We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great railroad trip”

Kuranda Scenic Railway
Ranked #5 of 21 things to do in Kuranda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The original Kuranda Scenic Railway is a spectacular journey comprising unsurpassed views of World Heritage Listed rainforest, steep ravines and picuresque waterfalls within the Barron Gorge National Park. This famous railway winds its way from Cairns to Kuranda, the village in the rainforest. Constructed between 1882 and 1891 it is considered an engineering feat of tremendous magnitude. Hundreds of men were employed to build the 15 hand-made tunnels and 37 bridges that stand as a monument to the pioneers of tropical North Queensland
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

If you are in Cairns, this is a must do excursion. An old fashioned train the goes up a mountain and you learn of history of the building of the train. It’s slow moving so you can relax and enjoy the scenery. The train stops at the river, which was low when I was there.

1  Thank MsLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

We hope to see you onboard again sometime! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"freshwater station"
in 96 reviews
"scenic railway"
in 142 reviews
"sky rail"
in 167 reviews
"train trip"
in 80 reviews
"window seat"
in 54 reviews
"barron falls"
in 155 reviews
"cable car"
in 90 reviews
"great train ride"
in 20 reviews
"gold class carriage"
in 16 reviews
"cairns station"
in 16 reviews
"return trip"
in 42 reviews
"comfortable seats"
in 16 reviews
"great scenery"
in 33 reviews
"great trip"
in 45 reviews
"day trip"
in 59 reviews
"take photos"
in 55 reviews
"taking the train"
in 19 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

This train and the history of the bygone era have been well represented by the trip we took back to Cairns from Kuranda. The beautiful sights are even more mesmerising from the train as it snakes it's way down to the plains.

Thank Vinod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your trip with us on Kuranda Scenic Railway. It really is an impressive reminder of days gone by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We opted for Gold Class which meant we had individual seating, all you can drink (tea, coffee, soft drink) and morning tea (muffin, biscuit etc) along with a souvenir (pen, postcard, pin).

It was a lovely ride up the ranges to Kuranda and the seats in gold class were comfy however whether the upgrade was worth the extra money I am not sure about that.

Thank t_g_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the journey, and were able to enjoy it from the luxury of Gold Class.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

A great way to immerse in the area, the railway has quite a few scenic spots to take pictures and the story is very interesting. Book a window seat if you can as it's a lot better experience.. We went up on the sky rail and back on the train, the bus transfer was no trouble to our car.

Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed our vintage-refurbished train and the relaxing meander up the mountain :) We hope you took plenty of photos as a reminder of your Kuranda experience and, we wish you safe onward travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

So much beauty to behold and fascinating history - a must do if you are afraid of heights, a great alternative to the sky rail.

Thank FibiC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

It is a beautiful part of the world isn't it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuranda Scenic Railway also viewed

 
Kuranda, Queensland
 

Been to Kuranda Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing