We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As others have mentioned, this property doesn't really represent value for money. We had expected this going in, as in our experience travel in Australia is often overpriced for what you get compared to many other parts of the world. However, we had hoped this might be different, but it wasn't. The rooms felt pretty average, the beds were extremely uncomfortable, and the breakfast was served luke-warm with not enough staff, so it felt very frenzied and unorganised. We probably wouldn't have felt the same if they charged a lot less, but when you pay more, you expect more. The area is lovely, and there is a huge amount of accommodation around, so there are bound to be other properties to stay at with better pricing and comparable quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

James S,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Spicers Tamarind.
I appreciate your feedback and will be using it to better our service here at the property.
It is a shame that your pregnant partner had difficulty sleeping on our style of soft bedding and she wasn't able to fully relax as one would want on a getaway.
In regards to breakfast, we apologise that you felt the staff were rushed and were not able to deliver the high level of service that they are so proud of.
We hope that we can welcome you back to enjoy this beautiful hinterland retreat in the future and thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Peaceful and relaxing environment. Friendly and helpful staff. Food and service excellent - beautiful breakfast which has a shared starter plate and then good sized portion cooked breakfast.The Tamarind Restaurant - lovely evening of food & wine.
Then for something different finished off with a day at The Cooking School - great fun. Also, not to be forgotten our massage at Spa Anise.
The whole package for 3 nights is great value for money - highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Keith C,
Than you for your review from your recent stay with us.
I am glad you were able to take advantage of one of our great packages and experience many parts of what we have to offer here on the property.
I hope you have returned home with a new passion to cook and create new dishes after experiencing one of our cooking classes.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Bobbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Such an amazing weekend - service was excellent, accommodation was amazing, food was divine and all such great value for money.
We stayed with a large group of girlfriends, renting out 3 of the 2 bedroom villas and we had the BEST time :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mummy With Mojo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Mummy with Mojo Q,
Thank you for your review from your recent 'Girls Weekend' with us. I am glad you all enjoyed your stay and what a wonderful thing to do with a group of friends.
I am pleased you were able to enjoy many parts of the property, helping to create you great getaway.
We look forward to welcoming you all back for your next escape.
Regards,
Bobbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I enjoyed the stay in tamarind. The service was great and quick and the rooms were quite and lonely. The food was good and with the live jazz very relaxing. I look forwardto my next stay at tamarind retreat

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Robert M
Thank you for your recent review from your stay with us here at Spicers Tamarind.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you found time to experience the local area.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Bobbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here after our wedding. We received amazing service, all of the staff were so friendly and made excellent dinner recommendations as the restaurant was closed. The room was beautiful and spotless. Breakfast was delicious and delivered to our room. Couldn't have asked for any more, thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As soon as we arrived we felt relaxed - the service is great. The villa was warm, had jazz playing and smelled great. The villas were all surrounded with beautiful views and foliage, and were all quite private. The restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner. Really keen to visit again and try the spa next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here overnight on the last day of our mini-break to the Sunny Coast, and it was the highlight of our trip. We stayed in a falls villa with the hot tub - worth every penny. So romantic sitting at the open fire place with some local wine, and a cheese platter made up for us at the Maleny Dairy. Although it doesn't appear fprivate, once you're in the villa or onthe deck at the hot tub, you do feel like you're a world away.

The restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was gorgeous - intimate and warming. We had the thai banquet for dinner, and everything from the coconut soup to start through to the red curry duck was absolutely stunning. It would be close to one of the best meals we've ever experienced. The staff were faultless in their service and this really added to our luxury dining.

It is a little pricey, but if you get the dinner/breakfast package then the food alone makes the whole experience worth it. We absolutely loved this retreat, and I'd recommend to anyone wanting to spoil themselves or their partner, for a luxury weekend in the mountians.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tiffany & Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
5.1 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
6.2 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maleny Terrace Cottages
Maleny Terrace Cottages
#6 of 18 in Maleny
9 reviews
5.1 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 15 in Maleny
357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Tamarind Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Address: 88 Obi Lane S, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Maleny
Price Range: £215 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Tamarind Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set near a waterfall in stunning rainforest in the Sunshine Coast hinterland just 3 km east of Maleny, Spicers Tamarind Retreat is an intimately unique hideaway. Intimate, private and romantic, every villa is your escape from it all. Curl up in front of your own wood burning fireplace, relax and read a book, or just sink back into the luxurious King-size bed. Pure zen. Spicers Tamarind Retreat offers a choice of stand-alone villas:- five x 1 bedroom villas with lounge, large bathroom, king bedroom, fireplace and outdoor cedar hot tub- six x 2 bedroom villas with lounge, open fireplace, outdoor day bed, two bedrooms, two large bathrooms and rainforest views- one x 2 bedroom villa with wheelchair access and amenities. The Tamarind restaurant is an award-winning Modern Asian restaurant and cooking school, recently being awarded Two Chef's Hats by Qld Good Food Guide and AHA Best Boutique Hotel 2015. Spicers Tamarind Retreat boasts a destination Day Spa with four large treatment rooms, hydrotherapy room, mineralised spa, steam room, rain shower, private change rooms and bathrooms, open deck and specialty foot treatment room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spicers Tamarind Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing