We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Maleny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Ranked #2 of 15 Maleny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Set in beautiful countryside this retreat offers unusual but wonderful accommodation. Built by the present owner on a steep hill site it offers a welcoming place to stay. We arrived to find that our booking, through a reputable firm had not been confirmed by the owner. Undaunted he managed to find us a smaller room within a double room suite. Although it was not the room I had originally booked it was more than adequate. The views of the Forrest below are wonderful. Sit out on the balcony and the night sky is breathtaking. Breakfast was very satisfying and filling. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I thought I would update my review because they have built 4 new cabins since our last stay. Obviously we stayed in a new cabin and it was fabulous. They are so well equipped with beautiful views. Our stay included breakfast which was great.

Room Tip: Try a new cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and it was amazing! Best kept secret in Maleny. We originally booked a room in the B & B itself but got upgraded to the Seminyak Villa. The Villa is furnished and the finishes are beautiful. The bed is extremely comfortable and the villa is private. The views from the deck are great.The spa is next to the bed and not inside the bathroom (which makes for more room in the bathroom and beautiful views from the spa). The staff are friendly and more than happy to help, and the dogs are gorgeous! The breakfast is 'scrumptious' and generous in serving size. Although it rained during our time there, we were more than happy to stay in the villa which has a massive led 3d tv, they have a large selection of dvds to watch if you don't feel like leaving :)

Not often that you actually can find a place that the 'luxury' tag lives up to its expectation.

Already planning a trip back. Excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the villas if you can Pay the extra $10 to have a cooked breakfast...IT IS WORTH IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandBen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Spent 3 days at tropical retreat, what a find! So much choice in the area and luckily, we chose this one. The villas are furnished and finished to the highest quality. They are very private and all have a great view across to lake baroon and beyond. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very generous and even though I have a healthy appetite, I only needed a snack until tea time. I would highly recomend this place, it seems wrong to even just label it as a b&b, it way surpassed my expectations.

Room Tip: All the 4 new villas are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My wife & I stayed two nights in the Ubud room while attending Woodford Folk Festival. The woman who received us upon arrival was friendly enough but did not introduce herself by name, which felt a bit odd/unprofessional. We subsequently learned she (Tania) was filling in for the regular host (Dawn) who had been on holiday for 5 weeks to attend a wedding a wedding in Melbourne, et al, and who was scheduled to return the following day. I mention this purely because it may have adversely impacted our experience on a number of levels, namely: (1) The room was not as clean as it should have been - some cobwebs inside and heaps of leaves and flowers on the balcony from the overhanging tree, (2) The resident dogs wandered into the dining room at will and were allowed to bark at 4:30 in the morning (I'd like to mention here that we are dog owners so incorrect assumptions are not made), and (3) Breakfast arrangements, i.e. the need to place an order, were not explained to us.In additional, while some would no doubt consider the junk lying around underneath the main building and partially completed carport charming...we did not. Instead, we felt it was indicative of an establishment in decline managed by people who had little regard for aesthetics. On the upside, the breakfast was good, the room had well appointed, it was generally quiet and the outlook was outstanding. Whilst we enjoyed our stay it was somewhat disappointing because it has the potential to be so much better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed for 2 nights in the Lovina room which was absolutely fantastic. As it wasnt very busy when we arrived, we were offered a choice of two different rooms
to which we were very happy to have the option. We loved that the spa wasn't inside the bathroom but in the main area where you can see the views of the beautiful bush lands and also watch the big screen tv. The breakfast was very well priced and it was nice to socialize with other guests over breakfast each day. The two cattle dogs were a nice addition to our stay and made us feel safe on our long bush walks. We look forward to returning soon and staying in one of the newer balinese villas which the hosts were nice enough to allow us to have a sticky beak at during our stay. Thanks Ken and Daph...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marknalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at MTR, we had the most wonderful time. Being in a villa and secluded from everyone is great when you want to recharge your batteries. Sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine looking at wildlife and hearing all the noises you miss when you are too busy at work and home. We will be returning next year and definately staying in a villa. Thank you Daphanie for your fantastic hospitality..
Marijka and Paul

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
1.9 mi away
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
4.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
491 reviews
5.7 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 15 in Maleny
365 reviews
7.6 mi away
Maleny Luxury Cottages
Maleny Luxury Cottages
#4 of 15 in Maleny
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleny Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleny Tropical Retreat

Address: 540 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Maleny
Price Range: £91 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maleny Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maleny Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing