We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I rang up on a friday for a last minute saturday booking. Even though they only had 2 night minimums available, a lovely lady called vicki asked her management and was able to help me out. We arrived on the saturday and were greeted by very friendly staff from the get go. When we got to the bungalow everything was perfect, it was neat, big enough for 2 couples, had everything that was promised including working air conditioning. Upon checkout once again staff were friendly and wished me a merry xmas, and when I left behind my phone charger in the room the staff called and offered to post it back. I would return as this is exactly what my friends and I needed for this 1 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, General Manager at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Enhop,

Thank you for coming to stay with us & for taking the time to post your experience of your stay at Maroochy River Bungalows.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and your kind works have been passed onto the our team who try very hard to help wherever they can.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. (PS Please be sure to mention that you have stayed previously so the girls can find your details and offer you our special repeat guest discount.)

Kind regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
39
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hi

We stayed at your cabins Last week, from Monday to Wednesday. If we had the choice we would of got a refund and went elsewhere. From the get go when we had arrived we were very upset as to what we had walked into. We were under the impression that our water front bungalow and also the resort was on the Mroochy River.....not a Creek. We had a busy main road going all night and that's all you could here with cars driving past 24/7. When we walked in to our Waterfront Bungalow it smelt and had dust everywhere. The dishes and all the cups and plates were dirty and had dried food all over them. Being 26 Weeks Pregnant and having to sleep in a bed that was that uncomfortable is bad enough, let alone going to the toilet to then see a millions ants and bugs surround the toilet and shower with also cockroaches. One foot step even from my eight year old son the whole bungalow shock and squeaked with everyone's foot steps. We paid out alot of money to go and have a nice relaxing family holiday. Lets just say we were glad to get home. We wouldn;t stay here agian even if we were paid too. Very Sad that we wasted our money on something that doesn't even look or is as described on the website. So in short
-the resort is not what it is describe to be
- website the pictures need to updated of all facilities
- Clean up the resort
- Clean bungalows before you have people pay to stay in them.
- Say you are on a creek not the river

Room Tip: Simple just dont stay here save your money and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ney86ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear ney86ney,

Thank you for your honest appraisal of your experience. We are of course very concerned to read your comments and we have now discussed several of the points you raised with our marketing girl and housekeeping team.

We have revisited many of the sites we are listed on and most have a map showing the location of the resort in relation to the Maroochy River. We have however changed some of the wording to be sure we are presenting it in the correct light. Thank you. The resort is called Maroochy River Resort and has been since it was first developed 20+ years ago so unfortunately that is not something that could be changed easily.

The road upn which we are situated is shown on all maps and our website in relation to the resort however I fully understand if it was not what you were expecting then it can be disappointing. Thank you for reminding ourselves and others that there is a main road approximately 350 metres across the inlet. If you are used to silence, then you will certainly notice the night noises, and of course these are most noiceable in the waterfront units as they are the closest to the water.

This weekend we are hosting a large group and following your comments we made sure all waterfront unts were given a full spring clean prior to them going in. Following a busy school holiday period I am sure that it wasn't beneficial.

I know you have stated that you would not wish to stay again, however, if on reflection, you feel that may be harsh and you may wish to try one of our Superior type Duplex Villas, which are more modern & stylish, much more spacious, and further away from the road (I would recommend one facing the conservation park and the natural bushland) then this would be a far quieter option for you.

Please remember that we are currently offering a 10% discount off our standard rates for return guests if you book directly through the girls in our office. When making your enquiry do tell them when you last stayed and they will find definitely find the best deal for you.

For you, and anyone else reading this review and feeling concerned, please mention this review and you will also receive and additional 1 hour free kayak hire for stays before 20/12/13.

We wish you all the best for the remainder of your pregnancy. and hope both mum & baby go through the birth with ease and good health. We are sincerely sorry to have caused you stress during this time.

Kindest regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were here with 3 children for a 40th birthday weekend. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were basic but were clean and suited young children. The sporting equipment was very cheap to hire. The only negative was that the communal iron was terrible!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curryn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Curryn01,

Thank you for taking the time to post an honest review of our little hideaway. Our aim is to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort on the Sunshine Coast and your comments suggest we are on the right track. The team will be very pleased to hear that you found them friendly and helpful.

The single kayaks are $5 per half hour and offer loads of fun for the children and tire them out and help them sleep well. Good old fashioned fun for the family.

Thank you so much for telling us about the iron. We are pleased to let you know that it has since been replaced so others do not have such an experience. For future, there is a second laundry onsite also with communal iron and board.

As you were there as part of a group it is possible that you didnt know much about the accommodation before you came. The 1 bedroom bungalows are the most basic, but they are the best for family groups wanting to be close together around a central bbq area. The other end of the spectrum are our 2 bedroom superior duplex villas. They have been more recently renovated and much more modern and stylish. In between are several other options which you can see on our website should you wish to return.

If you wish to return in the near future we are currently offering a 10% discount off our standard rates to returning guests who book direct with the girls in the office. Be sure to tell the girls when you last stayed and they will be sure to get you the best deal possible.

We look forward to seeing you here on the Sunshine Coast again sometime very soon.

Kind regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

we stayed in a waterfront cottage with two teenagers for three nights. Cottages were very old and basic, but clean. The position on the creek was lovely. We could see the traffic across the water but it didn't bother us. The staff at the reception/shop were wonderful and very helpful and friendly, giving us good information about what to do and where to go in the area. I could see it would be a good place for families in the school holidays when the weather is a bit warmer as the water is calm and perfect for boating, fishing etc, joining up to larger rivers. It is also centrally located between Noosa and Brisbane, with easy access to the mountains and all it's lovely villages and scenery.

Room Tip: pick a waterfront cabin for the outlook and closeness to water activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mumofsix,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is very much appreciated.

We offer 2 types of waterfront units... these being the very basic 1 bedroom bungalows, and the larger 2 bedroom cabins. Both will accommodate up to 2 adults & 3 children. All of them are offer affordable holiday or relocation options. Our best units are the 2 bedroom superior units which are more recently renovated and hence more modern and stylish. We hope you were able to see the differences based on our website descriptions and chose the room type that suited your budget accordingly.

We are delighted to hear your wonderful comments about the reception/shop staff. They will be very pleased to hear your comments. We aim to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort.on the Sunshine Coast. Your comments show that we are on the right track.

Thanks again for your time and effort in ensuring people get what they expect to get. We are not glam, and do not pretend to be, but that doesnt mean you cant have a great time. We offer friendly tranditional holidays like they used to be. Simple, friendly and you get to go home relaxed. We hope to see you here again sometime soon.

And.... dont forget we are currently offering 10% off our standard rates for returning guests who book direct with the girls in the office. So, be sure to mention when you stayed last time. Enjoy planning your next trip.

Kind regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed for the weekend and although the accommodation is quite basic the price is good and the grounds are very well maintained. The complex has a vegetable and herb garden that you can help yourself to which is quite unique and lovely. The complex has wifi bit it is very unreliable and drops out frequently. The staff are very friendly and helpful with all requests. The place is ideal for couples or families with boats as you can anchor the boat right at the front of the waterfront units and there are other water actives for kids. The feel of the place is more like a caravan park cabin village. Overall a lovely relaxing yet basic type of accommodation at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Avoid the Pub that is about 300 meters up the road. Food and service are very average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Nessie007,

Thank you for taking the time to post your honest review. We offer several different room types, with teh 1 bedroom tropical bungalows being the most basic and most affordable in the complex. The most modern and stylish are the 2 bedroom superior duplex villas, and there are several other room types in between. We are very pleased that they offered you value for money for the room type you selected.

Our team were awarded a position of Finalist in teh Sunshine Coast Glossie awards for their edible gardens. The team are very proud to be able to produce and share an array of vegetables, herbs and sometimes fruits, with guests and their visitors. Your feedback will be well received.

Unfortunately the wifi is not the best with all operating systems despite what feels like numerous attempts at trying to make it fit all. We are now trialling a new system where you can hire a wifi dongle. What do you think? Would that be a good solution?

We aim to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort on the Sunshine Coast so we very much appreciate your kind words about the staff being friendly and helpful with all requests. They will be very pleased with that feedback.

You are absolutely correct that people with boats definitely love the complex and come back time and again. Fishing clubs and (responsible) jetski clubs are also fans of the resort.

What we offer is really like a glimpse back in time, to holidays as they used to be. Simple wholesome activities for the whole family in a relaxing non stress environment. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

And...... Don't forget to mention that you have stayed before when making your next booking direct with the girls at the office. We are currently offering 10% to guests on a return visit to the resort.

Warm regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerston north
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was a neat little bungalow, real close to the river ( bout 20 feet). Very dated decor and basic but then thats what we paid for really. So this is not a complaint. Just highlighting that if you want posh expect to pay alot more for your accommodation. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Surroundings were beautiful, and they have edible gardens for you to help your self to!!!
would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Julie W,

It was a pleasure to read your post and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the 1 bedroom bungalows are not "modern" and are dated in terms of furniture and bathrooms. We do take every effort however to ensure that they are well maintained and clean. Other room types (ie the Superior duplex villas) are the largest and most modern and stylish. Prices vary accordingly as we hope you would have seen on our website.

We are of course delighted that you found the staff to be lovely and very helpful as aim to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort on the Sunshine Coast.

Thank you for taking the time to post your hones review and I hope that we will have the pooportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Sunshine Coast for another memorable and affordable holiday.

Warm regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We came for a weekend getaway as two couples and found this to be the perfect spot. Close to maroochydore in the car and great value. We were in a cabin away from the water where cabins are quite crowded in but this did not have a negative impact on our stay.
The cabin was clean with plenty of room for 2 couples to relax and cooking facilities better than expected with full stand alone oven, microwave and fridge.
The recreation facilities and hire equipment were great value for money with the only disappointment being that you must stay within view of the bungalows in the inlet area which was fine for me but my adventurous husband felt a little restricted. We had hoped to hire a couple of paddle boats between us but there is only one available and only one stand up paddle board. This did not ruin our fun and we just worked around it. It may be a bit of an issue if there is a big group wanting equipment at the same time.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating, making us all feel very welcome.
Only small issue was that we were only allowed one key for the cabin which meant that we had to come and go at the same time. Again not a big problem and easily managed between us.
We all left feeling happy and relaxed after a fun weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront bungalow if you want to be on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiejacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Katiejacks,

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time on the Sunshine Coast and that we were able to assist in helping you and your friends to relax and unwind. The fact that the cabin exceeded your expectations regarding cooking facilities is wonderful to hear.

Our watercraft are only $5 per 30 minutes (single) and we do keep this low to be affordable for everyone. It is unfortunate that the use of craft is restricted to the bay area however we see this as far safer for the children and far more relaxing for the parents when they know that out of the bay is out of bounds. As we dont want children unthinkingly following others, we make the rule apply to everyone at this stage. We would be interested to know how this could be safely managed in a different way if the interest was there.

Thank you for the kind words about the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff. The team make every effort to be helpful whereever possible and your feedback will be ver rewarding to them. A second key is usually available on request so I am surprised that it was not possible for you. Of course, things do happen and keys break, and therefore occasionally there are a few days where this is not always possible.

Thank you for taking the time to post your honest review and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sunshine Coast for another refreshing break.

Do remember that we are currently offering a 10% discount off our standard rates to repeat guests when booking direct with the girls in the office. Please be sure to say youhave been here before when you call to enquire. The girls will do everything possible to give you the best deal.

Warm regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
0.6 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Maroochy
Gateway Lifestyle Maroochy
#23 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.4 mi away
BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort
0.8 mi away
River Sands Holiday Apartments
River Sands Holiday Apartments
#37 of 43 in Maroochydore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Catalina Resort
Catalina Resort
#18 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Argyle On The Park
Argyle On The Park
#9 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rivershore Resort
Rivershore Resort
#2 of 43 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows

Property: Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows
Address: 38 - 46 David Low Way, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of Eudlo Creek just off the Maroochy River, Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows offers comfortable 3 star self-catering accommodation suitable for singles, couples and families. Close to all attractions and with hire services available for an abundance of water activities, this tropical setting is the perfect base to experience Maroochydore from. You’re guaranteed the perfect retreat within the heart of the beautiful Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing