We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Rainforest View from Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainforest View from Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Rainforest View from Pool Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kuranda, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KDWatto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 9 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

If you are looking for that special place to rest and recharge, this is the place for you. From the moment you walk in your breath will be taken away by the surrounding scenic rainforest views which immediately soothe the soul. However many nights you are planning to stay, add on another one - you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidb18
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Exceeds all expectations (and then some)”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We went to here for our third anniversary. This place is by far very very place I have ever stayed at. Privacy is paramount. The outside plunge pool was so very relaxing, the Jacuzzi large, the bed very comfortable and the amenities outstanding.

The Good. Everything you could want was provided, there was loads of butter in the fridge, along with Vegemite and jam. Freshly baked bread. Aoili, BBQ sauce, Tomato sauce, balsamic, salad oil, cooking oil, ice machine, 2 x reverse cycle air conditioners, binoculars, beach towel, bubble bath. bath towels, extra towels.. there are truly so many things - even massage oil. It would truly take too long to list things..

The Bad. I love getting to a place and thinking of "what would I change".. after 48hrs I still have nothing. The only bad experience was leaving.

The Ugly. Being in the rain forest you can get creepy crawlies, but you are provided with insecticides, sprays, citronella candles, there are fly screens on the windows.. so as long as you don't leave the door open there is nothing to worry about.

The verdict of would I stay again - I would be disappointed if I never went back.
This is the place you would LOVE to own as your own. Its truly an incredible place

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnD9945
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, luxurious and secluded.”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

From the moment you walk through the door you're in your own private piece of paradise.

The scenery is stunning. There are photos here but they don't do it justice. The rainforest is magnificent. To sit in the spa looking over this amazing landscape is extraordinary.

You will feel a million miles from anywhere with absolute privacy assured. Having said that you're only 8 minutes from town and just under 30 mins to Cairns.

The challet is fully self contained, with everything you could imagine you might need. From kettle, microwave and oven, to ice maker, double shower and foxtel, it's all here.

This place is amazing and nothing disappoints. There are extra little surprises which I won't spoil for you - go check them out for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth..”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

For those looking for a secluded, relaxing, peaceful getaway for 2, this is it! Look no further, this is PERFECTION!! We spent 5 nights here and loved every minute of our stay. Thanks to our hostess, Gemma, who made sure there was everything we needed and more, in this delightful little house on the hill. Can you believe, when we arrived there was gentle music playing in the lounge room, the tropical fans on low, and a fresh loaf of home baked bread on the kitchen counter top. That beats anything else we have ever experienced in a 5 star establishment.. Everything you need for any length of stay is already here in the cupboards, coffee machine, ice machine, every condiment and sauce for cooking, she has thought of everything. The facilities are amazing, from the spa bath on the verandah to the plunge pool in the garden, even the jungle fowl (scrub hens to some) who often parade on the lawn, we enjoyed enormously. The views are to die for. You are completely surrounded by tropical rainforest, complete with bird calls, as only the gorgeous tableland jungle can supply. No neighbours can be seen or heard, you are completely private. You must come, stay, and take it all in. Highly recommended. Thank Gemma, you are well named as you are a rare Gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of everything
Liked least: Our stay was not long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
878luke
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Stunning rainforest accommodation”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My partner and I greatly enjoyed our stay at this idellyic location. Only 20mins from the bottom of the mountain (we timed it, and didn't drive aggressively down the curvy mountain pass) Platypus Springs is 5mins drive from Kuranda Village. Full kitchen facilities, stunning rainforest views (and nothing else!!!) and hardly a non-natural sound to be heard.

A fun new treats in store for you thanks to the lovely host (I'll leave them as a surprise, though some treats may only be there if you stay longer - we were there for 1.5 weeks). The spa is a winner, as is the pool. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and was a great launching point from which to explore Port Douglas, Mossman, the Tablelands and even a big trip up to the Daintree for a day. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: Frying pan - things stuck to it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelene H
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect escape for two.”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We found Paradise. Gemma is the perfect host - Platypus Springs the perfect escape. The residence & facilities are terrific, the rainforest is beautiful, the privacy is excellent and the quality of all components in the house and surrounds are beyond reproach.

Our stay was better than expected and we have no hesitation in strongly recommending Platypus Springs for a private holiday for two.

Everything is brilliantly outstanding if you want absolute privacy and quality.

Would give it 6 stars if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic but the seclusion and privacy earned a massive tick.
Liked least: The rain but that's beyond anyone's control especially in Kuranda.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry B
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb ”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were instantly taken with Platypus Springs as soon as we opened the door.
The comfort and attention to detail is more that we have seen anywhere else.
We have been to FNQ many times. Port Douglas is a shadow of its former self and Platypus Springs is the only thing that would bring us back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing