We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEDDING WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Maroochy River
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WEDDING WEEKEND”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The unit was amazing. It was so clean and well provisioned. We were able to invite other people over and had enough cutlery and dishes provided. The view absolutely sublime. Next time we go to Maroochydore, we hope to stay at Waves Maroochy again. Everything was so easily accessible. Everyone in the complex was so friendly, staff and other guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekender26042013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
74
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

They have very clean and nice room. Excellent and friendly staff services when Assistance needed. Handy location and good ocean view. It's our second time stay here when visiting Sunshine Coast. Highly recommended to my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaWhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Marys, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The last time I visited the sunshine coast was in 1987- Then I stayed at the Beach Front Towers- Which now is boarded up from top to bottom, no doubt undergoing a well needed refurbishment.
Waves on the other hand needs no refurb. Maybe a little maintenance here and there - Suppose as I work as a contractor undertaking building and garden maintenance at a resort on the East Coast of Tassie, I pay more attention to this type of detail. This resort is VERY centrally located to the main shopping centres of the ‘Big Top’ (scheduled for an update soon) & 1 more block away is the Sun Shine Plaza.
Upon first entering the room there was a damp smell - maybe due to the room been closed for some time or a damp A/C duct? Once the apartment doors were opened & the AC unit switched on this was over come. The kitchen was well appointed with Smeg appliances & a good supply of cutlery, crockery & everything else you could need to make your stay enjoyable.
The main unsuit is well fitted but a bit narrow- & the floor grouting could do with a scrub- on the other side of the wall is a huge robe area – to me this could have of been halved and made for a more usable main bathroom.
The apartment was clean apart from a coffee plunger that had not been emptied nor cleaned and had grown a substantial amount of white mould. This was shown to the young lady on checkout – and I stated that “maybe the housemaids need to be a bit more thorough as this needs cleaning” – her response “yes it does”--- no apology- sorry- ???
I was leaving Maroochydore for about a week to stay with friends and then returning for 3 nights prior to flying home- I asked the same person on check out what was their ‘best price for a return guest’ and unfortunately I got the same old off the list price- so did not return. As I works in this industry I find it hard to understand why they would rather lose a customer than negotiate – especially when the car park is only a third full. I do appreciate that every business has their bottom price- but was a bit sadden to have to choose somewhere else to stay due to their lack of negotiation.
As stated great location- very nice place – but one lost guest!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasieast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,031 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

From the moment you arrive the welcome is great. The building is modern with sercure undercover park included. We were on Level 9 facing the ocean. The view is fantastic and apartment very well oppointed. Big kitchen with everything you need to eat in and cook. Quality appliances and cockery. Kitchen was better than our place.
The location is an easy walk to the big shopping center and many awesome resaurants like Beach House and Arica.
Beds are comfortable which is important. Very private balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have stayed at Waves many times over the past five years. We love the view over the river, the pelicans flying by and the boats canoeing past. The rooms are well fitted out and anything you really need on holidays is available. Obviously different rooms have different views and features but all the ones we've stayed at have equivalent standards. It is so convenient to Woolworths across the road for groceries and lots of cafes and restaurants. In fact if all you wanted to do is chill out, you wouldn't even need your car. Another plus of these units is the decent car-parks unlike some where you can't even park a small car. Another feature we like is that being set back from the road it is blissfully immune to the Duporth Ave traffic. The only noise hazard we've experienced is the super-loud water aerobics class at the public pool some hundreds of metres away (Why do they need the music that loud?). Obviously that's nothing to do with Waves. We often invite friends to visit for a meal while we're there and we've had some very relaxed evenings with one or two friends -everyone who visits thinks the units are great.

Room Tip: Obviously the higher the floor the better the view and we think the rooms on the northern side have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacasperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I have stayed here on a family holiday on 2 occasions in a 2brm and 3brm apartment and it is excellent. The 3 brm was on the ground floor and whilst it still has views overlooking the Maroochydore River and the mouth to the ocean the higher floors naturally have a far superior view. The 3brm on the ground floor had an L-shaped court yard area with a BBQ and spa which is an extra cost for the use. However, the spa was not working and the explanation as to why was a little contradictory, not sure what the real reason was??. Anyway the unit itself is extremely spacious and easily accommodates 6 adults and 1 child. The kitchen is well equipped and the proximity across the road to the Woolworths in the Big Top (very run down) is handy. There is 1 car space for guest parking and other than that parking is on the street which is problematic because it is only for 2 hours so beware you will have to park a distance away to get way form the parking restrictions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We first walked into the unit and thought it was so nice and trendy and well equiped. It did sort of stop there. Unfortunately, it rained the whole time, and couldn't really be on the verahdah because the tiles had an inch of water over it the whole time because the drain holes where in the wrong place. Then the people next door were smoking on their balcony which in turn wafted into ours.
Close the doors I hear you say. Well we would but the air con did not work and Helen made no attempt to get it fixed for the weekend we were there. So we had to leave the door open. Of course our bedroom was at the back and was very hot so the window had to be left open which of course let ALL the noise in all night.
We were not offered a fan or even another room. The noise from the next door unit went all night till 2am.

I realise that is could have been anywhere, but we were not offered a fan or another room, so we were very disappointed because we went for a quiet relaxing weekend and never got it at all. An apology or a refund would have been nice.
No we will not be going there again. Looks can be deceiving.

Room Tip: Don;t sleep near the lifts, and the wall between the rooms are not sound proof enough. The air con u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esther i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Maroochydore
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M1 Resort
M1 Resort
#5 of 13 in Maroochydore
100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Aqua Vista Resort
Aqua Vista Resort
#1 of 43 in Maroochydore
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Maroochy River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Maroochy River

Property: Waves Maroochy River
Address: Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland 36-38 Duporth Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waves Maroochy River 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Maroochy River is located right on the river mouth opposite the new Ocean Street dining precinct. As Waves Maroochy River is one of the closest resorts to Sunshine Plaza and with the new Big Top Market Fresh directly across the road, you will be spoilt for options when it comes to shopping or dining out. Access to the river is via our own private jetty or if the beach is more your thing, a short stroll along the river through Cotton Tree Park will find you at our very own Maroochydore Beach. Our complex of 1,2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained self-catered apartments is complete with a resort style heated pool, spa and separate kids wading pool. Selected ground floor and penthouse apartments also offer their own private Jacuzzi and outdoor kitchen complete with gas bbq. An onsite gymnasium is also available to all our guests. Parking is provided in our secure underground basement with security controlled lift access to each level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waves Maroochy River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing