We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Ranked #2 of 15 Maleny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great short break”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We had a wonderful four night stay in the Lovina room. We found the staff to be warm and friendly and the resort had a homely country atmosphere and the breakfasts were very good. The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the spa and wood stove. The location was perfect for our needs being very quiet with great views and also being close to Montville. Overall it was a wonderful short break.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayPee1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
237
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I do not like to write this but as my partner and I have stayed at 3 different resorts in the Maleny/Montville area and go away yearly to relax and rekindle that spark. Sadly this year we were both left.... Disappointed. The owner did not met us til we were leaving but the woman who greeted us clearly didnt want to be there and made us feel like a burden. Even though I had paid in full I had to fill out a form and give credit card details, as my partner was quite fatigued we asked for breakfast later I possible she said we had to be up at 830 not concerned we said not to worry then she kept pushing what dis we want so we asked for croissants but were left pieces of bread without any butter or jam for breakfast. The rooms are smaller then they seem on some sites, there is no utensils and only a curtain infront of toilet which is in the same room as bed and tv and spa. We were told by the same lady when we arrived we had to be quite and if we watched tv had to make sure it was soft (as we leant the hard way the walls were thin and couldn't sleep due to someone walkin around thumping an the other couples "noises" both nights) I asked her if we could get some bubble bath for the tub she said yes but we never got it. Also we went for a trip to a winery during the day came back to find someone had been in room and folded toilet paper but that was it. It made me uncomfortable knowing someone was in the room (and didn't clean leave fresh towels or the bubble bath we asked for for the spa) there was hair in the spa which had a view of the car park. The loud scratching of the furniture moving downstairs was a mood killer early in the morning. When we left we were given a card but unfortunately after feeling like we were a burden and ignored when we did ask questions and the disappointing room I would never go back. We left feeling deflated. Honestly if Ur a couple that wants privacy, space and to relax I wouldn't recommend it. If u want to have dogs running through kitchen/reception and small rooms with paper thin walls and no option of bringing or enjoying Ur own snacks/breakfast it's fine. I am sorry again but as this was our thir trip up we expected the same courtesy the other two resorts had shown.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L_n_P_Brizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtr540, Owner at Maleny Tropical Retreat, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
This review came to our attention when it was lodged and as a result the guests in question can be clearly identified. Maleny Tropical Retreat is disappointed that the above guests did not enjoy their stay and the fact they didn’t convey issues on a face to face basis. It appears the guests got off to a “bad start” at check-in when asked to produce a credit card for security although in the Confirmation Email sent to the guests by the booking agency (Wotif) states that “You must present your credit card at check-in to guarantee payment of any incidental charges. You must also produce photo ID at check-in, and the property will record and retain a copy of this ID to protect against fraudulent bookings.” In this case only the credit card was requested.
The room in question is a comfortable 33 sq metres in size plus an undercover deck of 16 sq metres. The toilet is located in an alcove around the corner from the bedroom and is screened. Of the 6 glass windows and doors which provide magnificent views of the Obi Obi valley below, from 1 of the windows can be seen in the distance the currently being constructed 5 bay guest thatched carport.
The room is a B&B suite and does not contain cooking facilities, only fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The Compendium states any utensils including BBQ utensils and any food warming can be provided on request. In the room there is a small sign stating “To enjoy the peace and tranquility and for the comfort of other guests, please keep noise to a minimum……Thank You”. In this room the widescreen TV is located a distance of 6 metres when viewed from the bed. To assist the tranquility and volume control, surround sound speakers are installed at the bed head.
During construction of this room, detailed sound proofing was installed and every consideration to noise reduction was taken into account but despite this and because it is a very large timber dwelling it is difficult to eliminate every little sound above the tranquil sounds of the rapids of the Obi Obi creek below.
For guest convenience a reasonably priced mini-bar basket is supplied in every fridge which is sometimes simply removed from the fridge by guests to make way for their own supplies. The mini-bar supplied does not contain any item that needs to remain refrigerated.
At check-in guests are supplied with breakfast order forms and informed breakfast is served from 7.30am - 9.30am and on other times by arrangement. To assist catering and table management a different time is suggested on the order form for each room with the option for the guest to change the time to their liking. It is also highlighted at check-in and written on the order form to drop in the order form on the evening before. On this occasion no forms were completed and the guests arrived late when all finished on the first morning and didn’t surface for breakfast on the second morning.
When guests vacate the room during their stay all used items are replenished and cleaned without disturbances to guest belongings.
Our 2 dogs are considered as assets and are mentioned on all websites. They never fail to escort all guests who venture on the private walking track down to the Obi Obi creek swimming hole below. The dogs are adored by guests and kept away from kitchen and dining areas during meal times. We are fortunate that they are part of the team at Maleny Tropical Retreat.
As hosted accommodation we are available and on hand 24/7. Guests are not disturbed during their stay and given space for their privacy and yes, I did only meet these guests at checkout and shook hands thanking them for their stay. No indication of any issues was forthcoming. A short 3 question survey is provided in the rooms. One question requests if there were any issues or improvements the guests could provide. In this case the survey was not completed. A far cry from other guests who vacated the same room just prior to this stay and stated on the survey form “Everything exceeded our expectations!!!”
If there was any human error during this stay we are dearly sorry. In the past 10 years of operating since building this beautiful retreat, we have prided ourselves on customer service and cleanliness. We continue to improve the property with new guest carports and luxury Balinese Villas currently being constructed. We look forward to greeting new guests and welcoming the many returning customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
496 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We had An absolutely fabulous stay at Maleny Tropical Retreat to celebrate our engagement. The room was magnificent, as was the view, and the hosts were attentive but not overbearing in an way. This is a great spot for a romantic getaway for a weekend and we hole to go back and visit again at some point I nfuture

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2006

We had an absolute wonderful Honeymoon, Ken & Kerry looked after us so well. Every night our bed was turned down and chocolates were laided on our pillows, the fire was stoked and the room lovely and warm, after returning home,chaifer driven from our meal at one of the wonderful local restaurants. We had such a great time and we will never forget our honeymoon. We even got to plant a plam tree. Breakfast in the mornings was absolutely devine. The dogs were sweet and great navigators to the awesome private creek. What a peaceful getaway.

Thanks so much for a moment our life we shall never forget.

Marie & Craig McAneney (Bundaberg QLD)

  • Liked — The total privacy and romantic feeling. I also enjoyed the large collection of DVDs
  • Disliked — everything was perfect.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take lots of Photos and enjoy because its over too quickly.
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nzmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
1.9 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 15 in Maleny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
5.2 mi away
Artisan Spa Views Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleny Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleny Tropical Retreat

Property: Maleny Tropical Retreat
Address: 540 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maleny Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maleny Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing