We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LillyPilly's Country Cottages - Day Spa & Wellness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed in Camellia Cottage and found the service and location wonderful. The breakfasts and dinner were always served on time and tasted great - very much like good old traditional home-made food! Very close to Maleny and Montville which is nice for if you get bored. The views were lovely too, however it wasn't quite as secluded as we had hoped. Overall though a lovely spot to stay and decent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XantheBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

We can highly recommend Lillypilly's to others who are after a peaceful and pleasant place to stay. The cottages are private, well-kept and clean, featuring a lot of natural wood, a large bathroom, separate spa bath, wood-burning fireplace (or aircon which we prefer), veranda with table and chairs and all the usual amenities we expect from quality accommodation. There is attention to detail with small touches that make all the difference - fresh flowers, home-baked biscuits, high quality toiletries in the bathroom, oil burners and lamps. Our favourite bit is Josef's cooking - breakfast is to die for and you haven't had Eggs Benedict until you've eaten them at Lillypilly's. Dinner is just as good with something for everyone and each dish is so fresh and well prepared it's hard to choose which one to have. All meals are brought to the cottage with the option of sitting on the veranda, or indoors. One of our favourite things to do is go exploring around the local areas - Montville, Mapleton, Maleny, Flaxton and further on in the morning and then mid-afternoon come back to the cottage and have a drink on the veranda while enjoying the view over Lake Baroon, and some reading and conversation until dinner time. Lillypilly's is really a small paradise and Josef and Adele are very welcoming and attentive hosts.

  • Liked — Lake View Cottage with wonderful views
  • Disliked — No problems with accommodation
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

We sooo needed a break from kids, study and life in general. Adelle and Josef were warm and welcoming and went over and beyond the call for us. The views, magnificent, the privacy out of this world and the food!!! was beautifully cooked and served in our cottage....we didn't want to go home and will most definitely be returning for our special occasions again. John and Julie

  • Liked — Peaceful and romantic
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank umok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

What more can I say!! The quality of the food served would rate as the best I have eaten anywhere. All meals were served to our room which was an added bonus because the weekend for us was all about relaxation. A lovely touch would have to be the scones and fresh cream served to our room on arrival.
Our cottage had a lovely view of Lake Baroon which provided a beautiful backdrop for both our breakfast served on the balcony and time spent wallowing in the double spa. The wood fire in the evening helped create a relaxing ambience. A special mention would have to be the lovely soft dressing gowns provided.
Our stay would rate an A1 and we would be more than happy to return for another visit.
Hope your stay is as enjoyable as ours!!

  • Liked — Quality of food, service & location
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We have been regular visitors to Lillypilly's Cottages, at least twice a year, for over twelve years. We have always found the cottages to be very clean and comfortable, and furnished with those little extra touches that make all the difference.

Josef and Adele are excellent hosts and after we have checked in, been escorted to our cottage and partaken of Josef's freshly cooked scones, all we have to think about is what we will order for dinner that night and breakfast the next morning.

For here is the added bonus that makes Lillypilly's so special - Josef's cooking - he is an excellent chef and dinner and breakfast are served to your cottage, course by course. Cottages are serviced daily but if you don't feel inclined you don't have to turn a wheel or go out for the duration of your stay, as almost everything you need is available in house. You only have to bring what you would like in the way of drinks. Of course Josef and Adele supply freshly ground coffee and a variety of teas in the cottages, plus there is always a jar of Josef's special biscuits.

After donning the plush robes supplied, my husband always settles down to watch numerous DVDs selected from the library in reception, and I retire to the verandah to read the papers or a good book.

We have stayed in all five cottages over the years. Three have views of the lake and surrounds and two have garden views and all have their special appeal. They are all very private and conducive to relaxation. We are very particular about where we choose to stay and we return to Lillypillys time and time again because of the friendly and professional, yet unobtrusive service they offer and yes, especially Josef's cooking. As well, we like the little extras you get from being return visitors, such as Josef always remembering how my husband likes his breakfast eggs. We highly recommend a visit!

  • Liked — Private and relaxing plus having dinner served to your cottage.
  • Disliked — Nothing we didn't like.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

We had our second stay at Lillypilly's in April this year which has prompted this review. On our first visit it was mid winter and we were in a Garden Cottage.I suppose it's all the little things that are most impressive, like hot scones with home made jam and cream served to your room on arrival. A pot bellied fire in the middle of the lounge/dining area made it really cosy and it was sheer indulgence to have breakfast and dinner served to the cottage. This time we had beautiful weather and a fabulous Lakeview delux cottage which allowed us the luxury of having breakfast served outside on the deck. The mist was just lifting from the lake and the native birds were singing - it was heaven - perhaps it's a cliche but the view to the lake on a sparkling morning was absolute magic. We had enjoyed a candle light dinner served course by course to the cottage the previous evening. I choose perfectly cooked and presented Rack of lamb whilst my wife thought her Barramundi the freshed she had ever tasted.During our weekend we enjoyed a full size double spa whilst we looked out over the lake and thought the back lit fish tank a clever touch. The big fluffy towels and dressing gowns, a really comfortable Queen sized bed,the extensive complimentary CD and DVD library and let's not forget the professional service.The ideal place to unwind -we will be back. Cheers Mary and Peter

  • Liked — cosy,clean, ambience
  • Disliked — unable to stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ByronBayThesbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2006

Stayed in a Garden cottage which was quite small with a balcony with no view - only trees, which was okay as we were told this when we booked. The inside of the cottage had a musty smell about it and noticed dust everywhere - on the window sills, insect screens, tv table, etc. Outside on the deck were trees and palms but they need to tidy up this area as it was very messy with lots of fallen dead branches and palm fronds. Also we were very close to the road and could hear traffic (only on the deck) not inside the cottage. The breakfast delivered to the cottage was excellent quality - the owner was a head chef in Sydney and the food was very good. If staying at Lillypillys try to book a lakeview cottage - would not recommend the garden cottage unless you plan to stay inside the whole time. The bed was very comfortable with good quality pillows and linens.
Spa bath was good too - could stretch right out in it. Overall, not as peaceful as some other cottages in this area - no visiting birds, no birdsong, no whipbirds, etc. which is part of the relaxing ambience you normally receive when staying in the Blackall Ranges.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knergan, Owner at LillyPilly's Country Cottages - Day Spa & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2008
As we spend a great deal of time on the maintenance of our cottages, we thought we should respond to these comments. What may have been mistaken for dust in the cottage would have ash from the log fires. The fires are regularly used year round, even in Summer, particularly if you get a spell of rain, and the ash constantly floats all over the cottage. Our Garden cottages have a large number of Rainforest trees around them, so in poorer weather you can get a musty smell as you aren't getting a great deal of light or sun into the cottages. The fronds and branches lying on the ground are part of the Rainforest regeneration, as they turn into nutrients once they break down. Bird life we have in abundance. A guest from one of our Garden cottages once photographed a rare Pita bird that had wandered into the cottage. There is traffic noise during the day, but most people are sightseeing anyway. It is more noticeable if there is a southerly wind blowing, but once the evening arrives, the area becomes very quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
2.2 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.0 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
0.4 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
5.7 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 16 in Maleny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LillyPilly's Country Cottages - Day Spa & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LillyPilly's Country Cottages - Day Spa & Wellness Retreat

Property: LillyPilly's Country Cottages - Day Spa & Wellness Retreat
Address: 584 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia (Formerly LillyPilly's Country Cottages)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LillyPilly's Country Cottages - Day Spa & Wellness Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Lillypilly’s you have the rare opportunity to delight in exquisite meals without having to leave your own private oasis. Experience the romantic intimacy of dining in a “restaurant” just for two, when your sumptuous candlelit dinner is served to your private cottage. With more than 35 years of culinary experience, Chef Josef will provide you with mouth-watering taste sensations that will continue to linger, well past your stay. Come and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your LillyPilly's Country Cottages - Day Spa & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillypillys Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing