We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a rip off!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a rip off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

No room service! So expect to make your bed etc. Dirty! Everything at a cost wood for fire, cleaning of cabin when you leave! What ever you do don't get the breakfast this is what we got per person for 30 for two you be the judge! One quarter of a tomato, one half of a strawberry, one two inch slice of rock melon, two slices the size of a grape of dried up watermelon, one egg to be cooked, three two inch long pieces of herb, one orange juice, two slices of bread with one cube of butter each, One cube of jam, small box of cereal,120ml of full milk, and a child serving of yoghurt. what got me was that everything usually provided in a room was at cost. We were not game to ask for more tea when the 4bags ran out as we expected the cost to be in line with everything else. Lounge was so low that our knees almost hit our ears when watching tv, lay out of cabin didnt permit tv viewing from bed. List of cleaning we had to do before leaving or $40 charge! Told we would get some herbal bath thing left beside the spa bath nothing there except dead bugs. Spa fits one person only have picture to prove also jets for one person. Stove is a portable hot plate under the cupboard. We left early and paid for full booking only told this when husband wasn't there to dispute it. Not worth the argument! $1240 for three nights accommodation two breaky for two gave a weeks notice not coming back for future booking paid a fine for that too. Be warned!

Room Tip: Photos available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Desley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda72, Manager at Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
This Tenant in fact confirmed and booked the chalet for a total of 10 days including 2 weekends during Qld school holidays. This tenant and partner stated they were to check out early due to a issue elsewhere and unrelating to anything here with the accommodation.
The tenant states she paid $1240 for three days, whereas her contract was for 10days.This was short by $770 which we were prepared to waiver. Since the posting of the above misleading statements, this consideration is now withdrawn. The Cancellation Policy Conditions now apply and the tenant has been billed the unpaid balance of $770. The many statements made by the Tenant regarding the Chalets and services are clearly untrue and deflamatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    9
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed at Amytis Gardens this weekend and loved it! Perfect location (suprisely no bugs!), beautiful, clean cabins & lovely staff. Spa bath was amazing. Was left to enjoy our stay exactly as we wanted and everything needed was provided. Wish we had more days to stay but we will be back with friends as we loved it :)

Room Tip: Summer Berries, cabin furthest away from others :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstydalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Definitely not worth the money spent, as the place was not clean, was covered in mould when we arrived. We did have the owners clean it on the Saturday, which meant we couldn't enjoy the place and had to be out all day. When we checked out on Sunday we had the owner abusing us for putting her through that. Very unaccomodating and inconvenienced. not a relaxed or friendly atmosphere at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Natdoc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda72, Owner at Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
"Very Disappointing" this guest come to our reception next day and with much aggression & threatening us, they advised that the Chalet was filthy and that she took photos. We were shocked, as the Chalet just had the Representative from AAA Tourism ID 100538 do their yearly report and it was just done approx 3 hours before guest went into the Chalet. The Report said "Rooms present to a very high standard reflecting of rating 4.5 stars, a very well maintained Beautiful Property". On the Wednesday after the complaint we received a lovely "Thank You letter" from a previous guest who was in the same chalet before "very disappointing' Just as well we had an independent assessment before ' very disappointing' went into the Chalet..
We take pride in our Retreat and we offer our quests wonderful pamper treatments in the Day Spa and to relax in your Private Chalets. The Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

These cosy cabins right in the bush with wildlife right on your doorstep are just perfect for a romantic getaway. The staff are very friendly and the massages were fantastic. Even with all these features it is only 10 minutes from Maroochydore and Mooloolaba where there are plenty of restaurants and beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RelleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed at Amytis on our way up the coastline thinking that we were actually closer to Noosa. After our stay, we were glad we made the mistake because we found this accommmodation so beautifully enchanting and also very pleased at the central location of Amytis on the Sunshine Coast. We kept ourselves busy by day at the many local coast attractions then retreated to our own self contained cabin in the rainforest. Immaculate and clean in every way with great attention to detail. Beautiful stained glassed windows with wooden shutters, beautiful decor, LCD tv and kitchenette to assist in daily snacking and dining. We sat on our cabin length wooden deck enjoying a glass of wine in pure comfort. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, (no nonsense relaxed Australians). The Kookaburras are a little noisy in the morning, but ever so lucky to experience the Australian wildlife simultaneously!! We will recommend to any Brits that want to have a real treat on their journey up the coast line. Definately worth staying up to a week on the Sunshine Coast, so much to offer. We indulged in a massage at the day spa also. We loved the day spa ambience and massage was heaven. Oh the pool was great too, lucky it was heated for winter. Thank you will recommend to all British travellers.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UkFraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

My Mum lives on the Gold Coast, I live in Sydney and having only a few days free to catch up I was looking for a place where we could do just that- catch up,relax, spend some time together. Amytis Gardens provided us the perfect oportunity. Close to Noosa, Marouchydore, Mooloolabah & Caloundra, we were able to do some shopping, go for walks, have dinner and then relax on the balcony of our cabin at night. The cabin was immaculate and perfectly appointed with a spa, and a kitchenette (No cooking for us! Part of the joy of relaxing!)
We spent the second day at the Day Spa, which was everything we had both hoped it would be, very relaxing and refreshing. The staff were absolutly lovely and friendly, making us welcome at all times.
I stay in a lot of hotels, as I travel with work,Amytis Gardens is not a hotel as such, but more like a Bed and Breakfast where you get the feeling of being welcomed into someone's home, but with the privacy of your own little house!
I honestly couldn't fault the accomodation, breakfast, location, staff, Day Spa facilities or value for money.
We will definately go back, my Mum and I will endevour to make this a yearly event.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

Last weekend I returned from a two and a half week holiday to Australia. I spent five evenings at Amytis Gardens on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland. A friend of mine visited the place about six months ago and, to use a cliche, told me that I wouldn't be disappointed.

Luckily, I wasn't!!!!

The location was just perfect; close enough to the hubs of Maroochydore, Mooloolaba and Noosa but far enough into the "bush" to allow us to "chill out". (I picked up on a few of the Aussie expressions whilst I was over there! ha ha)

The grounds on which the accommodation sits are just spectacular. Who needs to go to Australia Zoo when you can open up the doors of your cabin to observe and hear the sights and sounds of Australia's unique wildlife.

My wife enjoyed being pampered with massages and facials whilst I headed out onto the golf course. We even took part in a cooking class.

We stayed in four different hotels during our trip but, as good as the other places were, this was the best.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank skinnyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
8.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.5 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
5.8 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
19.3 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa

Property: Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa
Address: 51 Malones Rd | Kiels Mountain, Sunshine Coast, Maroochydore, Queensland 4559, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private Mountain hideaway amongst 16 acres in the Heart of Australia's Nature Coast. Just 10 minutes behind golden beaches of the Sunshine Coast, offering superb mountain chalets. Amytis Gardens provides the ultimate getaway. Cooking classes for the foodies, and a Day Spa to restore your bodies energies - nurturing massages, face and body spa therapies are a must. Chef prepared meals are available for those of you who wish to escape the kitchen, and breakfast baskets available. Four Chalets, well appointed with sunken spa bath and crackling fire place offer a complete escape sanctuary. Each elevated chalet is decorated in a French Provincial theme, with the Australian treetops your view from the indulgent sunken spa bath. Polished timber floors sweep throughout to reach exquisite Argentine hand painted glass window features. A panel of white shutters separate lounge from bedroom giving you that holiday feeling. Not to mention the radiating warmth of your wood fireplace keeping you toasty on winter days. Equipped for comfort with kitchenette & dishwasher facilities, you have the freedom to make a snack or your own personal banquet if you desire. Relax with a book on your private balcony or take a leisurely swim in our ozone treated swimming pool - float away looking up to clear blue skies and cool native Eucalypts. You can even keep in touch with the office ...if you must. The chalets are air-conditioned and have screened wooden louvers to catch the cool of the summer breeze. Native birds surround your Chalet (including a few cheeky kookaburras...), and local wild-life are frequent visitors to our natural coastal region. Escape back to nature with simple luxuries within reach at Amytis Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing