We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We needed ice cream!”
Review of Maleny Food Co

Maleny Food Co
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Maleny Food Co. story began in 2001 when it was first founded as Colin James Fine Foods, opening on Maple St, Maleny. Starting out as a café and fromagerie, our gelato and sorbet was made daily on site in traditional artisan style. As word spread and the awards began to accumulate, our name became synonymous with ‘truly amazing’ gelato. Since those early days we have continued to expand our operations, using artisan techniques in our purpose-built manufacturing facility in Maleny, Queensland, and our products can now be found in a growing number of restaurants, gelato shops, boutique grocers and cafes. We now welcome a new chapter in our story, and while our name has changed, our values and the quality of our award winning gelato and sorbet remain the same. Our vision is to create an integrated business of food manufacturing, food retailing and food tourism, built on a strong connection to the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. We are passionate about showcasing Maleny, the surrounding region, its people, produce and stories. We invite you to visit us at our store in Maple Street, Maleny, to experience our walk-in fromagerie, select from our range of local produce, enjoy a coffee, or the deli-style dining and of course, try our delicious gelato and sorbet.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for some ice cream and wow! It was the best ice cream we’ve ever had! Try their salted caramel, spectacular!

Thank emmills0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalenyFoodCo, Owner at Maleny Food Co, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hi emmills0907,

Best gelato ever? Thank you so much!

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards, MFC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

All I can say is, ‘Mashmallow’. Their marshmallow ice cream is amazing and should be on everyone’s list of things to try. Their Ginger and Macadamia ice cream is also outstanding, but sometimes isn’t regularly for sale. Very busy on weekends and when buses come into town. Sometimes hard to find a seat. Give it a go..ice cream is worth the effort !!

Thank Barramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalenyFoodCo, Owner at Maleny Food Co, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi Barramax,

Thank you for your kind words! We're so thrilled you enjoyed your visit, and that you got to try a few of our favourite flavours.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards, MFC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Poor service, misplaced our order after paying for
No apology or offer to some form of goodwill gesture
Wont be back

Thank BenSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalenyFoodCo, Owner at Maleny Food Co, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi BenSas,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us with some feedback. We are disappointed to read of your experience, as service is of utmost importance to us. We will be sure to discuss your feedback with the team, and do hope you will return to give us another go.

Regards, MFC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Amazing cheese shop, nice cafe good and the cafe does a great job catering gluten free including a separate toaster!

Thank julieponholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalenyFoodCo, Owner at Maleny Food Co, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi julieponholidays,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a 5 star review! We hope to see you again soon.

Regards, MFC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Heard some great reviews about this place and they weren't wrong. Both my husband & I are big cheese fans so we got the grilled haloumi burger and we couldn't believe our taste buds. Was down right the most delicious burger we've ever had! They also do authentic teas and great milkshakes - Definitely worth a try! On the way out, we stopped into the fromagerie and taste tested cheese from all parts of Australia and overseas and picked some favourites for us to take home. If you are ever in Maleny - Don't miss the opportunity to stop here!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EmmaJJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalenyFoodCo, Owner at Maleny Food Co, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi EmmaJJohnston,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with such a lovely review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your meals so much, and that you got the chance to take some cheese home with you. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards, MFC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maleny Food Co also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Maleny Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing