We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this place on your bucket list”
Review of Possum Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Possum Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have been aware of this place for some years but never seemed to have found the time to go there.
As part of our trip to the outback we detoured to Possum Creek.
Not disappointed.
Bunker accommodation was great; the "park" itself was a bush haven; the history of the bunkers was fascinating.
Would recommend the Park but advise to book early if you plan on going.
REMINDER : You have to take your own supplies.

Room Tip: There are only 3 Bunker Cabins available so book early. Alternative accommodation (including van sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked a drive through site for 1 night then discovered the history, the walks, the setting, the people and had to extend our stay to make the most of one of the most interesting parks we stayed in over our 7 week holiday. Amenities clean, campfire friendly and welcome in the middle of winter.Thanks Julie for your passion for the history of your home and park and what you have acheived.
And while in Miles area do not miss the Heritage Centre, but give yourself plenty of time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di_A772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Don't bypass this park However, ensure you book because lots are learning about this best kept secret. The history, the setting, the people just great. Will be going back and spending more time. Had a powered site. Easy access and parking. Amenities spotless!

T&S53

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We camped at Possum Park in one of the unpowered sites.

A very interesting place to stay with all of the trains, bunkers, plane and stuff. It would have been fun to stay in a train or a bunker, but we had the camper trailer so we went to an unpowered site.

The staff were friendly. One of the brothers pulled out the ukulele and had a bit of a sing along by the camp fire (which the grey nomads seemed to like).

It was a bit pricey at $40 ($10 a head) for the unpowered site for the night.

The site had a fire ring, so we toasted marsh mellows in the evening.

Facilities were OK, in an 80s kind of way.

All in all it was a fun place to stay, in a weird kind of way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We booked a site for 2 nights, It was 20 klm out of town, the managers where polite and very helpful, This is a must Caravan park to book into it also has drive through sites, Please if your traveling Australia and you go to Miles travel that 20 klms to a relaxing stay.you will not be disappointed. Miles two caravan parks in town has closed there doors to Caravaners and have built cabins. Don't bypass Possum Park.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mauzie427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed overnight in one of the converted railway carriages. Nothing flash but very comfortable and enjoyable night with everything provided which made for a perfect stopover to break the trip from Brisbane to Emerald. Would like to try one of the bunkers next time just for the experience. If you are camping or in a van however could be very hot in summer as there is not much shade and the sites a quite close together. Owners and staff very friendly and accommodating. Very interesting place to stay with lots of Aust Army and WWII history. The stories around the campfire were an added bonus. If you are after some real qld bush hospitality then you'll enjoy Possum Park. If you are not travelling on the Leichhardt Highway then it is well worth making the 20km detour out of Miles to investigate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed overnight in one of the bunkers. It was cosy, well appointed and private. Thoroughly recommended for couples or familys with everything including a fully appointed kitchen, car port and barbeque at very reasonable tariffs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miles hotels
12 mi away
Miles Outback Motel
Miles Outback Motel
#3 of 7 in Miles
71 reviews
12.3 mi away
Western Downs Motor Inn
12.3 mi away
Starline Motor Inn
Starline Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Miles
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn Swagsman Miles
12.1 mi away
Golden West Motor Inn
12.1 mi away
Miles Windsor Hotel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Possum Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Possum Park

Address: 36865 Leichhardt Highway, Miles, Queensland 4415, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Miles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Miles
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing