gliders, a variety of possums and tree kangaroos. My birder husband was very happy with the stay.
However, if anyone in your party is not as devout, there are several things to be aware of. We stayed in the forest shack and it is humble with a capital H. The furnishings are a mishmash of found items that really never had better days.
Wildlife outside is great but unfortunately the wildlife gets inside here. BIG BLACK SPIDERS the size of your hand suddenly appear on the walls. Not just one but many. During the night, all night long, the tree rats drop fruit on the tin roof of the shack, so don’t expect a good night’s sleep, unless you’re a birder of course.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Marluc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed two nights at the Cassowary House, which was a good decision as although we didn't see any Cassowary the first time, on the second we saw the female stroll calmly around the house. Amazing to see her up so close!

While we had breakfast, MacLear's Honeyeaters were constantly visiting the feeder and a catbird came too, and at one point I had to run out to the back where Victoria's Riflebird was displaying :)

Sue gave up some excellent tips to birding in the area, breakfast was lovely and the rooms were simple but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spent three days at Cassowary House, for birding. The cassowary is a prime draw here, and a bird visited each of the three days that I was there for spectacular views. There were also many other rain forest species present, which I was able to see on my first day. Excellent rainforest birding. In addition, Sue Gregory arranged for a birding guide on two of my days, to see adjacent areas. Murray Hunt was outstanding, including his boat tour on the Daintree River. He showed me all of the 12 local endemics that I had not seen at Cassowary House, was knowledgeable about the history and natural history of the area, and a pleasure to spend time with. Sue was an excellent host, telling me where to look for various bird species on the property, driving me into town for supplies when I showed up without a car and not knowing how far it was to walk to a restaurant (25 minutes), and making sure that I got a very early morning cab into Cairns for my flight out. The breakfast was outstanding. A steady stream of other birders with whom to share walks and reently sighted birds. All in all an outstanding stay "for the birds."

Room Tip: Catbird cottage is private, and has a balcony that opens into the rainforest at mid-level. Also goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gone2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I wrote polite comments in the Gregory's guest book, but here I have to be honest. As a birder and bird photographer, Cassowary House was the biggest disappointment in several decades of visiting birding lodges around the world.
The visitor should know that Cassowary House is a private residence first and a birding lodge second. It is nestled quite literally in dense rainforest - the vegetation extends right up to the walls of all buildings. This creates an "away from it all" feeling, but makes it well nigh impossible to actually see very many of the forest birds one hears calling around the lodge.
And then there are the dog(s). One can understand the desire to have a German Shepard or two for protection when living in a secluded spot like this. However, it does not make one feel welcome when, even after two days, the dog comes charging furiously at you from within the main house whenever you approach. Nor does it help that the dog starts barking at the slightest sound. Nor does it help when Sue puts cheese on the balcony tray for riflebirds & catbirds only to have it immediately eaten by the dog.
Cassowary House has its upside. The rooms are large, comfortable, and fairly priced. The breakfasts are sumptious. The Gregory's are also to be commended for their efforts in conservation, especially with regard to Southern Cassowary. As others have said, this is perhaps the only reliable place to go if you need that bird for your list.
Cassowary House is perhaps best enjoyed by those who can identify Queensland forest birds by their calls alone, and who love big rowdy dogs regardless of their behavior.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james3343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuranda
1.8 mi away
Paradise Palms
Paradise Palms
#2 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
0.0 mi away
Ronday-voo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Speewah Country Tavern
Speewah Country Tavern
#3 of 4 in Kuranda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kuranda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
21.3 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassowary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassowary House

Property: Cassowary House
Address: Black Mountain Road, Kuranda, Queensland 4872, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Kuranda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kuranda
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing