We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We loved our 4 night stay in the Sallywattle cottage. The cottage was comfortable and well laid out, with great views down a little valley to a dam and surrounded by trees. We could have been miles from anywhere it was so quiet and peaceful. Saw a male Satin Bowerbird just outside the bedroom window, which was a treat, and had a few visits from a handsome Butcherbird. Loved having the fire at night and on chilly mornings. This is a great place to use as a base to explore Maleny and the Blackall Range area. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBDDDDJA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My family and I stayed here just recently, along with two other families. We stayed in the Farm House (which can cater for 10 people).

The farm house is quite nice with all the modern cons (dishwasher, coffee machine, tv/dvd player, 2 stereos, full laundry etc).

The pro's
This place was that it had everything we needed - plus a yard for the kids to run around in - it was lovely.

The deck was also lovely to sit out on to enjoy a drink and the view.

Only suggestion I would make would be to add a fireplace in the loungeroom for ambience and coseniess (as it stands it is in the dining room - it heats the whole of the house if all doors/windows kept closed).

The con's
There weren't really many apart from dated crockery (not a problem) and door knobs falling off in one of the rooms - again, no problem.

I would most definitely recommend this place to families!

Room Tip: Great for families! 4 bedrooms (one with king size bed, two with queen size bed and one with 2 sets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bris_girl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Rosegum cottage was the ideal place to remember just who we are without the jobs, the mortgage, the kids. The fire was ready to light when we arrived, the cottage was spotless and charming and the only sounds were those nature intended. Our intention was to spoil ourselves with dining out throughout the stay but Whispering Valley changed our thinking. On our first night we almost regretted booking to eat and listen to jazz at the Upfront Club and having to leave our cosy fireside. Fortunately Maleny is a great place to find delicious fare to match a very nice red from the hotel bottle shop so we stayed in and had to restock the firewood from the ample supply beside our pathway. Thoroughly recommend this place for a cosy winter getaway!

Room Tip: We loved Rosegum for the space and having the spa in the bathroom - just our preference. All rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed in the farm house for the 2 nights leading up to my Wedding along with all my bridesmaids. The farmhouse was huge and fit the 10 of us comfortably. Amazing deck area with great views. Very relaxing and love the donkeys and lama.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKH123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here in Silky Oak Cottage over the New Year weekend and had a fabulous relaxing stay. I was a bit apprehensive about no airconditioner and only a ceiling fan in the living section, since Brisbane was experiencing 30 degree heat. Amazingly we didn't even turn the fan on once as Maleny is generally cooler than Brisbane and the cottage is designed facing the right way to catch the breezes. Even when there were no breezes that came through the louvered windows, the cottage remained cool being shaded by the trees. I want to go back when it's cooler to use the fire though.

Silky Oak had an amazing view down to the dam (see pic). You can swim in the dam and while we were there one couple enjoyed it. We didn't really see anyone or hear anyone except for the dam swim (which was unobtrusive) and another couple when out walking. Everyone is there for the same reason to relax so it was generally quiet. One couple had an argument in the driveway loud enough for the whole of Maleny to hear, but once they got that off their chest life was quiet again.

The bathroom was adequate (not outstanding) with soft white towels and clean. Be prepared for a brown water spa though as it comes from the tank. At first a little disconcerting, but it was clean tank water and still relaxing.

Kitchen was well appointed with no oven and the outside weber BBQ took awhile to get really hot. Fortunately we used the BBQ New Years Eve so we were in no hurry to eat.

There were only minor issues during our stay - blue seed pods would drop onto the roof all the time including the middle of the night which could be quite loud; there was a dead cockroach on the floor with 2 live grasshoppers we could never catch in the bathroom; they didn't have any gladwrap in the cottage (but we didn't ask for any either). These are my only gripes which are so minor, so really it was a wonderful 4 nights and would definitely return here and stay in Silky Oak - I think it's the best cottage looking at the location on the mud map of the other ones.

Room Tip: Silky Oak has a gorgeous view of the dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intulife, Owner at Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we welcome. We have taken your advice and added the glad wrap, cut back the trees where we think the berries are falling but not enough to take away the ambience. We have also checked the barbeque and found a blockage which we have now fixed so hopefully it wont take as long next time. The water was stained as a result of the tannin from the trees which can happen during the summer months. We try very hard to find a balance between the environment and your comfort and can assure you that the water is clean and directly from mother nature. On our bushland visitors they are seasonal and at times can be difficult to keep totally out. We try very hard to keep our visitors out with screens , we have bugspray and personal insect repellent available and you are welcome to call us anytime and we will come and extract them. Thank you again we hope next time you visit you will go away with a five star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at Whispering Valley in Sallywattle cottage, what a lovely place, in the middle of the bush. No sounds other than the wildlife and the crackle of the fire. Approx 10 mins out of town past witta. Make sure you get the breakfast basket, which includes bacon, eggs, sourdough bread, butter, tomatoes, jam, marmelaide, juice, milk, tea, sugar, coffee,and cereal. All the food is delicious. We also got the weekend special which included lindt chocolates and gourmet icecream in your choice of flavour....just delightful in front of the fire! Robes are provided, as well as all the fire wood you can use, and a hammock for those sunny afternoons.
Can't wait to come back

Room Tip: All rooms are secluded and you can only just see the lights of the other cabins at night through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane2012Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in Rosegum cottage. Ann thoughtfully lit the fire for us pre-arrival as we had a late check-in; it made for a very welcoming arrival on an otherwise cold winters night. We never lost sight of the fact that we were in a forest because every window is a portrait of the lush green foliage which hugs the cottage. We found the accommodation to be very comfortable and spacious; we wanted for nothing. There are also some easy trails located conveniently close to the property. This is a great place if you are looking for a very quiet and relaxing getaway, if you want to get in touch with nature, but retain a good level of comfort at the same time. A very calm retreat.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
174 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
397 reviews
5.5 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
2.0 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 15 in Maleny
325 reviews
10.6 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat

Property: Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat
Address: Rose Gum Lane | P O Box 426, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Maleny's original cottage retreats, Whispering Valley is also one of the most secluded. Our classic sunshine coast bungalows are set on 50 scenic acres - Each carefully positioned to catch breezes and views as they blend seamlessly into the environment. That's why we like to keep things simple.... Unique cottages (1 & 2 bedroom) reflect a comfortable simplicity that puts you close to nature in total privacy. Guests appreciate our direct check in service taking you straight to your cottage without any fuss on arrival. A feature that also allows us to be as flexible as we can with check in and check out times. While generous breakfast baskets and special packages are available, our base rates are accommodation only so you can plan your escape or special occasion with flexibility and value. So for a unique slice of the real Maleny please give us a call.... We would love you to experience our very special place. Thanks Glenn & Angela ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing