We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid -week bday get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The African Cottage and Rondawel
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mid -week bday get away”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in the Rondawell 2 bed cottage. This cottage was wonderful, clean, lovely deco and full equipped . The South African food was fantastic and was freshly delivered to the cottage on the first night. Our hosts Matilda and Tiger the cat were outstanding and very friendly. I would highly recommend this place for a visit at anytime of the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    5
    12
    10
See reviews for
32
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just spent two nights with another couple in the Rondawel cottage. It was private, spacious, well appointed and had an interesting array of South African ornaments and books. We really enjoyed the South Africian cuisine evening meals that were prepared and delivered (hot) to our dining table in the cottage. What luxury, after a day spent exploring the Sunshine Coast hinterland. We enjoyed the peaceful ambience of having breakfast & evening drinks on the deck overlooking the huge old fig tree, with its avian inhabitants. Being situated in the mountains made it a perfect escape from the heat of Brisbane.

Room Tip: The Rondawel that sleeps 4 or the cottage that sleeps 2 are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in the 'house' for a long weekend with my partner and wish we hadn't. The website alludes to a private bush sanctuary. In reality all the property's dwellings are all but on top of each other and only metres from the main road. We were disturbed all evening by heavy traffic and all day by staff, contractors and other guests (who believed the house was the reception area).

The house itself stank of age and mildew. Window sills were covered in dead insects and the bathroom was a mouldy mess. The furniture is kitch in the extreme and well past its used by date. Could really do with a very deep clean and refurb. Its only positive is the kitchen which is large and well equipped.

Worst of all, when I provided feedback to the manager (who has messages plastered all over the establishment about going to them with concerns rather than TripAdvisor) I received a revolting response accusing me of lying about the state we found the property in and dismissing all my other concerns. Very interesting way of running a business.

Room Tip: Avoid the house - the other (newer) extensions are further away from the road and not attached to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AvidWeekender80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My friend and I, we had the most relaxing gateaway ever. We experienced a weekend in Maleny a lovely town and the African cottge next to the 500 years old fig three it's magic. Great location, quiet, private and the host Matilda and Suzy were special.Great customer service, clean rooms, spacy and a confortable bed that makes your ckeck out time to delay...;).... thanks for this great experience and we will be back soon. I really recomand this place The African Accomodation..Eva

Room Tip: the cottage near to the 500 years old fig is magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have been to many hotels and B&B. this is by far the worst. The host were so rude, the rooms are dirty & you can find lots of insects .it's terrible! Don't stay here, it is the worst place you will ever go to!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neeky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had read a few older reviews which were very critical, so we arrived with an open mind, and were not disappointed. Rondawel Cottage was perfectly clean and well maintained. The bbq looked in pristine condition and there were no signs of spiders, cockroaches or webs etc. No cat hairs either and we did have visits from Tiger. The cottage is beautifully decorated and themed with attention to detail. We enjoyed a delicious home-cooked meal from Matilda on one of the nights. The guinea fowl were adorable and I loved hearing them around the place.

Our bedroom was at the front and a previous review had commented on the traffic noise. I had taken ear plugs in anticipation, but didn't use them at all. There wasn't much traffic noise at all and we were there on a Sunday and Monday night.

We had a minor problem with the fire, but I think that is being attended to by Matilda, but it doesn't really matter anyway because we are coming into summer and who needs a fire in summer! Will probably be all sorted by next winter! Thank you Matilda.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovechocolatecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We went away with our neighbours. We both have 2 children. We were spread between all 3 rooms. The kids loved the cubby house cupboards in each of the top bedrooms. The kitchen was outstanding with plenty of room for all. We were close to our favourites - Montville, Kondillia Falls, Maleny and Landsborough library and playground. Great family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.0 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
5.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
4.2 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
0.9 mi away
Maleny Terrace Cottages
Maleny Terrace Cottages
#9 of 16 in Maleny
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
House of Laurels
House of Laurels
#13 of 15 in Maleny
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Cottage and Rondawel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Cottage and Rondawel

Property: The African Cottage and Rondawel
Address: 943 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Cottage and Rondawel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Cottage and The Rondawel - and now our NEW CAPE COTTAGE and KALAHARI COTTAGE is a little bit of Africa in Aus! Relax on your beautiful deck, order a romantic traditional South African dinner, have a soothing massage - all in the comfort and privacy of your cottage! Or go for a rainforest walk, dine at our many award winning restaurants, browse the interesting shops and art galleries. Australia Zoo only 20 mins away, and beautiful beaches 30 mins. Relax, revive, rejuvenate!THE AFRICAN COTTAGE sleeps up to 9 guests comfortably and is ideal for families or groups of friends. THE RONDAWEL sleeps 6, is a very special hexagonal glass and timber cottage with the branches of our 500 year old figtree touching the deck! KALAHARI COTTAGE and CAPE COTTAGE are cosy cottages for couples. Both are open plan with eco friendly camp fires. KALAHARI has its own private courtyard with soothing water feature and CAPE COTTAGE is sheer magic as it is under the figtree with the branches embracing the cottage. It has a stunning deck, overlooking the tree! All our cottages are fully self contained. Perfect for a relaxing getaway to recharge the batteries! Come and experience a little bit of Africa in Aus! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The African Cottage and Rondawel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing