We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food & Fabulous Staff”

Machu Picchu South American Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 211 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Machu Picchu Bar and Restaurant will take you on a journey from Australia's Sunshine Coast to the vibrant heart of South America. ​ Follow the salsa rhythms to the fiesta on Ocean Street in Maroochydore and step inside to experience the sights, sounds and flavours of the most colourful continent on earth. South Americans don't just eat to sustain themselves, they eat to celebrate, to honour and to connect with family and friends. Our 'piquitos' menu invites you to share the finest cuisine from all over the continent - from elegant Peruvian ceviche to hearty Brasilian asado. We're confident our extensive range of Latin beers, high-altitude rums and signature cocktails are the best you'll find ouside of South America.
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Fabulous Staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We dropped in for a late lunch (4pm) or early dinner...not sure. We ordered a few meals and a bottle of wine that were recommended to us by the fabulous waitress and shared. The food was tasty, interesting and relaxed.

We would definitely recommend Machu Picchu and will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    109
    35
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bueno!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Delicious tapas style menu, every dish had amazing flavours and best ceviche i've found in Australia so far. Service is excellent and reasonable prices all round
Cant wait to come back. :D

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cozzyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great service, good sizes”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great range of small dishes made to share. 3 dishes, including a salad is plenty for 2 . The lunch menu has inspired combinations for $20. Good beers and ciders. Wait staff are knowledgable, friendly and fast. The meals are well cooked, flavoursome and a little different.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoy exploring the tastes on the menu”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Friendly quick thinking staff, great mojito cocktail (best I've had on Sunshine Coast), interesting menu with accurate descriptions of dishes that I was not familiar with. All 8 dishes ordered were very tasty. I never thought I would ever write a negative about meals coming too quickly, but with the shared dish approach encouraged at this restaurant, the dishes just came too fast for our party of 4 to enjoy consuming each dish on its individual tastes - given that most of the orders were hot items and best enjoyed whilst hot we found ourselves racing to keep up with the delivery of orders. There was also not enough space on the table to accommodate the number of plates being bought out so quick in succession. However that aside, all tasted great, and we look forward to doing it again. Very festive buzz around the eatery, with all age groups represented and a range of table group from couples to parties of 8.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Buzzing! Great place to dine!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic atmosphere and a superb meal, staff were friendly and attentive even though the place was packed on a Friday Night and really busy! Drinks service quick and a great choice for everyone! Wish it had opened sooner!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scoobystuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machu Picchu South American Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Machu Picchu South American Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing