We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful piece of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of runaway to maleny

Bar b cue deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Bamboo Chapel
Guest Bedroom
Guest Kitchen Table
Guest Kitchenette
Guest lounge and massage chair
Guest showers
Bar b que deck
Flying Fox
Shala
Our Backyard Waterfall
Trampoline Deck
Swimming Hole in the Obi Obi Creek
Guest Bathroom
Angle Wings Lotus
Trampoline
Creek Flat
Main Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Lower Deck
Main Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mtranston
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of paradise”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Despite only seeing Jen and Ian on the first day, they were the most hospitable hosts. They went above and beyond in making us feel welcome in their beautiful home. Runaway to Maleny is in the most perfect spot and the entire place is simply gorgeous. Pasha and Hamish (the cat and dog) are the best companions and made us feel right at home. Cannot recommend this place enough and will definitely be staying there again in the future. All in all it was the most relaxing holiday my partner and I have been on in a long time.

Have to also recommend booking a massage with Jane in the shala.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
It was so great to have Ethan and Michaela come to Runaway. An absolutely delightful couple who were so excited to be having time together and appreciative of the property. Can't wait to meet you properly next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a break”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a lovely two nights at Run Away. A beautiful property, great service,
could not recommend this enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
We really enjoyed having Madeline and Jeffrey stay. Absolutely delightful couple and we'd love to have them back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what I needed to relax and rejuvenate”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

For anyone that needs a place to retreat and rejuvenate - this is the place. It was only a short visit, but the peaceful surrounds, well thought out spaces, amenities and beautifully designed accommodation made the day to day stresses melt away from the moment my daughter and i entered the property.

Thank you to Jen and Ian for making us feel so welcome and to Shadow for showing us around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Space and the peacefulness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
It was so lovely to have Ann and Hannah come to stay at Runaway and it's also really great to know that they felt relaxed rejuvenated. They just respected the home so fully as though it was their own. We're so looking forward to their next visit with the full family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyW176...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I had to go to a wedding in Maleny so we booked Runaway to Maleny for the night. Although Jen and Ian were away whilst we stayed there they were so incredibly helpful via email and even phone calls. Such beautiful people! The property is just perfect - quiet and full of nature but also very close to everything you could need. We loved the yoga shala and falling asleep to the noises of the creek - and being woken by the rooster was a different experience! Will definitely be coming back - thanks Jen and Ian!! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
It was so great to have Sally and Zodie stay at Runaway. Such lovely fun loving folk who just make the very most of everything.
We love you guys - come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana_Rea...
Boonah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Struggling to find the words...”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Jen and Ian are an absolute delight. Prior to staying at Runaway to Maleny I had called in for coffee with them and left feeling energised. They truly have such a wonderful approach to life and people- it rubs off and you leave feeling refreshed and happy! Jen and Ian are extremely welcoming and thoughtful. They provide everything you could ever need and MORE.

As for their property- I have travelled quite a bit and it is such a magnificent part of Australia- I have highly recommended to all my family and friends after our stay there. It has its thrills (flying fox and an initiation rock- if you're game) but for those seeking a relaxing get away, a BBQ and wine in the shared outdoor area is divine, or read a book by the waterfall.

I could honestly go on, but it is really something you must see for yourself :) One last recommendation would be the AMAZING masseuse (Jed & Ian will happily pass on her number). I've never had a better massage.

An 11/10 for Jen & Ian and Runaway to Maleny :) I'll definitely be back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Well you can see from this review what a wonderful open and enthusiastic woman Alana is! She and her delightful friends were an absolute pleasure to host and we really can't wait to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M
2 reviews
“Heavenly creekside haven”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our hosts, Jen and Ian, whilst they were away during our stay in their special sanctuary, were so helpful and sweet in the lead-up to our visit. Theirs is a beautiful, peaceful and meticulously well thought out haven which you can sense has been created with love in every nook and cranny. It’s truly a very special place and we feel privileged to have been able to stay there, even if just for a few nights. The kids fell in love with the hosts cat Pasha (who slept with them each night) and the family dog Hamish was very entertaining. Why? You'll find out for yourself once you stay there!

We loved the pretty gardens, bamboo chapel, the thrilling flying fox across the beautiful creek and the entire property – we definitely want to come back when it’s a bit warmer so we can take advantage of swims in the creek.

Maleny and Landsborough townships are both very close if you don't feel like cooking and the kids enjoyed outings to Australia Zoo, the Maleny markets and Mary Cairncross park, all very close and accessible.

It is impossible not to fall in love with this place....thank you Jen, Ian, Shadow, Pasha & Hamish for having us share your secret garden!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
It was just so lovely to know that Anita, Steven, Ava and Archie were enjoying Runaway while we were away. They communicated so openly and lovingly about their enjoyment of the place that we just knew they were being properly cared for and their adventurous spirits were being thoroughly satisfied. Such beautiful folk we would welcome back in an instant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Goondiwindi, Australia
1 review
“The most beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had the most perfect weekend her at Jen and Ian's. They were the most perfect hosts and very helpful about information regarding the area of Maleny. The house and surrounds were beautiful. The gardens and surrounding creek were worthy of the many photos we took. This was the perfect escape to another world.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
We just loved having Julie, Lindsay and Nick stay at Runaway - absolutely wonderful people with a joy for life that's infectious. Can't wait to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing