We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of runaway to maleny

Bar b cue deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Bamboo Chapel
Guest Bedroom
Guest Kitchen Table
Guest Kitchenette
Guest lounge
Guest lounge and massage chair
Guest showers
Bar b que deck
Flying Fox
Shala
Our Backyard Waterfall
Trampoline Deck
Swimming Hole in the Obi Obi Creek
Guest Bathroom
Angle Wings Lotus
Trampoline
Creek Flat
Main Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Lower Deck
Main Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
patister
1 review
“Magic”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were totally in awe this place has something special going on... from the moment we first contacted Ian and Jen and upon our arrival combined with the sound of the running creek we just knew we had stumbled on a best kept secret , it was exactly what the doctor ordered .. Pictures or words cannot describe how incredibly beautiful and serene this property is. The design of the home blends into surrounding rainforest giving you an immediate sense of karma and love and makes you feel so at peace you wish you could stay here forever. Shadow the caretaker greeted us with such warmth. If you are looking for somewhere really special to stay here it is. Thank you for sharing your paradise with those in this world who appreciate real natural beauty .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
How wonderful it was to have Trish and Lister sty at Runaway.
From the very first contact they exuded warmth and vibrance and we couldn't hope to have more appreciative guests.. We really look forward to having the visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Gladstone, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hidden getaway to rechrge the batteries!”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had 3 nights at Runaway and really enjoyed it.Ian gave us an initial tour and then it was ours. A beautiful cool swimming hole and lunch under the grapevines was very relaxing. Had a great massage in the Yoga studio and found plenty of wonderful restaurants nearby. My only criticism was a noisy overhead fan and Ian has assured me he is going to fix that. Thanks Ian and Jen. PS: Ironically it is a great place for kids too with large areas to explore, a zip line across the creek and that awesome swimming hole.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
It was great to have Geoff and Lisa at Runaway and it seems that they thoroughly enjoyed themselves there. Lovely folk to deal with and great communicators. Thanks for letting me know about that fan Geoff. We'll fix it straight away.
Look forward to having you stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynHutt
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Blissful Getaway”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ssshhhh....don't really want to tell you about Runaway to Maleny as don't want it to get so busy that we can't return, but....

In February, I attended a one-day yoga retreat at this beautiful property - yes...there is a gorgeous yoga shala on-site where you can practice. I was so impressed with the ambience and sheer blissfulness of the surrounds that I was determined to return for the next retreat there and stay for the weekend.

I knew my husband would just love the place, and he did. He too is determined to return again, and even said "I could do a week here...and I might even read a book". (This is the man who has probably read 3 or 4 books in our 30+ years together).

The property is made up of several "pods". We stayed in one with two double bedrooms upstairs and a shared kitchenette with dining table (and pool table) and lounge downstairs. The wonderful shared bathroom facilities included a double shower & a goldfish pond. There was a spacious verandah complete with grape-vine covered pergola to sit & comtemplate the world or just sip a wine!

Ian & Jen were so welcoming prior to our arrival and made it all so easy. The gardens & grounds are maintained by Ian in immaculate condition. Go and listen to the creaks & groans inside the 40 year old, 30 metre high bamboo stand; swim in the waterhole on Obi Obi creek, have a natural massage under the waterfall; bounce on the in-ground trampoline, or simply relax. This is THE place to do just that.

Just a few minutes from the township of Maleny & slightly further to Montville, but with the Maleny Cheese factory just at the top of the road, there's plenty of food options if you don't want to self-cater.

Jen & Ian were away during our stay, & we have yet to meet (next time!) but Shadow, their on-site helper, was present though we didn't need to bother her at all.

What a fabulous place to leave your cares & concerns behind & just be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
What an absolute treat to have someone love and appreciate the property as we do. Though we have yet to meet Robyn and Ray face to face, our many phone contacts have been just delightful, warm and exuberant. I'm with you Ray - great place to read a book and just be!
Really looking forward to meeting you properly next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie B
1 review
“Go ahead and book!”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

An absolute must no matter what you are after! Lots to explore, climb, walk... or just relax with idyllic spaces for meditation. The owners Ian and Jen are warm, loving and delightful and Shadow is an insightful healer... recommend a reading from Shadow and a massage from Jane during your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
It was just wonderful to have Kylie stay with us - she had such a knowledge and appreciation of the property and then made our day by bringing her beautiful kids up to enjoy it all too. Really looking forward to next time Kylie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karena R
1 review
“Absolutely Stunning Place with Amazing Hosts!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This place is such a dream,I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a relaxing time away! You wont be dissapointed!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
We just loved having Karena, Jeffrey and Kaleesha staying and celebrating birthdays at Runaway. Beautiful, warm hearted friendly family. Come back!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma G
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We were attracted to the promise of something different”
Reviewed 25 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

It's well located between Montville and Maleny so there is plenty to do but you could just as happily do nothing. It's a beautiful setting amongst trees and rocks and a wonderful creek. Think massages,yoga, bushwalks and even psychic readings. Such a lovely change from impersonal hotels.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2016
We loved having Emma, Andrew and April stay. Absolutely delightful folk with a real zest for life. These guys really made the most of their stay and enjoyed exploring the creek and treasure hunt. We really look forward to a return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Run towards this stunning & delightful experience”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Run towards this!!!

If you are contemplating this stunning part of the world I can think of no better place to explore it from than this incredible area in amongst the Beechwoods by the beautiful Obi Obi creek.
There is something truly special about what Jen and Ian have created here and are so willing to share with such generosity.  Runaway To Maleny is one of the most divine experiences I have had in all my years of traveling around the globe.
Their passion for life, stunningly designed property, and enthusiasm to share literally brought me to tears of joy. A sanctuary of peace, harmony, laughter and love and a celebration of what is possible. Take the flying fox across to the island. Jump from initiation rock if you dare. Swim in the waterhole. Visit the Bamboo Cathedral. Listen to the birdlife. Yoga, meditation or a massage in the remarkable yoga shala. Or just be! Stunning from start to finish and I have a funny feeling we will be back…
With enormous heartfelt gratitude.. Thank you.. thank you... thank you... Jen, Ian, Shadow, Pasha and Hamish!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience, the welcome, the ease, the love
Liked least: I had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2016
What a glorious review from the most glorious couple.
Nicky and Andrew were an absolute delight to have stay. Total "livers of life". It was just so wonderful to watch them revelling in the experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing