We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and local”

Yabbi's Seafood & Steak Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 211 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: NEW MENU!! REVAMPED!! We have an exciting array of dishes for all tastes. Child Friendly. Delicious Food. Table Service. Lunch Specials every Day. GF and Vegetarian Meals Available. BYO Wine only (corkage applies) Fully Licensed. Bring in the Family or an intimate dinner for two.....
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a beautiful fresh lunch menu of tasty fresh whitting and flavorsome salad. It was a delight to dine in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere in the outdoor dinning area. A must to visit I recommend. Staff are nice and its a very clean and welcoming environment.

Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Yabbi's Seafood & Steak Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a wonderful menu!! Excellent value for money. The seafood platter for one had every kind of seafood you can imagine and for only 40 dollars, the eye Filey del mar ( eye fillet with seafood) was soooo tender. Service was impeccable. Thank you yabbis for a wonderful evening, everyone should try this little restaurant in the middle of cotton tree!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dino256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Disappointing lunch last weekend, especially when a number of our guests had driven 200+ km to attend.
Booking was made for 12.00 mid day - to beat the ordering rush.
All in attendance, menus to peruse, everyone keen to start with oysters - what oysters? Isn't this a seafood restaurant?
Out of oysters at mid day? Doesn't the Mooloolaba seafood suppliers, some 5 km down the road, supply 7 days per week?
Next the Tiger prawn signature dish - yum!
3 tasteless prawns on a salad of shaved carrot and cucumber skins.$27??
You'll get me once - but never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annieant34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yabbis, Owner at Yabbi's Seafood & Steak Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thankyou for your critique annieant34. As one of the owners who works in the restaurant and was your tables' waitress on this specific day, I must say your comment on TripAdvisor surprises me. Our seafood suppliers are only open until midday on Saturdays, not 7 days per week. Should we wish to have more oysters after this we must obtain them from a local Supermarket chain and we would rather not as we prefer to serve fresh oysters. We had 15 dozen ordered and delivered fresh Saturday morning. Our Prawns are also fresh off the Mooloolaba trawlers and we have never had comments about them being anything but tasty. Looking at the Lunch menu, the ONLY meals over $20 are a dozen oysters or the eye fillet steak, no salads are $27. Your table ordered some of the main meals and your table was charged accordingly for entree size and main size meals, again, none of these meals were above $20. Each meals' ingredients are clearly stated underneath the name of the meal and all of our fresh salads consist of carrot ribbons, cucumber ribbons, tomato, lettuce and red onion as the base, which is generally what most salads consist of. After each table has started their meals and just as they are finishing up and the wait staff are clearing plates we ALWAYS go to the table asking if the meals are delicious and did everyone enjoy, thus giving 2 opportunities to raise any issues should there be any, which did not happen during your visit. We cannot fix a potential problem if we do not know the issue, we are not mindreaders. The rest of your table thoroughly enjoyed their meal and thanked us several times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We dined on a Saturday night and the restaurant was extremely busy. The service was "hit and miss" as we were neglected for periods and then had multiple offers of service within a short time frame. My companions recommended the scallop and chorizo entree which was very tasty, but cold, by the time it reached our table. We also ordered the seafood chowder which was very disappointing. There were no pieces of whole seafood to be seen, just small flakes of fish and it was a pea green in colour suggesting it may have been a pea soup in another life! The pasta and steak dishes of my companions looked much more appetising. We ordered a dessert to share, the creme brulee but, unfortunately, the custard was grainy as was the jelly that accompanied the dish. It read wonderfully on the menu but, again, didn't measure up. Sorry, didn't reach our expectations of our friend's recommendations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yabbis, Owner at Yabbi's Seafood & Steak Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thankyou TracyW for your critique of our business. If I may point a few matters out that may help you put this to rest....... we make 50 litres of Seafood Chowder each week. It contains Barramundi, Calamari, clams, mussels and veges. If you look up seafood chowder there are over 100 recipe variations. You are the first to ever say they did not enjoy it. The colour is because of the FRESH mussels in there, any dish with mussels blitzed in will turn a slight green colour. We do not and have never sold pea soup. The scallops are pan seared, therefor still a touch cold in the middle. The chef is ADAMANT that the meals be taken to tables immediately so as food does not get cold, this would have been no different on Saturday evening. That particular Saturday evening we were short staffed and did our very best for service, we are only human after all. We do hope this information will encourage you to come again, perhaps on a night not as busy so we may give your party the full attention you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Went on a Wednesday evening in July, so not very busy. one waitress who was efficient and friendly. Food was very good - lamb rump and crispy skin salmon, - couldn't fault really. Not an extensive wine list but ok, - we had an Italian pinot grigio for $38 which was excellent. Shared a dessert of profiteroles, also very good. At $110, fairly good value and a nice ambiance. We would definitely go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yabbi's Seafood & Steak Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Yabbi's Seafood & Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing