We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely haven by the river”

River Sands Holiday Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Sands Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I came here while I was looking for accommodation on the Sunshine Coast and was so pleasantly surprised.
Alexis and Ian are your wonderful hosts, simple and friendly, down to earth and no nonsense, efficient and up to scratch with all your needs. Great people, like you and me, just what you need!
The property is slightly off the road with nice views over the river, very handy location near all the major shops and cafes in Maroochydore.
The units are clean, excellently furnished, very clean. Mine was nr 6, with a balcony, all the trimmings are in the bathroom and the kitchen.
A very comfortable and decently priced accommodation for people on holidays are on work in the area.
Please come, enjoy and you won't be disappointed!
Mariana Amar

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

These are self contained units. My wife and I stayed at the property for a couple of days thank goodness only to sleep.
Upon arrival the reception was very friendly and helpful; however once we entered the room we noticed a very foul smell. At the time we took no notice of it and opened up the windows and doors to let the breeze through while we went out to dinner.
On our return to the room we noticed the smell was more dominant and soon discovered that the carpet in the bedroom was soaking wet. After speaking to reception about this all they provided was a towel to place on the floor, at no time did they even make the effort to see how bad it was.
The thought had crossed our mind to look for alternate accommodation but as we had prepaid we did not want to lose our money. The night went on with the foul smell and as we sat on the uncomfortable couch watching a bit of TV before bed we noticed that there did not appear to be any fire alarms in the room either, remembering these are self contained units where you are able to cook.
On our second night the smell was getting worse but we endured one more night as we were leaving early the following day.
Once more a very restless night with the smell and an extremely uncomfortable bed.
On the way home we did receive a call from reception with an apology claiming they had no idea how bad the carpet and the smell was, if they had been interested when we first complained about the stench, they would have realised how bad it was. There was no real remorse in the conversation and a half hearted apology.
The lack of customer service is our biggest disappointment, they had our money (up front paid two months prior) and to hell with our comfort.
I would think twice before booking there and make sure you don't expect too much from the staff.
I will definitely not be returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe02206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were renovating our home and needed a place to stay whilst it was being done up. We stayed 10 days and it was perfect for me as I could cook meals or make sandwiches and bring them over to the house for my husband and his friends. It was a small one bedroom unit but it served it's purpose fine. The only thing that I would have preferred was if the laundry was in the unit and not around the corner of the building. I found it a chore to climb up and down with the laundry load and decided to do hand wash whenever I could and hang them out to dry on the balcony. We had river views as a bonus. Please also note that the road noise can get really loud at times...

Room Tip: Back units are quieter from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

A bit of a walk to restaurants & the shops but it is a pleasant walk alongside the river. Had a small balcony overlooking the river & glasshouse mountains which was fantastic at sunset. Ignore the road outside! Well equiped for this type of property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esperanto-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maroochydore hotels
2.6 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maroochy River Motel
Maroochy River Motel
#12 of 13 in Maroochydore
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Maroochy
Gateway Lifestyle Maroochy
#23 of 44 in Maroochydore
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wunpalm Motel & Holiday Cabins
Wunpalm Motel & Holiday Cabins
#9 of 13 in Maroochydore
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows
2.6 mi away
Maroochydore Beach Motel
Maroochydore Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Maroochydore
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: 271 Bradman Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Sands Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing