We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, good steak.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malanda Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I’ve stayed here on a number of occasions now and have always enjoyed my it. The rooms are nice a quiet, clean and comfortable. Restaurant and the service are great and I enjoy going to dinner when I’m here. I would recommend this place to anyone that wanted a nice place to sleep and a good meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeRW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

There is a lot to be said about customer service and the impact it can have on a business ???
My husband and I recently stayed at Malanda Lodge with friends on 20/5/14 at first I thought this is a nice place, 'Wrong', checked in by a very rude and arrogant man who made us feel like we were a inconvenience. After settling into our room went back to the office to get some local information on the location of a chemist only to be belittled by the man at the desk and laughed and snickered at by two other men in the office I assume employees of the Lodge. If we hadn't been travelling with friends who had booked Lodge we would have left and found a alternative accommodation. Rooms were presentable and clean but not a great start to our Qld holiday.
.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank whataretheodds2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Malanda Lodge Motel, and although I was reluctant to stay we chose the Lodge as it was the closest accommodation to the venue our seminar was to be held and it was reasonably priced. I had stayed there once before in 2007 and at the time the decor appeared to be tired and very much dated. I assumed in 7 years there may have been some effort to update and freshen up the Lodge. This was not to be... Our room was musty with stained carpet, 2x faulty lights and a leaking toilet. The pictures decorating the wall looked like the same ones in my room 7 years prior. Our room was also without cakes of soap, and the shower gel dispenser in the bathroom was empty. The bathroom sink was not wiped out, as there were strands of hair in there and build up around the taps.

Now I was not expecting much, I feel the above mentioned were only minor details which could have altered my experience to be a more positive one. I'm not one to comment or complain either, but I believe the Malanda Lodge Motel has so much potential in what it could offer accommodation wise and the role it could play in creating a more pleasant experience for visitors to the area. I feel constructive feedback is what the place needs to initiate some sort of much needed revamping, and turn the Lodge into an experience which reflects the attitude of the locals - warm, welcoming, and a country-style home away from home.

Room Tip: BYO Soap and/or Bodywash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee7871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter and Robyn J, Front Office Manager at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I'm a little surprised at the comments you have made about our motel. If everything you have mentioned was important enough for you to put on TripAdvisor, why didn't you mention it to management when you first arrived, so that we could actually see the "poor state" you claim our units are in?
As we have only recently taken over the motel, I believe we have made many improvements - new beds and bedding, new artwork, new seating and dining areas. All our rooms have had their carpets inspected for wear and tear, and professionally cleaned (can't see any stains). Shower dispensers are checked once our guests leave. All walls and tiles have been washed/scrubbed clean.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was a stop for just one night on our North Queensland trip, so I was just expecting a motel experience. We were pleasantly surprised: an edge of town location with lovely gardens and rural outlook, a comfortable, quiet room with good facilities and very friendly hosts. We walked into town and found it a bit quiet so we decided to eat back at the motel: the food was excellent, the wine was well matched and the small number of other diners meant that we all had a chance for a chat with the chef! Next time we come to the Atherton Tablelands we will stay here a few days and use it as a base to enjoy the region.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter and Robyn J, Manager at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We enjoyed having you stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Cheers
Peter and Robyn :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay. Facilities e .g. Spa looked good but we didn't use them. Owner very welcoming. 1.5k walk to town was a nice stroll. Would go again.
Plenty of stuff provided in bathroom and clean towels.

If you want to feel welcome give it a go.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Idledispenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

First time I have stayed here and I was pleasantly supprised.
Robyn And Peter do a fantastic job. (Food was sensational)
Pete is great in and out of the Kitchen.
I really enjoyed my stay and its a great place to entertain customers,
In which they said they would come back more often as well.
I look forward to my next visit, I will even make enough time to view the platypus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter and Robyn J, Manager at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Zane, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and we'll attempt to make sure you get to see those platypus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I continue to be amazed by people who complain about this motel. My wife & I have been regular patrons of this premise for several years with both past owners and the present owners. if great food & accommodation are what you are looking for with happy, smiling and very friendly customers service make a booking with these lovely people.
If you want to complain and leave your rooms in a trashed state, then you might want to think about going to the tip for your stay.
The meals are amazing and so filling. Even when the restaurant is closed on Sunday nights Peter and Robin offer room service, We can't wait to come "home" again for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Any room in the motel has its own comfort &view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
6.5 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
158 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
153 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
6.4 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
68 reviews
6.0 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malanda Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malanda Lodge Motel

Address: Cnr Merragallan & Millaa Millaa Roads, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Price Range: £72 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malanda Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are well-appointed 3 1/2 Star quality with country style décor and quality amenities. The rooms sleep up to four. Malanda Lodge Motel also has some inter-connecting rooms o cater for families and larger groups. Our 17 rooms overlook the lush tropical gardens and rolling green lawns. Relax on the patio and breath in the cool, fresh, clean country air.Our fully licensed restaurant seats 80 people in comfort and contains a giant rustic fireplace for those cool country evenings.Facilities and Services - Fully licensed Restaurant; Swimming pool with waterfall; reek with Platypus viewing; Conference facilities; Night bell and late check-ins; Guest Laundry; WiFi Internet Hotspot; We cater for Weddings, Birthdays, Special Occasions.Under new management and currently updating our décor and refurbishing our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malanda Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malanda Lodge Motel Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing