We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jabiru Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Jackaroo Motel(Mareeba)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atherton Motel(Atherton)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kookaburra Lodge Motel(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House Retreat(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Summit Hideaway(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
93
23
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
23
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmareeba wetlandsdeluxe tentoverlooking the lagoonall inclusive packageeco tentafrican safarinight soundsfull size bedsother gueststoilet and showerbird watchersbeautiful home cookedstayed two nightsbarramundilocal wildlifecattle farmspent one night
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Fabulous location in the 'wetlands', very friendly and helpful staff. We slept in a 'tent' which was a very special experience. Since we are used to camping in France the Jabiru tents are extremely luxurious. Very good beds, good ventilation and even a small fridge :-). We had a visit of a spider (at least 10 cm) which was rather scary. However with the help of our friendly neighbour ("ah you Dutchies....) the spider was chased away and we could go to sleep (a bit anxious of course). We were woken by the sound of an Emu which was walking around our tent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

What a lovely authentic experience amongst the beautiful lush wetlands. We found the staff to be very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The food was great, and they were so flexible with our vegan requirements. The lodges was simple but suited the environment and the experience perfectly. Can't fault anything really - it was so interesting hearing their stories and learning about the local fauna and flora. Shall definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed at the Jabiru Safari Lodge in early December and it was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted to experience Far North Queensland and the Daintree and also have some quiet time to unwind. The Lodge is very quiet and visitors are able to take self-guided walks around the wetlands, as well as tours. There was lots of beautiful wildlife and there are also lots of interesting sights close by, which I eagerly explored. The staff are wonderful, helpful and very respectful of visitors' wishes, whilst also being very accommodating of their guests' needs. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We visited the place during the day to do some bird watching and we liked it so much that we came back the next day to take the "sunset safari" and stay a night in one of the "eco" tents. We enjoyed it tremendously: we saw a lot of wildlife and many different species of birds. Our guide, Greg, told us a lot about the local eco system and provided interesting information about the animals. We immediately felt at home thanks to the very warm welcome of the staff.
One should, however, remember that this is a nature conservation area and that the term "lodge" should not automatically be equated with a high level of luxury, sophistication, or service: our tent was very comfortable, but it remained a tent (with a perfectly functional adjoining bathroom), but without air conditioning or a fridge. The food (dinner, breakfast) was perfectly adequate, but we're not talking world class gastronomy or even about a huge choice of options here. One should remember that Jabiru is rather isolated and that the closest town, Mareeba, is not really a throbbing metropolis: one's expectations for a stay this far from "civilization" should thus remain relatively modest, "lodge" and "deluxe" notwithstanding.
All in all, we had a great experience and we would recommend Jabiru without reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emile_Grom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to focus on birding in and around the lodge. The birding was different from the nearby rainforest locations ... and excellent. The lake makes a beautiful setting for meals.
The accommodation was fixed, rigid tents and very pleasant. It was generous in size with all amenities. The bed was very comfortable. The patio was a nice feature.
Greg took us on a tour to see the Cranes and also to his home to see a working farm – very interesting.
The evening meal was delicious, made from fresh ingredients.
All in the all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBandUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews