We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 609-just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Maroochydore
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Room 609—just perfect!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Every Easter time my husband and I explore the beaches around the Sunshine Coast. Last April, we decided to holiday in Maroochydore and checked in at the Sebel. We made our booking via booking.com and we were a bit concerned that we would get a run-of-the-hotel room. We were stoked when we finally got to our room—we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom apartment with glass panelled windows surrounding the living area! Each room, too, had its own view of the ocean! The appliances were 5-star! What we loved about this apartment hotel were the little touches that made guests feel truly welcome and well-informed. There were complementary hot cross buns and butter waiting for us; there were information materials about what businesses were open during the holiday period. For us, the Sebel is the perfect location for couples who want peace and quiet. It did not have as much shops as Mooloolala but it was walking distance to Cotton Tree, Mooloolaba Beach and Sunshine Plaza. The staff was also great—very helpful and accommodating. We'll definitely go back there next year!

Room Tip: Room 609 had the perfect view of both the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasures514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    136
    31
    20
    6
See reviews for
94
145
4
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I've used the Sebel in Maroochydore twice now for an overnight stay. Its a great location and the ocean view is awesome, The two bedroom apartment is roomy, with 2 single beds and a queen. Ensuite and separate bathroom,and a great sized balcony to enjoy of you have the time too. There is a great Thai takeaway down stairs also. Staff at receptionvery welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balijojo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Had a great few nites at The Sebel, loved it ! The apartment was just great ! Most staff where very helpful. We will be going back !

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was great for the sun all day but the air conditioner in the apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corkabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

4 of us recently stayed at the Sebel for a night while Scuba diving the HMAS. The apartment was extremely large, very well laid out and decorated nicely. The view was stunning from the 13th floor, and very quiet. The apartment had 2 bathrooms, 1 for each room, a well hidden laundry, and 2 sitting areas. The price was a little high, but as it was a last minute booking over a long weekend, it felt like a good buy. The desk staff (which is 24hrs) were very friendly and helpful. The only sad thing about this hotel was that we only got to stay in it for 1 night, and had to check out early the next morning. I can't wait to go back there and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room if possible, was actually cheaper than the alternative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormeau, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I had an amazing stay at The sebel. The apartment was spacious, with a modern elegant decor and I felt like I was so far from home. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and I look forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: All rooms where lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms here are just fantastic, I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which had a great kitchen, so much space, dining room, great balconies and really generous bedroom, with beautiful views to the ocean. It was sparkling clean when we arrived and the beds were comfy. It was a little noisy, because of the roads below. The pool area was great and it has a steam room. Staff were friendly. Good location for the Sunshine Coast to get around, a good base for exploring. It is a bit pricey, but as they say you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stay at the Sebel on average once per year for a long weekend - this time it was over the Easter break. We had a good stay as always, and will no doubt return.

The first thing to understand when you book this accommodation is that it is more of an apartment than a hotel. Yes, there is a front desk where you check in, but there is no daily room clean / service, and the services are limited. That said, we thorougly enjoyed the facilities including the pool, steam room and spa (hot tub). Just have in mind that what you are booking is more of an apartment than a hotel, and you'll be fine.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment and ocean view is definitely the way to go as you have less noise and more privacy. Apartments on pool level would have a lot more noise due to being right off the street (a very busy road with several lanes, where some cars and motorbikes speed and make quite a noise) as well as pool related noise from guests. The views to the ocean are fantastic and a definite highlight on the higher floors. Note that to get to the beach you have to cross the busy road and walk around the caravan park, but there is a traffic light where you can cross safely and it is only about a 3 minute walk to the beach - very close and handy.

The Sebel is located close to several restaurants in a busy area. There is free undercover parking in a secure underground parking garage for guests. Lifts require the room key card to operate, also to get into the pool area you need your key card, which is good as it means only genuine guests can use the facilities. They provide pool towels, which is also a great space saver when you don't have to pack those.

The Sebel is well suited to couples, and I personally woudn't say it is a family oriented place. There is a tiny childrens' pool but when we were there the kids jumped into the spa (and some of them being quite ill mannered with snorkeling gear, kicking water in everyone's faces, jumping in and splashing water and using the hot tub like a pool - not on and very rude). So parents, if you plan to take your children here please supervise them and ensure that they don't disrupt other guests' enjoyment of the hot tub - it is not a pool!

The apartments have a modern kitchen including a dishwasher, stove, oven and large fridge/ freezer combination which is really handy. There is a bbq area on the rooftop, but only 2 bbqs though so it can be hard to get a spot at the bbq sometimes. Note that the individual apartments don't have their own bbqs.

It was very enjoyable to sit on the balcony and have dinner overlooking the stunning ocean views.

Other things to be aware of is that, as mentioned, the apartments are on a busy road so there will be some traffic noise, the blinds in the main bedroom didn't quite fully block out the window, so we woke up around 7 or 8 am due to sunlight coming in, but wasn't too bad. Also, the bed in the main bedroom was a smaller double bed rather than the full Queen / King variety that is found in most hotels. Just something to be aware of. The second bedroom had 2 single beds and the great thing is that there are also 2 full bathrooms meaning that the 2 bedroom units are great if you are 2 couples travelling together as well. The main bathroom has a spa bath and shower plus toilet and two basins whereas the second bathroom only has a shower / toilet / basin. We also liked the walk in closet in the main bedroom.

Also good was the airconditioning unit (central), and the washer/ dryer which is really handy to get swim gear clean and dry really quickly.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will no doubt be back for another lazy weekend in this very comfortable and spacious accommodation. The place is well maintained with only small signs showing its age e.g. one button was missing on the dishwasher in our unit and we had some trouble with the dishwasher that didn't do a fabulous job cleaning the utensils. But nothing major, and if you are not an overly critical person trying to find fault with everything I'm sure you will have a very enjoyable time here.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go. Higher floors will have less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Expl0rergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
1.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
M1 Resort
M1 Resort
#5 of 13 in Maroochydore
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Maroochydore
112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
358 reviews
19.0 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Maroochydore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Maroochydore

Property: The Sebel Maroochydore
Address: Sebel 20 Aerodrome Rd, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maroochydore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maroochydore
#1 Spa Hotel in Maroochydore
#2 Family Hotel in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Maroochydore 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Maroochydore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Maroochydore Hotel Maroochydore
The Sebel Hotel Maroochydore
Sebel Hotel Maroochydore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing