We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All you could ask for”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2.5 acres of garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
2.5 acres of garden
Pool & Bali Hut
Our Garden
Tree Kangaroo in our Backyard
Holiday Unit with Deck
Main Bedroom
Living room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Balcony
North Johnstone River
North Johnstone River
Lake Eacham
Atherton Tablelands-views to Mt. Bartle Frere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malanda, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
HelenHolm...
Alligator Creek, near Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All you could ask for”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A great place to stay. A lovely, quiet location but only a short drive from Malanda and Yungaburra. Well-equipped kitchen, plenty of space, good facilities and a lovely garden. We also rented the second bedroom. Above all, REALLY good value for a couple or small family. Thanks Martina and Peter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewL58...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for exploring the Tablelands.”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Whether you are travellers - looking to explore the Tablelands, or locals - looking to escape the city, the Johnstone River Retreat will serve you well. Peter and Martina are wonderful hosts. The Retreat is well equipped, well located, and very well priced.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peternz20...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay, and a great base from which to explore the Tablelands. Peter and Martina are really nice people, and great hosts.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Sue, Peter & Daniel. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, anytime and we are so glad that you spotted a Platypus .
Peter & Martina Leyk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I meant to write a review on this accomodation a couple of weeks ago, but since coming back to Sydney work took over, I cannot however let go of the opportunity of recommending this place to anyone that travels to Malanda.

The place is kept very clean and the gardens are beautifully maintained, the main bedroom has a little deck that is perfect to sit out for breakfast or a little chat after dinner.

The owners Peter and Martina are very welcoming and work tirelessly to ensure that you have a very pleasant stay.

I will definitely return to this property and highly recommend it to anyone, the property is very conveniently located within a short distance to Elias Schindelar so if you are in Malanda for a visit to Elias you should consider this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome of the owners
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Maria & family. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to see you again.
Peter & Martina Leyk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladys888...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, we had an excellent experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we we made to feel expected and we were welcomed wth a smile. They made sure that our stay from beginning to end is comfortable.

The area just switched to NBN and when we asked about the Internet (kids were missing it), the owner made it a priority to provide us access immediately,

The owners even set up the bbq for us, extra table and chairs, and whatever we need. The kids had the experience to feed their chickens, and Harry, the dog is so friendly and gentle.

The accommodation and garden are so neat.

We will definitely book with them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interaction with the owners. They are so helpful and friendly.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you Gladys & family.It was a pleasure having you as our guests and looking forward seeing you again.
Peter & Martina Leyk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneKarn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to base yourself for the Atherton Tablelands”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent self-contained appartment on the side of the owners house, set in lovely large, well maintained garden. Apartment was spacious, and well kitted out, with everything we needed.
We only had a short stay but wish we had booked for much longer as there is so much to do it the area and this is an ideal place to stay for a few nights. Peter and Martina a delightful hosts, so welcoming and helpful. I would certainly recommend this holiday rental to friends. - Thanks

Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thank you Anne , it was a pleasure having you here.
Maybe we can welcome you again for a longer stay.
Peter & Martina L.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brijo2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious and beautifully furnished apartment set in lush gardens- a real find!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a brief but great stay here. The apartment was better than home and our hosts were very helpful and flexible. There is quite a bit to do in the area so could have stayed longer.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you so much..it was a pleasure having you as our guests. All the best and a safe trip home.
Peter & Martina Leyk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing