We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spa Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

As a birthday treat my husband and I spent one night in Villa 10. We booked the spa getaway package which included spa treatments for both of us, three course dinner at Tamarind and breakfast. The staff at Spa Anise were warm, friendly and personable. We were allowed to take our time after the massages (in a twin room) and were never rushed. I booked in for the free yoga class and as the only participant enjoyed the knowledgable and attentive talents of beautiful Sally. Our dinner was incredible! Every course was wonderful. The villa was spacious and beautifully appointed. I loved the Florence Broadhurst soft furnishings. Breakfast was delightful and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Thank you Spicers Tamarind!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesrules95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to relax and celebrate a birthday.
The Spa Anise team have perfected the art of relaxation and i am pleased you were able to enjoy it.
We enjoyed having you stay and look forward to welcoming you both back again, maybe for another birthday celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    73
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
71
441
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Set in the lush Maleny Hills, Spicers Tamarind exceeded our expectations for a relaxing weekend away with old friends. The villas are quite new, modern and inviting and yet so private. The restaurant was exceptional and staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janelle & Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Janelle & Simon,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
We are glad you found Spicers Tamarind to be an ideal location to catch up with your friends as well as find some time to relax.
It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
Bobbie Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed for two nights in June 2014 with my elderly aunt (aged in her early 70s). We had a two bedroom villa which was just perfect - luxurious but unpretentious. The bathroom was superb - one of the nicest hotel bathrooms I have ever seen, and the bath itself was deep and long and very comfortable. We had dinner the first night in the restaurant at Tamarind, and breakfast both mornings, and the staff coped easily with our food preferences (some dislikes, some intolerances). The second night (a Monday night) we had dinner at the Long Apron restaurant at Spicers Clovelly Estate, where the service from Courtney was the best we've experienced anywhere in Queensland. We would both return in a flash. My only issue was that it was a bit of a challenge for my aunt to walk from our cabin to the restaurant and back in the dark - there was some lighting along the road but if I hadn't had a torch it would have been tricky.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for the review of your stay at Spicers Tamarind. I am pleased to hear that you and your Aunt enjoyed your stay and were able to relax in the comfort of the villas.
I appreciate your concerns with the pathway lighting and I am presently upgrading our lighting options across the property.
It is wonderful to be able to offer our guests the option to dine at our sister property, Clovelly. It is a very different experience then the Tamarind and I am pleased you enjoyed the two properties.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Regards,
Bobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bli Bli
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Lovely & peaceful the highlight for us was the hot tub in the afternoon so private. We loved the delicious food as a vegetarian it was so flavor some, very keen to come back for lunch with some friends,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa & Richa... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. With the beautiful sunny days and the cool nights, the hot tub on the private villa deck is the place to be! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax and enjoy each others company and the property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Regards,
Bobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wonderful hot spa and well appointed rooms. The Tamarind restaurant is amazing - meals were delicious and service was great!
Very close to Maleny and lovely views from the room.
The staff are friendly and keen to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aaron & Zorica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Aaron & Zorica,
Thank you for your recent review after staying with us at Spicers Tamarind.
I am please you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax and appreciate our beautiful property. Such a lovely time of year up here and perfect hot tub weather!
We look forward to welcoming you both back next time you need to escape.
Regards,
Bobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Adelaide Street
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just relax and enjoy your surroundings. Villas are beautiful with everything you need for a relaxing time you really don't need to leave the property if you just want to relax and enjoy the tranquillity, and most important the amazing food at the restaurant ... Best Thai I have tasted.
The spa is a must !! staff just make you forget everything.. the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Lorraine W,
Thank you for your recent review regarding you stay with us here at Spicers Tamarind. I am glad that you enjoyed the property and were able to relax and experience all that we have to offer our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the area in the future.
Regards,
Bobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place was perfect for our girls' weekend. We experienced fine dining in the restaurant, magnificent treatments at the day spa, cosy accommodation with a fire place and the local town centre with great country shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Lisa H,
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your time in advising us of your recent stay.
I am glad you enjoyed your 'Girls Weekend' and that our property offered you a great place to relax and spend time with your friends. The Forest Villa that you were in is great for groups such as 'Girls Weekends' as it is spacious yet homely.
It was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Regards,
Bobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
5.1 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
6.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
4.2 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Tamarind Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Property: Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Address: 88 Obi Lane S, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Tamarind Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set near a waterfall in stunning rainforest in the Sunshine Coast hinterland just 3 km east of Maleny, Spicers Tamarind Retreat is an intimately unique hideaway. Intimate, private and romantic, every villa is your escape from it all. Curl up in front of your own wood burning fireplace, relax and read a book, or just sink back into the luxurious King-size bed. Pure zen. Spicers Tamarind Retreat offers a choice of stand-alone villas:- five x 1 bedroom villas with lounge, large bathroom, king bedroom, fireplace and outdoor cedar hot tub- six x 2 bedroom villas with lounge, open fireplace, outdoor day bed, two bedrooms, two large bathrooms and rainforest views- one x 2 bedroom villa with wheelchair access and amenities. The Tamarind restaurant is an award-winning Modern Asian restaurant and cooking school, recently being awarded Two Chef's Hats by Qld Good Food Guide and AHA Best Boutique Hotel 2015. Spicers Tamarind Retreat boasts a destination Day Spa with four large treatment rooms, hydrotherapy room, mineralised spa, steam room, rain shower, private change rooms and bathrooms, open deck and specialty foot treatment room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Tamarind Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing