We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service!”
Review of Maleny Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maleny Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 15 Maleny B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

BEAUTIFUL property with amazing views. Hospitality was superb. Rooms are quaint--perfect if you're just looking for a bed to sleep in after a day exploring. Breakfast was delicious, featuring local marmalade.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmiw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    18
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
39
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A good friend was having her 50th Birthday Party at the Hideaway so we thought we would take advantage of the few days we had off of work and stay for 3 nights. The place was easy to find, upon instruction from a map we had. The hosts Kerri, Grant and Mollie were so accommodating and friendly and we felt like we were staying in a 'home away from home,' except we didn't have to cook our own breakfast, do dishes or any housework for that time. Lots of choice for the all inclusive breakfast, freshly made fruit salad, choice of cereals, breads, local spreads and yogurt, the best poached eggs ever and I could go on. The room was lovely and clean, we had a nice patio outside our bedroom and a great hot shower. (Yes, even though it is Queensland, the weather was cold). There were also lots of other comfortable areas in which we could grab a book, glass of wine (or beer) and just chill for a while. And of course the price - very reasonable. Thanks Kerrie, Grant, Mollie and Otis (the resident Labrador). And don't forget to visit the Maleny Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jano62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Whilst the lady running the show was very welcoming when we arrived, and the views outside are breathtaking, the B&B left a bad taste in our mouth when we departed for the following reasons:
1) Tricky to find
2) Dodgy path to drive down when the sign has finally been located
3) No security
4) Paper thin walls - we could hear upstairs squeaky bed, doors slamming
5) Our double bed consisted of 2x singles squeezed together very uncomfortable
6) Old un-matching decor
7) Dirty floor
8) Being woken up to a screaming grandchild outside our door. Apparently the owner's
9) Cat running around in the eating area

Rant over.... I think that for $170 a night that it is fair to expect more even if breakfast is included.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nambour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We first stayed here as a couple on anniversary - very enjoyable and great hosts ensured we had a fab time. Comfortable clean accomm at fair price and nice farmhouse breakfast - old fashioned welcome and personal touch ...

so where does versatility fit in? Well we then thought, how would this place be as a venue to bring guests for a family event? I had some doubts thinking how complicated catering and managing folk would be ... well far from it. The place was totally ideal for my wife's 50th party with 50 or so guests for the day and about 20 sharing rooms and we booked the place out fully. Kerry and Grant the hosts were tireless in support and care for us all, but actually they were also nearly invisible- totally felt the hose was "ours" and we were able to really relax and enjoy totally, yet every time we needed anything they were so helpful. Breakfast for our crowd the next morning was a wonderful 'second party' with our hosts making great food happen although so many people would suggest a difficult chore ... they were well organised and everyone was well fed for breakfast with a combo of self serve real coffee, a selection of tea, juices and fruit etc coupled with yummy a la carte hot cooked main breakfast ... I cannot recommend highly enough ... we are now planning what other uses we could put this grand quiet and comfy home to, tucked away in the silent green hills of beautiful Maleny.
Big thanks Kerry and Grant - we'll be back - what a wonderful place to gather. Awesome.

Room Tip: If you ring to discuss your needs Kerry will advise you - there are many differing levels of comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We did stay at The Maleny Hideway back in early March whilst we visited our elderly Aunt & Uncle in Maleny. Unfortunately we arrived on a very wet afternoon typical for that time of the year. Missed the hotel entrance first time coming from opposite direction from Maleny .Visability was very poor due to the heavy rain we managed it OK on our second attempt ! Kerri made us very welcome and we had a good size double room , bed linen particulary crisp and white and a comfortable bed. Kerri needed to be away early next morning with Grant on family business but their eldest daughter who came up from Brisbane to prepare breakfast was on hand ensured we were well fed and watered before departing on our long drive up to Rockhampton that day.

Certainly have no hesitation in returning when next in Oz, do hope Grant is making good progress.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I am a marriage celebrant Marry Me Marilyn Verschuure and I stayed at Maleny Hideaway last weekend as I was doing a wedding at Solothurn in Reesville. You are very centrally located to all the attractions in the area. Kerri, Grant & Molly made Marcel my husband & I feel like old friends who had come to stay. From the moment you arrive you feel the tranquility of the property and the down to earth friendliness and helpfulness makes you relaxed and ready to start your awesome visit. Kerri gave us a tour of the property and made sure we knew where we could find everything we needed. We saton the verandah and enjoyed the awesome views of the Hinterland with our bottle of wine and nibblies and watched the sun go down over the rolling hills. Grant made sure we had plenty to do and gave us advice on the general area. We had perfect sunny weather and when the nights were cool we sat around the beautiful wood fired stove which have a glow to the common lounge room upstairs. Our room had everything we needed. We came home relaxed and renewed! I will be visiting again for my next wedding in the Hinterland. Come and stay a while and soak up the serenity and the down to earth friendliness of this beautiful family hideaway. The breakfast was fabulous and Kerri made a special effort for us and spoilt us rotten....thanks again and look forward to seeing you all again soon...love Marilyn & Marcel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarryMe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malenyhideaway, Owner at Maleny Hideaway, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Hi Marilyn and Marcel, thank you for both a wonderful review and being such terrific house guests. I hope the next time you visit I will have the very very well done eggs and bacon mastered :) I am sure you will be doing many wedding ceremonies in Maleny in the not too distant future.
Regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We spent a Saturday night here and there are few B and B's in the area that allow one night bookings. The location was fine and the hosts were very accommodating when we asked for an early check-in. The breakfast was specially prepared for each guest and lovely. The room we had was very small and we were disappointed with the cleanliness and tidiness of the place. While there was a fire place in the guest lounge room, there were no chairs to sit near it. We thought this place had good potential but we it needed a good clean both inside and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malenyhideaway, Owner at Maleny Hideaway, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Hi Judy, i am glad you enjoyed your breakfast as we do try hard to make them worthwhile. Iam sorry that other parts of your stay were so disappointing. I admit the double room you booked is not one of our biggest, which is reflected in the rate, we do try to upgrade at our expense anyone who has booked the room for an extended period to make their stay here as comfortable as possible. We are ,as you mentioned ,one of the few places in Maleny that offer one night weekend stays which puts us in an awkward position .We would have to have our rates higher to employ weekend staff to help with the overall cleaning of the communal areas which have high traffic use in these weekends, so naturally with the couple of hours between guests checking out and the new ones arriving ,and also trying to be ready for those who need early check in for wedding etc we have to concentrate on the guests own rooms and the communal areas , driveways etc sometimes do not get vacuumed,pressure cleaned or dusted until the evening or the first available opportunity . We do have a very large lounge suite in the family room but as we can have up to sixteen guest staying it would be impracticable to have that many chairs around the fireplace itself. I have on many occasion either taken chairs from the dining area myself or helped guests carry them next door to the lounge area and I apologise for not knowing this is something you would have wished us to do for you but I think I would have probably have been in bed by the time you arrived home from the wedding. Thanks though for what I would call constructive criticism and we will do our best to improve on some of the things you have mentioned.
Regards Kerrie
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maleny hotels
5.0 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.6 mi away
Artisan Spa Views Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Braeside Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
5.1 mi away
Maleny Terrace Cottages
Maleny Terrace Cottages
#7 of 16 in Maleny
5 reviews
3.7 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleny Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleny Hideaway

Property: Maleny Hideaway
Address: 32 Sidney Lane, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Maleny
Hotel Class:3 star — Maleny Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA country guesthouse retreat located at Maleny above the Sunshine Coast and set in 20 acres of the beautiful Blackall Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maleny Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing