We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat and trendy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves Maroochy River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We first walked into the unit and thought it was so nice and trendy and well equiped. It did sort of stop there. Unfortunately, it rained the whole time, and couldn't really be on the verahdah because the tiles had an inch of water over it the whole time because the drain holes where in the wrong place. Then the people next door were smoking on their balcony which in turn wafted into ours.
Close the doors I hear you say. Well we would but the air con did not work and Helen made no attempt to get it fixed for the weekend we were there. So we had to leave the door open. Of course our bedroom was at the back and was very hot so the window had to be left open which of course let ALL the noise in all night.
We were not offered a fan or even another room. The noise from the next door unit went all night till 2am.

I realise that is could have been anywhere, but we were not offered a fan or another room, so we were very disappointed because we went for a quiet relaxing weekend and never got it at all. An apology or a refund would have been nice.
No we will not be going there again. Looks can be deceiving.

Room Tip: Don;t sleep near the lifts, and the wall between the rooms are not sound proof enough. The air con u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Very nice, clean apartment. Great views over the river and to the ocean. Staff were friendly and helpful. It felt safe and welcoming. I used the pontoon to fish and launch my kayak - both were enjoyable. Helen let me keep the kayak in a vacant parking spot rather than having to leave it on the car. Shopping centre over the road, and lots of varied cafes, taverns and restaurants near by. The bed was softer than I'd like, but hey, it was still fine. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Waves is amazing! We have stayed here a number of times and I never get tired of the view and serenity of the place. We have stayed with friends,family and as a couple. Fabulous location for dining, food, Sunshine plaza, shopping, beaches and great for walking and riding. Love sitting on the balcony and watching the wildlife and listening to the sound of the waves. The stress just disappears as you walk through the door.
Helen and Peter are always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You don't have to be that high up to enjoy the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Waves is without doubt the best location in Maroochy. Have stayed there with family numerours timesand will keep returning! the view is breathtaking,the location suitable for young and old.The shops are asy to acess.the beaches a short walk. The staff and Mangement are wonderful. It simply cant be beaten!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rod s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and family have all stayed at Waves in different apartments at different times. Our stay is always the same. From the moment we walk into our apartment and look out over the maroochy river bar, we start to feel the tension ease and slowly slip away.That view is spectacular and seductive. You can sit on the balcony and watch the activity on the river for ages. Very modern, close to restaurants, a supermarket, shops, parks and walkways, and the beach itself, there is no better spot just to relax. Helen in reception is always helpful, and we will continue to return to this wonderful spot on the Qld north coast whenever we get the chance.

Room Tip: The view gets better as you go up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gjsimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in a 3 bedroom apartment (305). My boyfriend and I were there with my parents and decided a 3 bedder would have more space and it did. Nice and roomy and a great sized balcony with my mum just sitting out there taking in the view as much as possible. Well equipped for a long stay with a good kitchen and lots of food storage space. Had some issues with the oven as the dials are no longer readable but was super hot. Also had some difficulty with the hot plate as it seemed to take ages to boil the water. Bathrooms are lovely and big and the spa bath was nice. Only problem is that my mother wasn't able to use it as it was too hard to step in and out of due to her hip so she just used the shower in the master ensuite. Well positioned near some good restaurants. We ate at duporth tavern nearby which had some good deals and mulu char a south African restaurant which was a lovely treat. Woolworths and a bws is right across the road in a very old and sad shopping mall but was convenient. Sunshine plaza is only a 5 min walk with lots of restaurants, movies and every shop you'd need. It is a 15 minute walk to the surf beach but we saw many families with kids swimming in the river off the esplanade. We hired a kayak from swan hire but it was a 5 min drive away and since waves has its own jetty it would be great if you could hire them from there direct. The pool and spa were both warm and clean and the kids were loving it! What made our stay was the awesome view and the solitude. We did think it would be great if waves supplied wifi for free since there are no cafes that offer it right nearby and for the cost of the room. Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed for two nights with another couple on the 6th floor. The view was amazing. The apartment was lovely. Very clean. Nice furniture, comfortable beds and very well stocked with crockery etc in the kitchen. Lovely pool area which gets sun for most of the day and is heated to a perfect temperature. Woolies across road makes getting groceries easy. Sunshine Plaza a very easy/short walk. Managers very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Marjolein P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 12 in Maroochydore
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Maroochydore
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
M1 Resort
M1 Resort
#5 of 12 in Maroochydore
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra on the Pacific
Alexandra on the Pacific
#6 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Maroochy River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Maroochy River

Address: Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland 36-38 Duporth Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range: £165 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waves Maroochy River 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Maroochy River is located right on the river mouth opposite the Ocean Street dining precinct. As Waves Maroochy River is one of the closest resorts to Sunshine Plaza and with the Big Top Market Fresh directly across the road, you really will be spoilt for options when it comes to shopping or dining out. Access to the river is via our own private jetty or if the beach is more your thing, a short stroll along the river through Cotton Tree Park will find you at our very own Maroochydore Beach. Our complex of 1,2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained self-catered apartments is complete with a resort style heated pool, spa and separate kids wading pool. Selected ground floor and penthouse apartments also offer their own private Jacuzzi and outdoor kitchen complete with gas bbq. An onsite gymnasium is also available to all our guests. Parking is provided in our secure underground basement with security controlled lift access to each level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Waves Maroochy River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing