We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
cairns
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“romantic getaway”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we recently stayed at this resort because it's always a pleasure. I chose it for my partners 50th birthday and it's great to sit and relax away from Cairns. The staff are always great, rooms (cabin with spa) is a treat and next to the beach. The drive from Cairns is little over an hour. It's one of our favourite places to celebrate special occasions and not much to disappoint here. We'll keep going back

Room Tip: stay in the spa cabins. They are secluded with your own pool out the front and nice spa in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    77
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
77
133
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We picked the Eco village resort on the strength of the glowing reviews and while we found it to be a pleasant place to stay we didn't rave about it.
On the plus side it is situated beside a lovely quiet beach, and the tropical gardens are well maintained. The chalets are well laid out to give an illusion of privacy, each with a functioning kitchen and decent bathroom.
On the negative side we felt the rooms were tired and not overly comfortable and with poor lighting. There was nowhere nice to sit in the evening.
there was no room service at all although we were given clean towels as we passed the office one day. We certainly didn't see those big smiles that people raved about.
The restaurant was only open one night. We didn't try it.
The pool was small, although surrounded by well cared for garden.
I thought the place was quite creepy at night, especially walking from the car park but I guess I am a city girl at heart.
Overall this seems to be a place that caters best for families.
The township is a short walk along the beach...10-15 minutes...and there are a few places to eat. It would be a bit of a challenge without a car though.

Room Tip: most of the chalets are around the small pool which is well screened by trees and bushes. A couple a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a short stay at this beautiful resort , short track to a lovely beach and rock pools . Ideal escape from cold Melbourne winter. Perfect for long walks along palm fringed beach. It was so peaceful. The gardens and pool area very neat and well cared for.
The cabins are basic but clean , very comfy bed , and well priced. Mission Beach has kept its character and is a delight to visit at any time of year. We particularly liked the table by the rocks , a special quiet place to enjoy the sound of the waves while reading or enjoying a cuppa. The birdsong and tropical garden setting was beautiful and the reception helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur4070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This resort is a hidden gem - a lovely, secluded tropical oasis at the beautiful northern end of Mission Beach. We only stayed one night but truly felt like we were a world away from everything. Our spacious cabin was immaculately clean, well appointed and set amongst beautiful tropical gardens. We enjoyed sitting on the front patio where we could catch ocean glimpses and listen to the peaceful sounds of the sea and wildlife. It was just a short walk down to the stunning, picture-perfect palm-fringed beach where our toddler had great fun playing in the sand & gentle waves.

This is certainly the nicest place we've stayed at Mission Beach and was excellent value too, so we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMereW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Eco Village is tucked away within a towering wall of green rainforest with sounds of the sea whispering around the sandy pathways. This appeared to be a unique feature of the resort - other accommodation was set on grassy, cleared properties. You will need a hirecar to get here and get around;it's a 15 minute walk to Mission Beach shops and a 5 minute drive to Bingil Bay Cafe and beach (both the best in the area).

We got along nicely with the manager, Dan who made a spot on recommendation for Dunk Island but we needed some more detailed travel information from the local information centre. We didn't find any WiFi or Vodafone connection anywhere on the property. A guest laptop would have been handy but Dan accessed things for us as needed.

Most of the bungalows circle the pool area which is pleasant enough but attracted the guests with kids. As a couple we preferred our bungalow which was located back from the pool behind a greenery screen. The bungalows are comfortable and clean but lack the modern styling of other similar resorts in far north Queensland. The room was also really dark; we needed all lights on all day. It also missed some details I've seen in similar properties such as a clothes-horse to dry all of your wet stuff and an information folder for the area.

The Longhouse restaurant had lovely but expensive food and a view of the sea down a sandy track. The waiting staff were hestitant and atmosphere lacking despite the resort being full (louder music might help).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELtoUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent warm friendly genuine staff, Spectacular lush green grounds, private tranquil relaxing accomadation, The food and service in the restaurant was faultless, Wow what a great stay, full marks to all , you can see how much these people love what they do as they all do it so well with a big smile! I will return many times. This is where the rainforest truly meets the reef.


Shane & Neoma Jacka.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We happened across Eco Village Resort & so glad we did. Wonderful relaxing grounds, sea glimpses through the rainforest from our verandah & hearing the waves the waves at night lulling you to sleep. Short walk through the rainforest to main Mission Beach & the restaurants. Very friendly reception staff, couldn't be more helpful. Will make this a favourite and will come back again for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilless42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.2 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
230 reviews
5.5 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
129 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Village Resort Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Village Resort Mission Beach

Property: Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Address: Clump Point Road, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eco Village Resort Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinct, relaxed and set in tropical paradise surrounds, ecovillage mission beach offers a unique holiday in the beautiful Far North. Set in unspoiled rainforest and only metres to Mission Beach’s iconic golden stretch of coastline, the resort is exclusively located where World Heritage rainforest fronts the Great Barrier Reef. The unique Clump Point coastal basalt formations, rock pools and their ecosystems are unique to the Wet Tropics and are significant to the Djiru Traditional Owners. Relaxing is easy in this tropical paradise resort, offering guest accommodation bungalows or stylish spa suites, all with private balconies. Grab a sun lounge and watch the kids have fun in the lagoon pool, or enjoy a drink at the Longhouse Restaurant and watch the breathtaking sunset sweep over Dunk Island. When you’re ready to discover more, the local shops and cafes are only a short walk away and the resort is also close to many of the activities and tours on offer in the area. So whether you are looking for adventure or to simply unwind, you will never forget this unique little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco Village Resort Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing