We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely modern clean fresh hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Maroochydore
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely modern clean fresh hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2007

A gorgeous property in a great central location. We were delighted with the fresh, clean, modern apartments with lovely decor. The pool was stunning but a little cold - not heated which is a shame.

The staff were outstanding. We had one night where the people upstairs kept dragging their chairs across the floor noisily at 11pm. I rang reception and the manager went up and talked to them. All quiet after that. Great service!!!!

We had just checked out of (escaped from) the Zanzibar in Mooloolaba (a real nightmare) and the Sebel was an amazing contrast. The Sebel more than made up for the horrors of the Zanzibar.

We will return to the Sebel next year for another lovely holiday!!! Thank you to all the lovely staff at the Sebel.

  • Liked — Clean modern decor
  • Disliked — Cold pool - brrrrrrrr
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mmbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    132
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
92
142
4
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

The hotel was just what I expected from reading other reveiws. The service was good, and location reasonable from the beach (5 mins) and the sunshine plaza (20 mins) at a easy walking pace. The only downside was the traffic outside I stayed on level 9 and traffic noise was still quite evident.
Apart from the freakishly cold temperature -1 to 14, the climate control inside was fantastic. There were enough places to eat nearby, but I found the kitchen very nice to use.

  • Liked — The apartment itself was very nice for 4 people (family)
  • Disliked — The traffic noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We were in the area & found this place.
Our room was a two bedded self contained apartment equipped to the highest standard. The decor was excellent & although we cleaned the apartment ourselves it was of the highest standard.
Our balcony overlooked Surfers Paradise & there was a great choice of eating establishments & shops.
Recommend this place 100 per cent.

  • Liked — The apartment was fully equipped & decorated to the highest standard. The view freom the balcony was excellent.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Born4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

The hotel itself & the apartment that we stayed in were excellent.

The common parts of the hotel i.e. pools, roof terrace, hot tubs & reception were all in excellent order and the apartment itself was well above our expectations and better than anything else we stayed in during our holiday. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 living spaces and a large balcony with excellent sea views so all in a huge space & brilliant value for money.

The only thing that lets this hotel down slightly is its location, it is not central in Maroochydore and is on a fairly busy road although the road noise wasn't a major problem. On the plus side Mooloolaba is only a short drive/taxi rida away and has excellent cafes, restaurants and bars.

On the whole our stay at this hotel was a very pleasureable & relaxing experience and i would recommend it to others

  • Liked — Size & quality of the space
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Scottiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Stayed at the Sebel in early February.

The good: The rooms are brilliant, luxurious and huge. Beds were comfortable, spa bath thoroughly enjoyable, the kitchen fitted out with all the stuff you could ever need. We were upgraded to the two bedroom apartment on arrival which was a surprise and certainly welcome. The rooftop spa was completely deserted every time we went up there, mostly because the sea breeze coming off the water was moderately unpleasant. The views from the rooms are spectacular and it's a one minute walk to the beach.

The bad: Well, the traffic noise isn't as bad as I was expecting, but you do cop a fair view of an intersection. The actual location of the hotel wasn't surprising, if you do some research on the Sunshine Coast area you'd realise that Maroochydore is an inland service centre for the local region, as opposed to cafe lined tourist hub like Mooloolaba or Noosa.

Having said that, it's a very short walk to Alexandra Headland which is very pleasant indeed. The lack of being in prime real estate I would imagine also brings the price down considerably when compared to other similar hotels in more upmarket areas.

Basically, if you want a pleasant getaway and don't mind the fact that you have to walk more than a few steps from the front door of the hotel to get to the nearest cafe, pub, souvenir shop or similar, then this is a great place to stay. If you want to be immersed in all of that, then it's probably best to give it a miss.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the distance from decent shopping
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank elgarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

We found the Sebel at Maroochydore very disappointing. Knowledge of other Sebel hotels lead us to expect a high quality holiday venue. However, we will certainly not be returning.

The Sebel is essenitially quite a nice hotel badly let down by its location. Right outside the hotel is a very busy multi-lane road and an intersection. The accompanying road noise was extremely loud and intrusive (thanks also to quite a few hotted up cars going by), so that we had to have the doors closed all the time. This also meant the view to the water couldn't be properly enjoyed. (We were on floor 6 of 14).

If you're expecting a relaxed, cafe-filled location, you'll also be disappointed. Downstairs, fronting the busy road, are two cafes but also a fast-food chicken chain and next door, a multinational burger chain. There are few other gourmet restaurants or cafes in the surrounding few blocks.

There are some good points about the Sebel. The rooms are nicely appointed, in a modern design. The swimming pools are family friendly, if not massive. The hotel and rooms were clean and relatively well-cared for.

I wouldn't recommend staying here unless road noise doesn't bother you.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Spinal_fusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2006

Fantastic brand new complex. Fairly affordable price compared to similar quality hotels along the Sunshine Coast. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on a high level and the views were awesome - with a huge deck to go it was a very relaxing outlook (despite the busy traffic noise below).

Great location right across the road from the beach, and within walking distance to several restaurants (Thai was fantastic), and 2 surf clubs.The pool was a fairly small but the massive spa made up for it.

Overall very happy with our 3 night stay and will return again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
1.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.8 mi away
M1 Resort
M1 Resort
#5 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
19.0 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Maroochydore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Maroochydore

Property: The Sebel Maroochydore
Address: Sebel 20 Aerodrome Rd, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maroochydore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maroochydore
#1 Spa Hotel in Maroochydore
#2 Family Hotel in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Maroochydore 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Maroochydore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Maroochydore Hotel Maroochydore
The Sebel Hotel Maroochydore
Sebel Hotel Maroochydore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing