We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Cala Luna Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 211 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: 1st floor -Beachfront Towers Osvaldo and Rita welcome you to Cala Luna meaning Moon Bay. We want to share with you our joint families' regional cooking. Osvaldo from the Island of Sardegna and Rita's family from Veneto and Friuli. We look forward to making your evening with us an enjoyable one. Grazie e Buon Appetito
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The food is always gorgeous just like the lady who owns it. It's mostly a lively restaurant, guests are made to feel at home, meals are a good size, wines to savour and to quaff!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank leesinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    53
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Take away, average”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying close by so we ordered a couple of take away pizzas. Small size is very small. The seafood pizza didn't seem to be made using fresh ingredients. It was an average pizza. Overall experience wasn't great.

Helpful?
Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The food and the service at this restaurant hasn't changed in years - thank goodness because it is great. Rita and Osvaldo have a good atmosphere here and the food is always good. We enjoy our time when we are here. The servings are large and there is always a few specials on the night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
“Great food; great service; great atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Cala Luna is one of our favourite restaurants on the Sunshine Coast. The food is genuine Italian, very well cooked and presented. The waitresses are very attentive, friendly and well supervised by Rita. Rita and her team create a welcoming atmosphere that invites you to return again and again.
Frank P

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Im a local and had no idea this place was here. The signage and entrance is not impressive. Dont let that turn you away. The food and staff are the impressive part of the experience. The restaurant has a quaint italian feel. Rita is a wonderful hostess who makes you feel welcome and adds to the enjoyment of the evening. Her wait staff were well trained and gave just the right amount of attention to the table.
The food was very tasty and seemed more authentic that your average italian restaurant. Rita gave us the opportunity to taste the wine. We had a nice italian wine which was very enjoyable. Its so rare these days to be offered a taste.
The other nice thing was that we were able to watch the ships and boats go by. It overlooks the beach so the views are nice.
The prices weren't expensive either.
Overall it was a wonderful experience. Will definitely be going back and bringing friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taragoviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cala Luna Italian Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Cala Luna Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing