We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Exotic Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Egyptian Dream Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Maleny
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Exotic Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at Egyptian Dream Retreat in January with my family. We were on vacation in Australia and wanted to have a unique and different experience in Australia than the usual Sydney-Cairns trip. We found Egyptian Dream Retreat on trip advisor and decided it was perfect! We weren't wrong. When we arrived we were greeted by lovely Dalila who immediately made us feel so welcome. The rooms were amazing! So exotic in their decorations, we all felt like we stepped right into the room of an Egyptian Pharaoh! That night I enjoyed an incredibly relaxing treatment in the Egyptian bath. It was really like nothing I'd experienced. That was followed by an amazing organic breakfast and massage the next day. Maleny itself is such a quirky little town, we really enjoyed it. Dalila recommended a place for dinner that night and it didn't disappoint. I am so glad we decided to do something a bit different, it was one of the highlights of our trip! Will definitely be coming back next time we travel down under!

Room Tip: The Isis Moon Goddess room is like nothing I've ever seen! Definitely worth it, especially for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mariaconchita Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your very nice comments and is indeed a pleasure to have had your company. We are looking forward to your next return & thank you for recommending us to your friends in your country.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    0
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
36
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Dalila has created a stunning retreat in a stunning location- in the Sunshine Coast Hinterlands. She has put her heart and soul into the design and decor of the retreat and you feel very welcome. She also offers workshops, treatments and wholesome gourmet food- what's not to like?

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
16 Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guest
We are so thankful for your beautiful heartfelt comments. Egyptian Dream Retreat is awaiting your divine company and you are welcome anytime.
Egyptian Dreams & Blissful Days & Delightful Evenings!
May the Divine Light shine on you always!
Dalila & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Dalila is a generous and warm hostess, offering fabulous food and stunning accommodation. The gardens and animals are healthy and happy, whilst the body and soul treatments are gentle, intuitive, helpful and not at all intrusive. Thank you so much for a wonderful time, HIGHLY RECOMMEND for a stay away or even a day trip for a treatment.

Room Tip: Easy, all rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest
We are grateful and sincerely appreciate your very lovely comments. Your clear thinking and divine approach is one of a kind. We have been blessed by your visits and we are awaiting your shinning light upon our Retreat.
Egyptian Dreamy nights & blissful days ahead!
Dalila & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here for new years and we had an amazing start to the new year. Delila was lovely, warm, friendly and very welcoming. She showed great hospitality towards us. We really enjoyed our stay and the spa in our suite. The retreat is a little hideaway gem and we were pleasantly surprised by our surroundings when we got there. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: The Egyptian Isis Goddess room is worth the extra money you pay with the in ground spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptian Dream R, Dalila, owner Egyptian Dream Retreat, Maleny at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your beautiful comments of 'ISIS-MOON-GODDESS' with your special mention of the in-ground spa, it was indeed our greatest joy to have such lovely respectful guests enoying our accommodation. We look forward to your next visit. Fondest memories from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Very relaxing, soothing, and very professional in a beautiful enviroment. I always be a returning customer. I recommend to any body.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank henryr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you, we just enjoyed reading your review very much. We welcome you back soon for another nurturing treat.
Egyptian Dreams & amazing delightful dreams with daily blessings
Dalila & Team
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

A perfect place to escape the city's hustle and bustle. Tranquil and relaxing, the views were breath-taking. Along with the warm and welcoming hostess, Dalila, Egyptian Dream Retreat felt like a home away from home, without the negative energy of the busy city lifestyle. Conveniently located, my husband and I took relaxing strolls to the shops and cafe. Townspeople were very nice and friendly. We returned to the Isis Suite and had the most relaxing spa bath. The room was cleverly themed and Dalila's attention to detail to everything that is in the Suite is just amazing. In the morning we were greeted with a very healthy organic breakfast, prepared with love by Dalila. My husband and I were truly rejuvenated upon our return to the busy city life. Thank you Dalila. We hope to return for another getaway real soon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kurotoshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review. It is indeed always a pleasure to have such amazing company. We are waiting your return with open arms.
We wish you Egyptian Dreams & Blissful Days & may the Rays of Sun & Moonlight shine upon you daily.
Blessings to you both!
Dalila & Team
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

At first Dalila Lacquiere (owner of the retreat) gave us a warm greeting. We thought she was a bit quirky and very talkative but nice.

I had a bath in the morning and when I let the plug out to drain the bath it flooded the room due to the poor plumbing design.

My partner and I spent most of the morning mopping it up. Not much of a relaxing treat.

The breakfast Dalila gave us was not what I would consider a breakfast as it was made up of olives, feta and sauerkraut.

Before we left my partner informed her of the problem with the bath. She was unhappy about it and stated that she should charge us extra. My partner advised her that it wasn't our fault that her bathroom has faulty plumbing.

A few days later my partner discovered that she had charged an extra $650 on his credit card. He rang Dalila and asked why she had charged this amount as it was not an expense he had authorised. She said that it was the fee she had to pay for making a claim with the insurance company.

We've now gone to the police to try to recover the money.

My advice is STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
41 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.5 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maleny Lodge
Maleny Lodge
#5 of 6 in Maleny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
3.3 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
3.7 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 16 in Maleny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egyptian Dream Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egyptian Dream Retreat

Property: Egyptian Dream Retreat
Address: Sunnyside Court, Maleny, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Egyptian Dream Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 1 mins drive to Maleny Showgrounds where the great Festivals are held yearly, 75 mins from Heart of Brisbane City Queen St. Mall, 15 mins to Australia Zoo (Crocodile Man), 30mins from pristine beaches, 5mins to Maleny Winery, 10 mins to Montville, minutes to rainforest walks and lakes, waterfalls and many other amazing places of interest. We are in the quaint magical village of Maleny, nestled atop a mountain hillside quiet cul-de-sac stands the Egyptian Dream Retreat house amongst fragrant gardens of Olives, Cypresses, Gardenias, Roses, Lavender, many herbs & ponds, inspired by ancient energy of the Egyptian Goddess Isis. Cleopatra and Ra-Sun-God Suites & Isis-Moon-Goddess Sub-Penthouse are adjacent to the main house with each one having private entrances and are especially designed for a mystical pampering, nurturing experience and ultimate relaxation. Isis-Moon-Goddess has wheelchair access only. As optional extras we offer Egyptian Tantric Kundalini Goddess Isis, Hawaiian Kahuna, Tibetan Brazilian massages, Far-Infra Red with colour healing sauna, Egyptian Bath plus a diverse range of other natural therapies at our Day Spa or in your room for singles or couples. Perfect for romance, special occasions, or just time out to relax, detox and heal. Spoil yourself and be a QUEEN or PHARAOH at our Egyptian Dream Retreat. You may like to take a short stroll to award-winning restaurants, cafes and galleries. Browse through the unique gift shops and boutiques. Nearby are wineries, Australia Zoo, Kondalilla National Park with its majestic waterfalls, Lake Baroon, Gardeners Falls and Glasshouse Mountains and much more. Golf, fishing, canoeing, bush walking, and beaches are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Egyptian Dream Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing