We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well thought out place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Ranked #2 of 15 Maleny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed there in January 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed the villa we stayed in. Hosts were very accommodating and the vila was very well thought out in terms of space and amenity. Its worth the money. Youtube Maleny Tropical Retreat and you won't hesitate.

Room Tip: I think the bottom one is the most private but they are al pretty private, the higher ones have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We drove the whole of the Sunshine Coast and couldn't find any accommodation. Googled and found a real gem. Ken booked us in over the phone and about 40 mins later we were totally blown away by this villa in the hills. So glad we found it and they had a vacancy. We arrived after dark so can't wait to see the place in the morning. The double spa was magic on our weary bones since we have driven from Darwin and still have a drive to go before heading back. Ken brought 2 Balinese dressing gowns to wear after a spa, just after we arrived. Organised a massage each for after breakfast too. Can't wait to get my camera out in the morning. Definitely going to try to book in on our way back home next week. Has a kitchen, double shower Bali day beds inside and on the balcony each villa is well spaced away from others so you have the feeling that you are in the middle of nowhere by yourselves

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Booked on the off chance for one night. Looked at the bed and breakfast rooms and they were good, then had a look at one of the chalets. It was really good, peace and quiet, not over looked, well equipped. Double jacuzzi bath in the room as well as a separate double shower. Room was to a very high standard with a balcony that overlooked the valley.
The local pub/ restaurant runs a free pick up service, used it and it ran on time and the meal was good.
Next time in australia will go back

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank YorkieDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

From the time of booking, right up to our (late) arrival on Friday night (thanks to a delayed plane and traffic :) ), we felt instantly at home and welcome.

You really felt as though city troubles melted away and Dawn's warm and accomodating nature, as well as the friendly dogs - got our weekend off on the right foot.

We stayed in Lovina and it was perfect, nice and close to the main building, but at the same time completely private. Couldn't hear a thing from the main building. Clean, comfortable and cosy.

Thank you Dawn for our lovely weekend away and thank you for the above and beyond approach (the croissants for the road after we slept through breakfast was lovely :) ).

We will definitely be back, hopefully in the winter when we can utilise the fireplace.

Room Tip: If you are after views of the valley and the lake - go for the free standing vila's. If you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissCGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

From the minute we walked in we were greeted by the friendly host and resident puppies! Had an amazing and romantic stay, felt very welcomed and part of the family. Host was always on hand able to answer our question and had some wonderful recommendations to make out wonderful mini holiday even better.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bri8582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have nothing but praise for the Maleny Tropical Retreat. It is second to none! The area is beautiful, the villas are decorated to such a high standard, the views are amazing, the serenity makes it the perfect place for a special occasion. It's a secluded haven when you need time out or just want to spoil the one you love. We cannot speak highly enough of the hosts, Ken, Daph and Dawn. Their warm, down to earth, real country hospitality is wonderful and so rare these days. They will make you feel very welcome but also allow you to enjoy the peace and quietness this place offers. The breakfasts are scrumptious and nothing is too much trouble. This is definitely our new favourite place. Thank you Ken, Daph and Dawn for being the best ever hosts and a huge thank you to Ken for his unbelievable generosity and compassion. You will be seeing us again...can't wait!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyeborn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location is simply breathtaking with stunning views and a very warm welcome. The breakfast served was lovely and it was great to share stories with other guests and chat.
The cabin we stayed in was really cool and had everything we wanted. All the staff we met were lovely and very helpful, we even had a substantial chore carried out for free which was really over and above what we expected.
If you fancy watching a DVD or two, they have 100's to chose from.
I would love to go and stay agin, the next time we visit.

Room Tip: check out before you arrive as some are better than others and reflected in the price .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudgersmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
1.9 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
5.7 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 15 in Maleny
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
2.4 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
3 mi away
Top of the Hill
Top of the Hill
#7 of 15 in Maleny
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleny Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleny Tropical Retreat

Address: 540 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Maleny
Price Range: £92 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maleny Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maleny Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing