We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, nice spot”
Review of Mary Cairncross Cafe - CLOSED

Mary Cairncross Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice spot”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We ate lunch here and found the food quite delicious. Recommend the haloumi wrap. Only problem was that I had phoned ahead to reserve a table with a view because it was my birthday and I wanted it to be special. But when we arrived, no reservation and a casual "you can have that one" which was nowhere near the view! Nice guitarist and a really nice location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libby510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Poor service a pity”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We just waited 45mins to get our lunch - a burger and a BLAT. Its such a shame - the guitarist is amazing, and the views spectacular, but the service was very sub par. Their excuse when questioned? It's busy. I imagine every Sunday lunch is! If you can't handle sit down meals, don't serve them. Instead, I'd recommend getting something in Malaney and having a picnic or BBQ on the large grassy area just outside the cafe, as this was just not acceptable.

Helpful?
5 Thank NeonVenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lovely food great views”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes the service is not the best being very slow and haphazard but the food is lovely and the view fantastic. The menu is simple with all the food being prepared on the premises from free range and organic produce. Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. I chose the vegetarian option but added bacon. The serving was huge and really delicious with the bacon being perfectly cooked and tasting of pork not just salt. An extra serving of toast was not necessary but worth it just for the taste of the special conserve served with it. A home made cherry concoction very different to the usual jams and slightly sour but wonderful. The lunch items and home made cakes on display looked inviting and I am looking forward to returning to try them. The coffee was good, though not hot enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandylionlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After picking up family from Brisbane Airport we decided to travel the tourist route home & decided our first stop would be Mary Cairncross Park, we had a visitor from Wales with us & she was impressed with the lovely views, the easy stroll through the rainforest & the pleasant helpful staff at the Café, the food was simple but delicious & reasonably priced plus it has a gorgeous view that you can sit and take in whilst relaxing with a cuppa, it was a nice way to introduce her to the many Gorgeous Spots we have on the sunshine coast. As a coast local, Mary Cairncross park never disappoints, it has changed over the last 25 years as so many more people have discovered this treasure, but seeing we were there before the easter break it wasn't over crowded.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“amazing!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked for lunch on sunday, as we were told we must try this cafe. The food was so fresh and tasty. Also the serving sizes were big and filling for a good price. They also have heaps of yummy homemade cakes and really good coffee. The cafe was really busy but the staff were still friendly and super helpful. Highly recommend going

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monicast017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Cairncross Cafe also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing