We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

This is such a nice hotel with a very chilled out vibe. It's clean and comfortable and the staff were just lovely which is really important. Don't be put off by the fact that its 4km to the shop as they give free lifts several times a day and it means you are literally right by the beach, although you won't want to leave the pool as its really nice!! If I had one suggestion for them it'd be to watch who they employ as one or two of the guys that worked for free accommodation were not very friendly and as soon as the lovely main staff finished for the day they tended to walk around as though they owned the place which could make it a bit awkward...as for the hostel though I really can't fault it, it was lovely!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzygray6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Mission Beach Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Loved it here, bedrooms clean and with air con, bathrooms clean (although only had 1 to share between 9 people) and kitchen and communal areas more than adequate. Located in actual mission beach village but have to drive to get to woolworths and the bottle shop, but the hostel provides several trips a day to do this! Staff so friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This would have to be one of the best experiences that I have had while travelling. Unbelievably clean, very welcoming staff and all around a wonderful experience.Mission Beach Retreat is so laid back, but not over the top. Beautiful pool, and every facility that you could want, but definitely not a glitzy sort of place.

Room Tip: make sure that you book
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed there in 2006, found new friends and fell in love with another.
Stayed there again October 2012 and got married.

This is to say a huge thanks to Richard and Anthea and their team at the time. These guys made our stay and marriage fantastic. Who would have ever thought that a Backpackers wedding can turn out 10 out 10. It was better than ever expected.
We felt really welcomed by all and nothing seemed to be impossible. It was truly amazing.

The retreat has risen from the ashes like a phoenix after Larry has visited... The room was nice and tidy and the 3 pax bunk bed was just ideal for us.
Not to forget to mention the Zen bar and it amazing food!! Better than any other wedding catering I have ever experienced.

Sorry for my late reply and review, just been busy with other things.....D'oh.
All the backpackers at the time were very kind and warm hearted people and this has shown us that Richard and Anthea are doing a great job in keeping the hostel spirit still alive.

Room Tip: Ask Richard for some advise, he will sort you out with the right room once he knows what you are up...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Even though it rained our whole time there, the staff were really nice couldn't do enough for you, rooms were clean, air con bit dodgy but beds comfy and bathrooms clean! Would definitely recommend this place ;)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed in the hostel for one night in a doubleroom. Mission beach is small with a few shops so everything (including the beach) is close to the hostel.

The staff (we met one) were really nice and helpful which was very positive. The room, however, was not clean and the sheets had spots.
We saw mold in some of the corners of the walls in the bathroom.

The room was tiny and the bed almost took up all the space. The mattress was really bad and you could feel the springs through the mattress.

On our trip we stayed in other hostels for the same price that were cleaner and where the rooms were nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Sofie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This is one of those rare hostels where everyone is like a family and you're made to feel part of it straight away. I loved it here! This hostel has a really chilled out atmosphere and if you want to meet new people and have a few drinks then stay here! I was traveling by myself and within half an hour of arriving I was sitting outside with everyone, was really made to feel so welcome. The staff are great, rooms and bathrooms are clean. This hostel is actually on Mission beach so is a 5 minute drive from the greyhound stop and where the two other main hostels are but there are more cafes and bars here and a market on sundays. The hostel has a shuttle bus to take you to the greyhound. Also only 2 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#6 of 23 in Mission Beach
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sejala on Mission Beach
Sejala on Mission Beach
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Address: 49 Porter Prom, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range: £26 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Retreat YHA, situated in the center of Mission Beach, is unlike any other hostel in the area. We are a family owned boutique backpacker hostel offering dorm share and private accommodation. We have a fully functioning tour desk with access to the best rates for all tours not only in Mission Beach but all along the east coast and across Australia. We have food and drink specials organised for guests at local bars/restaurants and have free activities of our own every day. We offer a relaxed, home-from-home style living with 14 kms of pristine Mission Beach Sand and great views at our back door. Rainforest/nature trails and walks start from our doorstop with amazing native wildlife all around us (such as the endangered cassowary). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Mission Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing