We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves Maroochy River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Apartment was very nice. Awesome views from the balcony. The bed in the master bedroom was something to be desired and not very comfortable at all.

Overall it was a good stay and the managers are very friendly and willing to help out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This apartment complex has the most amazing views which can be seen from the bedroom and living room/ kitchen. The huge balcony, beautifully appointed rooms, pool, BBQ area and gym add to the excellent experience. There is a library of used books as well as DVD's to borrow. The location is central, close to the soon to be redeveloped Big top shopping centre. The huge Maroochydoore river shopping/ eating precinct is within easy walking distance. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in the penthouse and it is very nice and the roof top spa and bbq area is excellent.
The kitchen is very well equiped and a good size to self cater for all meals, the bedrooms are adequate. Views are excellent with uninterupted views from most of the apartment. One of the only things i can fault the penthouse on is the outdoor furrniure on the roof is quiet weathered and dated otherwise very hard to find something wrong..
It is in a perfect location close to the river, beach and shops which are right across the road.
Highly recommend if looking for somewhere to stay in Maroochydore even if it is not the penthouse apartment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from a week at Waves Maroochy River and it was fantastic. The apartment was beautiful, clean, fabulous views and quiet. There a few really good restaurants close by and we'd highly recommend Mikki's for the best coffee we've had and really great meals at an excellent price. The views from the apartment were excellent, we could even see the whales out at sea! We would highly recommend this place to anyone who is traveling to the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have to admit we were a little disappointed with our accommodation at The Waves.

The complex was very well managed and our booking was efficiently dealt with from first enquiries, to booking and then to check-in. Reception also has a large collection of books and DVDs which can be borrowed which is very useful. Every floor had a rubbish shute and a recycling bin.

We stayed on the 10th floor in a penthouse apartment, so we had a rooftop area reached by a metal spiral staircase outside the front door. All apartments face east so they get excellent morning sun but balconies lose sun after lunch which makes the apartments dull and cold in winter. No doubt just what is needed in the summer months. We were pleased we had the roof-top to get some further hours of sunlight.

The apartment had wonderful views of the estuary, Cotton Tree to the south and all the way to the Glasshouse Mountains to the north.

It was mainly the design of the apartment that disappointed us. It was long and narrow and seemed to lack natural light. The air conditioning worked well – both to cool and heat (needed in winter) but it would have been difficult to properly ventilate the apartment without it.

The apartment was spotlessly clean. Everything worked although we didn’t use the stove as we ate out every night. But there seemed to be plenty of kitchen equipment for people who wished to cook.

The apartment itself looked somewhat dated with brown formica covering the kitchen doors. And I have to say that the lounge and dining furniture was very uncomfortable – but this may vary in other apartments. The beds were fine and we slept well.

The complex is set back from Duporth Avenue so we noticed no traffic noise. It was also within easy walking distance of a good range of restaurants.

We enjoyed our stay but I guess we are used to more spacious apartments elsewhere on the Sunshine Coast with a more open feeling. Because of this we did not feel it was good value for money, despite the fact that we took advantage of the special August rate for penthouses.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nzlilibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Great place, v friendly staff. 5 mins walk to park, coffee shops and cafes. Bit quiet but it was winter after all, secure underground parking, kids loved it. Good base to explore the sunshine coast from.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Staying at Waves at present and having a peaceful relaxing time. Check in was easy, both Helen and Tynielle very friendly at reception. Location is absolute waterfront with the Maroochy River lapping at our doorstep. We have stayed at Maroochydore many times but Waves is the best we've found. Apartment is slightly older than expected with a few loose fittings here and there and a few cracked tiles in the bathroom but nothing that can't be overlooked. Lots of restaurants in the surrounding streets, but if the nightlife is what you're after Mooloolaba may be a better choice. I expect the Big Top shopping centre is soon due for redevelopment and if this were to happen the area would benefit tremendously. A touch on the expensive side but would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms on all levels would be fine as all rooms are identical and rooms are locked off depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tevman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 12 in Maroochydore
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Alexandra on the Pacific
Alexandra on the Pacific
#6 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Maroochydore
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
M1 Resort
M1 Resort
#5 of 12 in Maroochydore
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Maroochy River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Maroochy River

Address: Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland 36-38 Duporth Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range: £163 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waves Maroochy River 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Maroochy River is located right on the river mouth opposite the Ocean Street dining precinct. As Waves Maroochy River is one of the closest resorts to Sunshine Plaza and with the Big Top Market Fresh directly across the road, you really will be spoilt for options when it comes to shopping or dining out. Access to the river is via our own private jetty or if the beach is more your thing, a short stroll along the river through Cotton Tree Park will find you at our very own Maroochydore Beach. Our complex of 1,2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained self-catered apartments is complete with a resort style heated pool, spa and separate kids wading pool. Selected ground floor and penthouse apartments also offer their own private Jacuzzi and outdoor kitchen complete with gas bbq. An onsite gymnasium is also available to all our guests. Parking is provided in our secure underground basement with security controlled lift access to each level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waves Maroochy River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing