We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I just had the most relaxing weekend at Whispering Valley. The host Anne was very accomodating and friendly from the moment we arrived. I liked the fact that they just let you be to enjoy the cabin. The cabin itself was so clean. For being in the middle of the rain forest the louvre windows did not have a spot of dirt on them. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything you could need. I really loved the fact they had a BBQ on the deck. My partner loved the fact they had a proper coffee machine in the unit. Definately better than the "international roast" you get at most places. At night it is so quiet and peaceful. The only thing you hear is the frogs down at the pond. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKHatch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The privacy and seclusion of these cottages were fabulous. Friendly staff who didn't bother you at all. Really felt like we could relax here, didn't run into another person. Beautiful location and facilities, would stay here again. Think of it as a rustic cottage, with the finishes you want ie spa, fireplace, king bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyceeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Wow! From the view to the furnishings to the kind reception... This place is amazing. I originally booked it as we needed accommodation for a family members wedding and my mother-in-law has a rather refined, quaint taste. She loved it here and so did we. Hopefully we can visit again for our own escape. The cottage was clean, tidy and warm... We especially loved the wood fire! Thank you very much for a lovely stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

These cottages are comfortable and in a quiet, leafy, private location. They need to be maintained better than what they are. The bathroom was a very poor design with no drain in the middle of the floor. There was no shower screen which meant that the floors and around the edges of the bath was soaked with water. Considering the tariff, some beautiful local produce would've been appropriate, such as local coffees that this region is famous for. The fridge was empty with no milk provided and no water. Service is by no means welcoming or friendly. The cottages are actually quite poorly maintained and in need of a paint, cleaning of the grout in bathroom and the front door jams and does not open easily. I feel a little bit more effort considering the perfect location of Cottages would be a good idea. The plywood lined walls make the Cottages feel very budgety. This place seems to be about profit in exchange for providing very little in return.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intulife, Manager at Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are so sorry that you were disappointed during your stay with us and would loved to have discussed these issues directly with you.

We welcome feedback and will take steps to remedy any concerns, we encourage our guests to raise these with us. When we check in our guests we say if anything is not right please let us know, we are sorry this appeared not to happen in your case.

Our cottages are of a unique Sunshine Coast style, the ply walls are a design feature and while we acknowledge they are not to everyone's taste, we believe they provide a more natural background to our beautiful surroundings.

Our bathrooms are designed as a wet room to allow an openness feel and all have drains in the centre of the rooms so we are not sure about this comment though we acknowledge water spillage can be a concern.

Our policy is to hold milk at reception and offer it to all guests on arrival to ensure freshness. Local produce is included in all our breakfast baskets.

On the maintenance issues, thank you again for raising these concerns I have asked our maintenance team to do a review on the issues you raised to ensure they are attended to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our family stayed her to get ready for a wedding for the weekend in Maleney. The house is well loved and cared for. Extremely clean with all the amenities needed for a weekend stay.

The beds were comfortable and it was spacious and abundant, the decking was lovely for a warm afternoon lunch and sit down.

The highlight for me was talking to the donkeys! Great views also from the house, lovely scenery.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This place is absolutely bliss. The cabins are stunning and surrounded by beautiful bush land. There are dams and bush walks and you really are in paradise. The cabins themselves have everything you need and are just perfect. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBaker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely spot for weekend getaway. About 10kms outside of Maleny. Cabins are well-appointed with kitchenette, barbecue, spa baths and pot-belly stoves to keep warm in the winter. Little walks on the property are mapped out. Service and reception are warm and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
414 reviews
5.5 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
7.2 mi away
Maleny Terrace Cottages
Maleny Terrace Cottages
#9 of 16 in Maleny
4 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maleny Luxury Cottages
Maleny Luxury Cottages
#5 of 15 in Maleny
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat

Property: Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat
Address: Rose Gum Lane | P O Box 426, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Maleny's original cottage retreats, Whispering Valley is also one of the most secluded. Our classic sunshine coast bungalows are set on 50 scenic acres - Each carefully positioned to catch breezes and views as they blend seamlessly into the environment. That's why we like to keep things simple.... Unique cottages (1 & 2 bedroom) reflect a comfortable simplicity that puts you close to nature in total privacy. Guests appreciate our direct check in service taking you straight to your cottage without any fuss on arrival. A feature that also allows us to be as flexible as we can with check in and check out times. While generous breakfast baskets and special packages are available, our base rates are accommodation only so you can plan your escape or special occasion with flexibility and value. So for a unique slice of the real Maleny please give us a call.... We would love you to experience our very special place. Thanks Glenn & Angela ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Valley Cottage Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing