We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike - Mission Beach Retreat Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
1 review
“Mike - Mission Beach Retreat Review”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great place to stay. Really clean and well maintained. Very tranquil, homely and welcoming atmosphere. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Would happily recommend to anyone looking to stay in Mission Beach.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMBR, Manager at Mission Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Mike, thanks for your feed back, we are so pleased you enjoyed it here. Don't hesitate to give us a call if you need help with YHA accommodation etc over Australia, always happy to help.
Happy travels! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    50
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
39
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

It's a cute hostel, the older couple who were running it when we stayed were lovely, but seemed rather flustered and confused when we arrived. We had booked a double room but there was some mistake with our booking and we ended up in a very random room, with a window into the common area (bit strange). Think the rooms need a bit of updating but it was all clean. We rented mopeds from here which was fun. Mission beach is really just a stop for skydiving for most people, not much else to see or do, nice area though.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EJoyceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMBR, Manager at Mission Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, the hostel is now under new management, renovated bedrooms, dorms and private rooms with a renovated kitchen and living room, would be great for you to come back and sample the new paradise.
We have new things going on around the area, from croc tours on the Hull River, to beautiful rainforest walks, we will take you around the area and show you the markets and crack open fresh coconuts on the beach.
New charter boats leave for the Great Barrier Reef everyday, and water taxis over to Dunk Island run 7 days a week.

We have a fresh new look, we welcome families couple and backpackers.
We really do appreciate your feedback.
Thank you and take care from Mission Beach Retreat YHA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and this has to be one of the nicest and cleanest hostels I've stayed in whilst in Australia. The staff, Georgia and Joe are amazing and will go out of their way to help u with everything. They made our stay perfect. Would recommend to anyone staying in Mission Beach. Thanks guys, we will be back :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lol1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMBR, Manager at Mission Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay. We cant wait for you to come back - your sky dive is waiting for you :). Enjoy the rest of your travels. Take Care. Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights at the Mission Beach Retreat in a 9-share dorm. The size of the room was good and it was really bright. The kitchen&lounge area was all open plan and pretty cosy. Regarding the cleanliness the first impression wasn't the best unfortunately. My room was untidy (was in a room with some of the long term stays) and also a bit unclean. The following days I saw the management really making an effort to keep the communal area clean and tidy. However there is room for improvement in the dorms.

The staff - and also long term stays who didn't actually work for the hostel - were all really helpfull and friendly. Joe&Nicholle, you're doing a good job! :)

The hostel is located almost immediate waterfront; it's literally a 1-minute walk. Beautiful beach, perfect to relax and just sit and watch the waves. Unfortunately it's rather far from the next big supermarket, but the hostel runs a free shuttle bus throughout the whole day. So plan ahead regarding grocery shopping unless you want to spend a small fortune in the convenience store next door ;)

Lastly - and for me most importantly - it's a really warm and welcoming atmosphere at the Mission Beach Retreat. I would definitely recommend it to friends and also come back myself!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on travels south from Cairns to Airlie. Had the choice of a few hostels when we got off the coach but decided on the YHA. The hostel is without doubt in a great location, just a few mins walk to the quiet beach area. Unfortunately the kitchen was untidy and dirty. There was a number of portable electric and butane gas stoves sitting around, none of which worked. The bulk of the residents seemed to be working in the hostel and didn't clean up dishes after they were used, there was two drying towels in the kitchen but both smelt of wet dog. We decided against eating in the hostel for our wellbeing but had a great meal in the nearby fish bar.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marty_Ande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely hostel, close to the beach! Lots of different tours to do! Even get a free night if you book your skydive and a free t-shirt. Great value for money rooms and the staff are lovely, will go out of their way for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikky300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here for two nights. The only problem we had was our booking was not taken down when we booked the previous week. But luckily the staff where really apologetic and upgraded us to a double room. The hostel was not the cleanest but the staff where fairly friendly and the location was pretty good. The only down side to this hostel was the amount off staff and lack of guest that seemed to be staying there. On one evening there was an argument between certain members off staff that was extremely childish behaviour and did not set a very pleasant mood in the hostel. But this place would have been great with a couple more people as overall it did have a relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#5 of 23 in Mission Beach
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Property: Mission Beach Retreat
Address: 49 Porter Prom, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Retreat YHA, situated in the center of Mission Beach, is unlike any other hostel in the area. We are a family owned boutique backpacker hostel offering dorm share and private accommodation. We have a fully functioning tour desk with access to the best rates for all tours not only in Mission Beach but all along the east coast and across Australia. We have food and drink specials organised for guests at local bars/restaurants and have free activities of our own every day. We offer a relaxed, home-from-home style living with 14 kms of pristine Mission Beach Sand and great views at our back door. Rainforest/nature trails and walks start from our doorstop with amazing native wildlife all around us (such as the endangered cassowary). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mission Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing