We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and unwind”
Review of Sharlynn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharlynn B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Malanda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here a few days after Easter in late April and loved it. Yes, it rained a lot while here, which we knew was a risk travelling at the end of wet season. But, our self-contained cottage was the perfect place to unwind. Well equipped for those who want to cook their own meals, and close enough go to malanda or yungabarra for a meal if needed. We did all our own cooking, so did not sample the breakfast provided. Eddy and Sharon were fantastic hosts and have done a wonderful job with the decor and set up of the cottage. Music, DVDs, and even a guitar to play! Not that I am musically talented, but it all added to the atmosphere. Combined with fantastic views and the quietness (when it wasn't raining) made this stay a treat. We had the opportunity to enjoy the fireplace and the spa, so the wet weather certainly didn't stop us from relaxing. Definitely worth the visit and we would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt_Tibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Matt, many thanks for your great review. Sounds so good we may have to book ourselves in Ed and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Sharlynn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

As you arrive you receive the warmest of welcomes from Eddy and Sharon. As you walk inside your self contained wooden finish cabin you feel instantly at home. The spa bath has amazing rainforest views with the sound of birds and the running river. As the cooler weather sets in and the sun goes down crank up the fireplace and snuggle on the couch with the soft blankets provided. This cabin has everything, even a guitar for those lucky enough to be with someone who can play. This place is amazing! we will definitely be coming back again and recommending it all our family and friends! Thankyou for your hospitality and sharing your little slice of heaven x

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brooke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi Brooke, it was a pleasure having you and your partner. Hopefully we will have that pleasure again sometime. Many thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Spent a week up there working in Malanda and this B&B was wonderful escape each night to the beautiful place there looking out into the rainforest and hearing the creek below. Was the perfect place to unwind and de-stress after a long day. Sharon and Ed were also wonderful hosts - going that little extra step too making you feel welcome. Breakfast foods that were there for you to cook were delicious as well as the afternoon teas and fresh fruit. The place itself was idyllic - it was the little touches in the place that made it feel some welcoming. Little things like a guitar in the room, books to read, even sunscreen, mozzie repellent and hats to borrow and use made it all that little bit more special. Oh and the bath spa - heavenly! I've been on the road travelling for a good 8 months now and have to say that this place would have to rank as my favourite. I'm looking forward to returning in the future at some stage for a holiday instead of a work stay. (only complaint - I couldn't stay for longer and I never got to see a tree kangaroo except for the one on the bed- just means I have to return I guess )

Room Tip: stay for at least a couple of nights and explore the surrounding area or just chill out at the B&...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi Jayne, thankyou for your terrific review it was a pleasure having you. Hopefully we can share a red wine on the verandah again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A little piece of heaven a short trip from Cairns. We stay here regularly and love it every time; Sharon & Eddie are great hosts - thoughtful in the extreme and make their guests feel wonderfully at home and relaxed with many extra touches added to each stay.

Room Tip: This is a B&B with a self contained cabin.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kylie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Kylie, many thanks for your great review. Hopefully we will see you again sometime. cheers Ed and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights on arrival we were greeted by Sharron and Eddy who were the most wonderful hosts:) we had home made cookies that Sharron baked for us waiting in the cabin(they were delicious)
the cabin was fully equipped with everything you need, I could wipe the smile from my face whilst staying there!
very peaceful B&B you can hear the river streaming past you whilst you lay in the hemic....

we even indulged in the fire place and marshmallows!!

we will be back! ohhh a dog friendly 10plus points !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberJade111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi Amber, many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime. Eddy and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My parter and I stayed a weekend in October, the accomodation is extremely well thought out and very comfortable and private . Hosts were very friendly and the rainforest setting and walk to the rivers edge was made to order. Will stay again and have recommended to others .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi Steve many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime. Eddy and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 relaxing nights at Sharlynn and would continue the high recommendation of this B&B. Sharon & Eddy are indeed extremely welcoming and generous hosts, they provide you with privacy as well as a sumptuous breakfast hamper, and are more than willing to help with localised tips for guests unfamiliar with the region. Location is just a 5 minute drive to Malanda and only 10-15 minutes to Yungaburra and the property is well signposted from the main road. The main deck extends right along the front of the building and beyond into the rain forest, and provides the illusion of being suspended within the surrounding bush. This B&B is well appointed and provides a real "home away from home" atmosphere.

Room Tip: This B&B is open plan so is ideally designed for couples
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Desthetravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime. Eddy and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
5.8 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
154 reviews
3.1 mi away
Foxwell Park Lodge
Foxwell Park Lodge
#2 of 5 in Malanda
20 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Malanda Lodge Motel
Malanda Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Malanda
51 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharlynn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharlynn B&B

Address: 11 Kidd CL, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malanda
Price Range: £128 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharlynn is a stylish and private self-contained cottage, which hugs the edge of the rainforest. The river will serenade you as you dine on your very own verandah deck. We are pet friendly but dogs MUST be kept outside for health reasons and the comfort of other guests. Due to abundant wildlife cats are not permitted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sharlynn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharlynn B&B Malanda, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing