We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malanda Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nightmare”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is the worst accommodation I have had in years. Dirty,dark,and in need of a make over. The bed and pillow were terrible - unable to sleep. The bathroom was dirty as was the crusty spoon I stirred my coffee with. Too dark to see until too late. The TV remote worked only at random. I cannot believe anyone would think this was good. I do like to support independents but I should have realised this was not going to be good by the flowers in stale water on the reception desk and the dirty ,untidy private kitchen through the dooway.
Also there always seems to be only one room left. Not true. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Beware of advertising that features too much on one aspect of the establishment . IT is usually mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zerofunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
12
17
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just had the best motel experience. We were treated to the best meal ever. The chicken supreme was incredible, as was my char grilled steak. The fire place created a lovely atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had a lovely view of the gardens. We woke to the morning calls of the kookaburra. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53yr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a terrible experience with this motel. Quite sad as we are locals who have stayed a number of times. Different people taken over perhaps? We booked in at reception to our prebooked motel rooms. To be told she had to shuffle rooms around to fit us (how when we were prebooked days in advance I don't know) than we made a reservation for the restaurant. Arrived at restaurant to be told the family had to have separate tables and couldn't be seated together. They seemed busy, took a while to take our order. Lady gave the kids a stuffed animal to play with which was nice, Kids meals came out fairly quick, 20 minutes later after kids finished (1 and 3 year olds) we received one main meal, which was unsatisfactory as steak didn't taste right, we decided to leave as kids were over it and they didn't offer to replace the meal, just didn't charge us for it. Tried to charge us for the other meal we didn't receive and also didn't get drinks we paid for with kids meals. So we left hungry and very disappointed. Sad to see such a good motel go down hill so quickly. Locals who definitely won't be back and hope others don't receive such dodgy service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblea87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were heading back from Karumba on a Monday afternoon, it was getting late so we rang to ask if they were open for dinner. Yes! And they took a late booking for 7.45pm. Not many restaurants open on a Monday and our booking meant they had to keep the restaurant open in a quiet country town just for 2 people. That's good service. The owners are new and enthusiastic. They suggested a wine by the glass that the menu said was bottle only - no problem - they wanted us to have the right wine with our food choice. The owners made recommendations and their service ensured we ordered dessert - home made apple strudel - yum! The steaks were well cooked and a good size. Very impressed with their helpfulness and would choose this motel for a weekend of exploring on the Tablelands on the strength of our dining experience - if the motel is as good as the food, we will have found a good base camp :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

On my recent stay here, I found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly. Although it's located close to a major road with frequent heavy trucks, I never noticed any traffic noise at all. Overall, the value is good, surrounding gardens nice and the nearby natural attractions spectacular. I'd certainly stay here again.
Oh yes, the restaurant was slightly pricey, but the meals were good with generous serving size.
Overall value for money was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MasonPlanft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you want Five Star 'Luxury', go elsewhere. But, if you want Luxurious, pleasant surrounds, rural sounds & clean & comfortable, you've come to the right place. This place doesn't boast Five Star, because it isn't, it's better! Yes, the Lodge has been here for some time & yes, maybe the Interior 'Design' isn't as modern as Five Star. But, it's clean & very comfortable & listening to the birds, horses [from the next door property] whilst enjoying Breakfast on the Patio sit-out, is very relaxing & wonderful. Also, to enjoy an afternoon beverage in the afternoon sun, is very delightful. A gorgeous, relaxing, peaceful environment.
We did dine in the Restaurant...a really lovely ambience...and the food was lovely. They don't 'hover' over you, like in some places. The weather was slightly fresh, when we attended, so no need for the log fire, but could imagine the area to be 'cosy'. We had the Fish & it was melt in the mouth!
There is a Jug [that you CAN fill from the Bathroom sink] & a Toaster in the room, so if you like your toast 'hot'...you can! Also fresh Milk in the fridge, instead of long-life sachets. [It IS Dairy country, after all!]
We stayed a few nights & used this as our 'base' whilst re-discovering the southern side of the Atherton Tablelands. We found this property very delightful. Lovely surrounds, good on the purse & lovely Hosts, along with their friendly dog!
Whether your stay is one night or a few, well worth a visit!

Room Tip: No such thing as a 'bad room'...all the rooms face the Garden/Green space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyNorthernGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This small motel with no pretension offers a quiet and relaxing stopover if you're visiting the Tablelands region.
The rooms are a bit old, but we cant expect a brand new room in every place. They all look over a nice green park.
The restaurant looked nice but it was closed when we stayed, it was boxing day.
The swimming pool is lovely and the surrounding very nice with all the trees and flowers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
6.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
147 reviews
6.4 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
255 reviews
3.0 mi away
Foxwell Park Lodge
Foxwell Park Lodge
#2 of 5 in Malanda
19 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malanda Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malanda Lodge Motel

Property: Malanda Lodge Motel
Address: Cnr Merragallan & Millaa Millaa Roads, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malanda Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are well-appointed 3 1/2 Star quality with country style décor and quality amenities. The rooms sleep up to four. Malanda Lodge Motel also has some inter-connecting rooms o cater for families and larger groups. Our 17 rooms overlook the lush tropical gardens and rolling green lawns. Relax on the patio and breath in the cool, fresh, clean country air.Our fully licensed restaurant seats 80 people in comfort and contains a giant rustic fireplace for those cool country evenings.Facilities and Services - Fully licensed Restaurant; Swimming pool with waterfall; reek with Platypus viewing; Conference facilities; Night bell and late check-ins; Guest Laundry; WiFi Internet Hotspot; We cater for Weddings, Birthdays, Special Occasions.Under new management and currently updating our décor and refurbishing our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malanda Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malanda Lodge Motel Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing