We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South East
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Jon & Peta deserve all the credit they are getting for reclaiming this piece of for rain forest and building spectacular tree houses for visitors to share. We were also pleasantly surprised to have a complimentary breakfast hamper with eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt, milk etc which lasted us two days. Also the free wifi at reception was an unexpected bonus, available 24 hours. And again, the washing machine and tumble drier were an unexpected bonus though we didn't need to use it. In all, the tree houses are rather grand and not at all basic. But they do immerse you in all the sights and sounds of the rain forest. Do download their map as Google Maps doesn't take you down the right road. There are three lovely walks in their taking you through thick forest down to the creek where some see platypus. We didn't but we did see tooth billed bower bird taking a new leaf into his bower and the listened to him singing away hopefully! Lastly, we had three delightful evening meals in the restaurant cooked and served by Bradley an award winning chef who also makes you fully welcome. Many thanks Jon and Peta for allowing us to share this experience and being so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOPO41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    34
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We came here after a noisy night in Cairns. What a difference. All alone in the rain forest. The tree houses are superb - you miss no comfort, even the kitchen is extremely well equipped though we only used it for breakfast. The restaurant is outstanding. Where else do you have a chef that cooks for a hand full of guests. Everything was just made to order and thus extremely fresh and tasty.

Peta the owner was extremely helpful in explaining to us where we could see wildlife such as platypus and kangaroos.

The walking trails on the property are well worth an exploration, you get to walk in a wild forest and see all sorts of birds and other small animals.

We'll try to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I booked this as a "stopover" from Palm Beach to Mission Beach as something a little different - well this is A LOT different!!!! So glad we booked this my wife loved it!! Perfect seclusion in a noisy rainforest - with every amenity and as much nature as you can take. Add to that a fantastic restaurant what more do you need??? Bradley will keep you entertained with food and anecdotes throughout the evening - a one man band - cooking - washing up - serving and best of all chewing the fat (no other heavy mastication required!!!!)
We also loved the feeding of the birds at 8.00am (just go to reception) wonderful experience!!!
Also played caveman and lit a wonderful wood fire in out treehouse looking out over the rain forest with its plethora of fauna and flora and most fantastic changes in light - thanks Rose Gums - wished we had stayed longer!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rich606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Recently spent seven nights at Rose Gums Retreat.Could not fault this special piece of Paradise.A quiet peaceful location ideal for resting and recharging your batteries.Very private with ample space between units, you can not see or hear your neighbours. Beautiful walks to the creek and waterholes. Great to sit on the balcony listening to the birdlife. Restuarant setting Excellent with great food .We highly recommend Rose Gums, and we will return!!!

Room Tip: Unit 1 close to reception and restaurant. Had great view across the valley (see photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This peaceful retreat soothes the senses. The tree houses are private, well appointed and have many thoughtful inclusions. What is not supplied can be, nothing is too much trouble. You do not need to go anywhere! The outlook, sunsets, wildlife and all the information available in your room about this low impact, environmentally friendly retreat is perfect. There are great walks to the creek and waterfall with platypus sightings fairly common. It is a bird watchers dream. Relaxing on the deck or catching a dvd from the free library are options as are an open fire and private spa. Even candles are supplied. Thank you so much for a tranquil two nights away.

Room Tip: Tree house 8 and others on the side road have short driveways that enable you to walk out the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alp390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

a lovely and relaxing spot set amongst beautiful forest. very friendly and informative with plenty of eco-based activities onsite. recommended for nature lovers and those wanting peace and quiet. recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Excellent!! Location, atmosphere, the people, all excellent!
I was there with my son, but the lodges is great for a couple (with a great jacuzzi! and it so romantic) or a family. We also had dinner there that was a bit pricy but the food was excellent. Its also a great location to explore the Atherton Tablelands

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinchasys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
7.8 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#1 of 7 in Yungaburra
234 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
4.6 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
142 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
137 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#6 of 7 in Yungaburra
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat

Property: Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Address: 324 Land Road, via Lake Eacham | P.O. Box 776, Malanda, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Malanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a secluded rainforest retreat in the cool highlands above Cairns, all our treehouses are self-contained featuring spa baths, fireplaces and magnificent views. The 93 HA property has 9 kilometres of walking tracks and over 160 species of birds and other wildlife, including Platypus that inhabit our pristine rainforest creeks. Delight in our own in-house restaurant, LEAF, a private dining experience in the tree-tops. Your hosts Peta & Jon are very friendly and helpful and are looking forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat Malanda, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing