We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault a thing”
Review of Pomodoras on Obi

Pomodoras on Obi
Ranked #9 of 52 Restaurants in Maleny
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Swap the crowds for a relaxing, award winning, dining experience. Overlooking the Obi Obi Creek, Pomodoras on Obi Restaurant is a peaceful hideaway right in the heart of Maleny. Have a lazy lunch or a romantic dinner by candlelight and relax surrounded by natural wildlife in Pomodoras on Obi's enchanting garden surroundings.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault a thing”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I had lunch with my mother and sister here for the first time after Mum's recommendation and it was one of the best meals I've had. Such well thought out and well presented food. The price is fantastic for the amazing quality, the food tasted so fresh and the flavours were brilliant. Fantastic setting, very polite and attentive staff, overall, will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LocalGirl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    32
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Somewhat of a surprise. . Quite different inside from outside. Wonderful setting by the river, great food and wine and terrifi”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable lunch. Lovely view of the obi River. Had the lunch special for $35 which included a glass of wine. Wonderful time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Dined for lunch out on the balcony overlooking the peaceful view. The service & the food were both faultless. Really enjoyed the desserts & all meals were all very generous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stepet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had memorable lunch there in March 2013”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Yes we took my Aunt & Uncle there for lunch who was celebrating her 90th birthday that week. It was a second trip there in two days for them .I can understand why its a favourite for them living so close they are really spoilt there...bedrooms look good but where full that night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slow food just okay”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We dined in Pomodoras for dinner and breakfast as part of our stay and dine package. I'll start with dinner. We had a 3-course dinner which was served in just over the course of 2 hours. We didn't feel that the food however, was worth the wait. The entrees (I had soup, hubby had calamari) were a generous portion and quite good. The problem was with the mains. My husband had the rib-eye steak, medium rare, while I had the duck. The presentation and flavours were good, but both dishes were dry and hard. The desserts were definitely the best part of the meal.

Breakfast was much quicker thankfully. We had the big breakfast which was the average Aussie big breakfast.

Service was average and could be better. For example, the wait staff asked us how was our meal, but turned her back away from us before we replied, which indicated a lack of sincerity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vsej1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pomodoras on Obi also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Pomodoras on Obi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing