We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here overnight on the last day of our mini-break to the Sunny Coast, and it was the highlight of our trip. We stayed in a falls villa with the hot tub - worth every penny. So romantic sitting at the open fire place with some local wine, and a cheese platter made up for us at the Maleny Dairy. Although it doesn't appear fprivate, once you're in the villa or onthe deck at the hot tub, you do feel like you're a world away.

The restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was gorgeous - intimate and warming. We had the thai banquet for dinner, and everything from the coconut soup to start through to the red curry duck was absolutely stunning. It would be close to one of the best meals we've ever experienced. The staff were faultless in their service and this really added to our luxury dining.

It is a little pricey, but if you get the dinner/breakfast package then the food alone makes the whole experience worth it. We absolutely loved this retreat, and I'd recommend to anyone wanting to spoil themselves or their partner, for a luxury weekend in the mountians.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tiffany & Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

From the moment we checked in, everything was perfect. The Restaurant food and service was outstanding. The room was just perfect from the lounge and fireplace through to the comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. We found it very hard to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fabulous trip, sat in the hydro spa with the windows open and the rain falling around us. Great walks, lit up the fire and sat in the spa drinking champagne. Staff friendly and helpful and the degustation dinner was fantastic.
Aaron

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aaron & Dominiq... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wow. I am rarely lost for words but I'm close here. An absolutely delightful place set on a ridge near Maleny in idyllic grounds with the full wildlife package - butcher birds, magpies, rainbow lorikeets, and if you are lucky kangaroos and a bandicoot too. The charm of the wildlife is matched by the charm of the staff. The restaurant is brilliant - modern Thai influenced with great choices and a really good intelligent wine list. The private spa on the balcony of the individual spacious pavilions and the wood burning fire in the spacious lounge room top the experience off. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious too, modern and very well maintained. It is not inexpensive - probably a good thing or you would never leave - but the experience is worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrouchoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great spot, lovely staff and well appointed rooms. The breakfast daily was a treat and the 5 course degustation at Tamarind a real highlight.

We could not have been happier to spend our 11th wedding anniversary there. No doubt we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

David M,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay and provide us with feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your experience, especially the degustation menu.
Congratulations on your 11th wedding anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the years to come to celebrate many more happy moments.
Regards,
Bobbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A most beautiful & relaxing place to visit. The grounds & surrounding areas are very well presented & cared for. For a invigorating walk try the forest walk to see the beautiful falls & enjoy the multitude of bird life.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valarie & Malco... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Valarie & Malco... C,

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay with us here at Spicers Tamarind. I am glad you found time to explore the local area and appreciate our wonderful 18 acre property. We are very lucky to have such an abundance of wildlife that call Tamarind 'home'.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the property in the future.
Regards,
Bobbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent relaxing place to stay with good food. Rooms quiet and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to Brisbane and plenty of nice places close by to visit. Grounds kept in pristine condition. Would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ross & Harriot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Ross & Harriot,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area.
We look look forward to having you stay with us again and discover more of the beautiful Hinterland.
Regards,
Bobbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
5.1 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
6.2 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maleny Terrace Cottages
Maleny Terrace Cottages
#6 of 18 in Maleny
9 reviews
5.1 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 15 in Maleny
357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Tamarind Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Address: 88 Obi Lane S, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Maleny
Price Range: £214 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Tamarind Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set near a waterfall in stunning rainforest in the Sunshine Coast hinterland just 3 km east of Maleny, Spicers Tamarind Retreat is an intimately unique hideaway. Intimate, private and romantic, every villa is your escape from it all. Curl up in front of your own wood burning fireplace, relax and read a book, or just sink back into the luxurious King-size bed. Pure zen. Spicers Tamarind Retreat offers a choice of stand-alone villas:- five x 1 bedroom villas with lounge, large bathroom, king bedroom, fireplace and outdoor cedar hot tub- six x 2 bedroom villas with lounge, open fireplace, outdoor day bed, two bedrooms, two large bathrooms and rainforest views- one x 2 bedroom villa with wheelchair access and amenities. The Tamarind restaurant is an award-winning Modern Asian restaurant and cooking school, recently being awarded Two Chef's Hats by Qld Good Food Guide and AHA Best Boutique Hotel 2015. Spicers Tamarind Retreat boasts a destination Day Spa with four large treatment rooms, hydrotherapy room, mineralised spa, steam room, rain shower, private change rooms and bathrooms, open deck and specialty foot treatment room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spicers Tamarind Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing