We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could want at catalina resorts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Resort
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All you could want at catalina resorts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Check-in was extremely easy with friendly reception staff and great facilities to.Like...
. 2x heated poos
.Games room
Etc. We were very happy with our apartment in catalina II, and an amazing 12th floor ocean view. We were staying in a 3 bed apt so we got views front an back. Loved the cotton tree Sunday market. The location is very handy with so many things near by. Totally advise this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaManagers, General Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Vsdvadbadgbdre
Maryborough – Australia

‘All you could want at Catalina Resorts’…..Your review caption is wonderful and has potential to be incorporated as one of our future marketing tools! I trust that you would be okay with this if the opportunity presents itself. Your comments and review are greatly appreciated and it is always delightful to receive such favourable reviews and comments from our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Catalina Resort; it was indeed our pleasure to be your hosts during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit the Sunshine Coast. Wishing you safe and happy travels for the future. The Catalina Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    33
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
55
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent 10 days here and stayed in Catalina II in a 3 bedroom apartment with ocean views. From the time we arrived, we were impressed both with the property and the staff. Our apartment was on the 12th floor and had wonderful views of the ocean. The main bedroom was comfortable and had a walk in robe with a size able ensuite that included a spa bath. The other two bedrooms were a decent size and both had single beds. Each bedroom and the lounge room are air-conditioned, although with the lovely sea breezes we didn't need it.

The kitchen is smallish, but has everything you need, including a full size refrigerator, hot plates and oven. The kitchen was fully stocked as far as cooking utensils and crockery.

We had 4 teenage boys and there was plenty to keep them occupied. From the games room, two swimming pools and spa to the tennis court in the complex as well as the surf beach a couple of minutes walk away. For the adults, there's the small shopping area of Cotton Tree 5 mins walk away. The main street of Maroochydore and Sunshine plaza are only 5 mins drive. There are sone lovely restaurants just outside the door too.

All the staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Each apartment comes with a reserved secure parking spot. The unit we had came with a tandem spot and we were able to fit both cars in.

We all enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaManagers, General Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Jo C
Brisbane

Thank you for a lovely review and comments about the resort and staff, very much appreciated.,We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy the wonderful views from the apartment. From your comments it sounds as though you had a wonderful time and managed to experience many of the local spots and facilities on offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best regards from the Catalina Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I booked 7 x ocean view rooms in Catalina 2: 3x 3 bedrooms and 4 x 2 bedrooms, on floors 7,8,9 and 10. Every room was spectacular, the 180 degree views of Maroochydore beach were amazing, fully equipped kitchens, laundry, decent sized bedrooms and bathrooms. The children loved the pool area and easy access to the beach. We made use of the BBQ area for a group dinner. Easy to get to the local supermarkets and malls. Secure parking for each apartment.

We actually stayed at the Novotel Twin Waters for our wedding night. We were originally looking to book the Novotel as our guest accommodation but decided on Catalina instead. Having stayed at both venues, I'm so glad we chose Catalina.

Gavin and the team were all very lovely and accommodating. Our guests really enjoyed themselves and were all happy to call Catalina Resort home for 5 nights.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Floors 7 and above have awesome views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrZbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaManagers, General Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear CrZbean
England

Thank you for taking the time to place your review and comments on your recent stay with us here at Catalina Resort. On behalf of the team, It was indeed our pleasure to host your group for the wedding and we were delighted that all went well for the big day! Thank you also for the wonderful comments about the team and property, please be assured that these have been well received and graciously appreciated. Plus we also agree with you about the views, as do many of our repeat guests. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Catalina Resort and we hope that you are able to return again in the future. Wishing you the very best! The Catalina Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Catalina Resort is a small, welcoming resort with 2 beach-side multilevel apartment buildings virtually right on the water just roadside of the Maroochy Surf Club with its on duty Life Guards very visible during swimming hours - great for the kids' safety.

Catalina 1 is the older of the two building but generally has bigger apartments than Catalina 2 but ask for one of the "superior" apartments which have been more recently refurbished and have airconditioning. The one we stayed in was a mid level 3 bedroom, two bathroom apartment with just magnificent views of the South Pacific; the sound of the rolling sea waves was so relaxing.

Room Tip: Pay marginally more for a bigger superior room with ocean views and morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingMac49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just recently stayed at the Catalina Resort in Catalina Tower 2 and really enjoyed our stay. Location of the resort is great close to everything that we needed, even had a private walk way to the beach from the resort pool area. We had a lovely comfortable 3 bedroom apartment located on the 9th Floor so had fantastic ocean views. Apartment was really clean and comfortable and was quiet with free secure undercover car parking. Reception staff were friendly and helpful even told us about the Sunday street market which we enjoyed. Look forward to returning again when we travel to the Sunshine Coast. Loved our stay thank you.

Room Tip: Apartments above the 6th level all have ocean views, lower levels have garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have just returned from a week in Catalina II and had a great time. Our unit was on level 8 and was exactly what we required. We had a fantastic view of the ocean, beach and ships coming and going. We went with elderly parents and it was just right for them - walk in shower next to their bedroom. Their only gripe was the windows could only be opened about 2 inches so got a little warm on a couple of nights but all else was perfect for them. We had never stayed here before so were pleasantly surprised with the closeness to the surf club, beach and the Cotton Tree markets on Sunday.

All in all we had a great time, the pool and spa was very enjoyable too.

Room Tip: Two bedroom on 8th floor was perfect. View very good and very quiet. Aromas from surf club not bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our family has stayed in both Catalina 1 & 2 over the last 10 years. We have always been very happy with this resort especially with Catalina 1 where we found the rooms a little bigger. However, we have just returned after a 5 night stay and were a little disappointed for the first time. The room that we asked for wasn't available for rent which we accepted but the room we got needed some TLC. Needed to report malfunctioning light, plus we only had a couple of grubby chairs on the balcony plus there was no outside table just a mismatched collection of chairs. Also the security gate that didn't always close. Overall, it just seems that it's been a while since any money has been spent on it (we paid a premium price by the way cos of the holiday period). A couple of other 'little' things that were really a maintenance/ upkeep issue -we are rethinking about coming back which is disappointing for us as we've loved it every other time. Overall, our experience was a little average compared to our previous visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrissieGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maroochydore hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyle On The Park
Argyle On The Park
#9 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Key Largo Holiday Apartments
Key Largo Holiday Apartments
#8 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach on Sixth
Beach on Sixth
#10 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elouera Tower
Elouera Tower
#6 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rovera Apartments Cotton Tree
Rovera Apartments Cotton Tree
#5 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Resort

Property: Catalina Resort
Address: Catalina Resort 47 Sixth Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the Maroochydore Beach on the Sunshine Coast, Australia, Catalina Resort holiday apartments offer stylishly appointed and fully self-contained, serviced, one, two and three bed-roomed apartments as well as studio apartments. All apartments except the studios have spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing