We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Laurels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Laurels
Ranked #12 of 15 Maleny B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at Laurels - Possums Nest accommodation a few weeks ago and I would have to say my hubby and I throughly enjoyed ourselves. Contrary to what others have posted we did not experience any of these issues, the house was very clean. I would like to add that the staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable, I would not hesitate returning at a later date.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Dreadful grungy old cottage for $250 a night - what a rip off! We are here right now and had been looking forward to our stay - looked good on website. Very misleading and a real disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank khrdng123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maleny hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Possum's Tail with 2 lovely dogs. The accomodation is part of the "House of Laurels" wedding venue that is further up the road. And if you are using the accomodation to drunkly stagger to after a wedding, then this is the place for you.
First off you need to find the place though. No signs anywhere. And you also have to be aware the cottage is right next to another house that is also part of the wedding accomodation.
So, after 15 minutes trying to find the place, on the outside I was pleasantly surprised. Nice balcony where you have views to the coast, on a quiet country lane, and cows next door!! And it all seems relatively new.
But while I had great company, a few, basic things really got to me.
For starters, how about a good clean. Dirty carpet/scuff marks on the walls/spiders webs everywhere. And a lot of the fittings including door handles, taps, main door lock are loose. When you move around upstairs the whole cottage seems to shake (no, I am not that big!)
The clincher for any place for me is the bedroom. Nice decor and clean sheets were a big plus. Minuses were double bed only (who has a double bed??), no celling fan and the actual curtains in the room don't cover the whole of the window.. The other "half room" had a some water damage on the carpet with some mould as well.
Overall, while this cottage was ok, it could be soooo much better. In reality it is a 2 1/2 place. Thankfully this was a coupon deal for $100 a night. The retail is $350. So unrealistic. I have stayed a few times at Blue Summit Cottages. Waaayyyyy nicer!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eddievanBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed a couple of night in the Possum's Tail cottage. The Cottage is quite new, and the photos on their web site depict it well. However, you get the feeling the owners have lost interest, in fact, we didn't even see or speak to a single person from this establishment....bookings done via email, key was in the door, breakfast in the fridge.

The cottage is in a lovely private, quiet position, at the end of a country lane and next to a paddock full of cows. It has a great balcony, with fantastic views and it is very easy to spend time just sitting there.
The living area is located upstairs, very open plan, wooden floorboards, a log fire and huge opening sliding doors. There is only a small old CRT TV and the local TV reception is not good...so bring some DVDs. There are also walls of glass louvres in the bedrooms. There are flyscreens only on the bedroom windows.
There are no ceiling fans, aircon or mobile fans, however it is always cooler in Maleny and there was a nice breeze.
The linen and bedding presented well and was nice and clean, however the bed in the "queen size room" is only a double bed, and the other adjacent bedroom also has only a double bed and there is no door on this room!
The bathroom is also located downstairs and has a separate shower, very small bath (suitable for small children) and toilet.
Overall, there were a few maintenance issues... eg loose taps, loose fittings on walls, water damage on carpet, unprofessional finishes.......again, seems like the owners have lost interest. This cottage has great potential and if it was finished off properly, it could be 4-5 stars.
The big bonus ...it is a pet friendly cottage and it was great to be able to take my two little dogs, especially as it is on a quiet road.
I liked the open plan, modern feel of this cottage. Overall it could have been cleaner, but was ok..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzique60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Meon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

we paid $230 for one night here so our expectations were pretty high.Considering that couples spend their honeymoon here we were gravely dissapointed. Great that we could bring our dog, that was a real plus .If i had paid $150 to $180 a night it would have been ok. But $230 was just too much. The decor is very eighties. There was a lot of grime, dust and overgrown bushes, the pathway to the cottage was very overgrown. Kitchen area very ill equipped, one got the impression that their heart was not in it. More of a money making operation than anything else.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Suzie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.0 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.7 mi away
Roseville House
Roseville House
#5 of 15 in Maleny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
2.1 mi away
Pomodoras on Obi
Pomodoras on Obi
#3 of 16 in Maleny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maleny
Hotel Maleny
#10 of 15 in Maleny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels

Property: The Laurels
Address: 953 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Laurels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laurels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing