We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Day Out to Dunk Island”
Review of Coral Sea Kayaking

Coral Sea Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer adventure sea kayak trips camping and exploring National Park Islands within the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park in North Queensland. Half day coastal paddles and one day Dunk Island trips to 7-day expeditions to Hinchinbrook Island. Small group tours respecting and appreciating this stunning tropical environment, lead by friendly, knowledgeable guides who have spent plenty of time paddling these rain-forested islands. Our trips not only offer beautiful sea kayaking but, snorkeling, wildlife spotting, learning about this rich eco-system, beach-combing and just chilling out in a hammock in a tropical paradise. We also have expedition sea kayaks, Sit-on-top kayaks and Stand-Up Paddleboards for hire.
1 review
“A Fantastic Day Out to Dunk Island”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

David and Atalanta were both incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and kind. From the moment the trip started our group felt as though we were being taken out by family friends to their favourite spot. The location was gorgeous, the food was great, and David could answer every question we could ask. The experience was truly fantastic, couldn't have asked for a better Kayaking experience. It was the highlight of all of our trips!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayaking, Owner at Coral Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks so much for your great review, we are glad you had a lovely day out exploring the islands and that David could answer all your questions, he is very knowledgeable about the islands flora and fauna. We will look forward to hopefully seeing more students from the School of Field Studies up on the tablelands. Enjoy the rest of your stay in the tropics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Atalanta was chatty and mother-hennish and insightful and skilled and happy and energetic and not-so-in-our-face-that we-couldn't-breathe and forgiving and baker of tasty muesli. Couldn't ask for a better sea kayaking experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayaking, Owner at Coral Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that you have fond memories of your day paddling to Dunk Island. I truly love these islands and enjoy showing them off to visitors to our beautiful Mission Beach region. I hope you enjoy lots of other sea kayaking trips in the near future.
Cheers and smiles,
Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Fun”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We took the day trip to Dunk Island. We had little experience kayaking before and were a bit nervous about what to expect but we found the experience not too difficult and really one of the highlights of our stay at Mission Beach. Atty was our tour guide and was very experienced and knowledgeable about the area. The lunch provided was fantastic. It really was an amazing experience to kayak out to Dunk Island and back and we can highly recommend this trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMVFEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayaking, Owner at Coral Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we love showing visitors the highlights of Dunk Island, especially with the perfect weather and clear water we have at the moment. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Mission Beach and all the best to you both for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good trip with best lunch ever”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Quite easy - everyone who likes paddling with good explanations and a wonderul surrounding can do this trip. Only people with seasickness (like me) could get some probs... We were only 4 guests and Atti made a good show with a really great lunch! Thank you for this interesting day and best wishes from Hamburg - Claudia & Frank

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank didilidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayaking, Owner at Coral Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you Claudia and Frank for your nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your day sea kayaking to Dunk Island with us. We are very lucky to have such beautiful tropical islands in easy reach from South Mission Beach as we love taking people out paddling to explore them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous 3 Day Kayak Trip”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My partner & I just returned from the 3 day Tropical Islands Kayak trip & had a fantastic time! The trip leaders, Dave & Michelle may this trip memorable for us. They were the ultimate hosts & were so relaxed about everything. Nothing was a issue. Not only did they lead us on the kayaking, they prepared the most amazing gourmet meals. They worked extremely hard but it never showed.I would highly recommend doing a trip with Coral Sea Kayaking! WE are looking forward to doing another kayak trip in the near future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank curlyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayaking, Owner at Coral Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you Cheryl for this lovely review, it is great to hear that you so enjoyed your paddling trip with us to the beautiful Family Islands. David and Michelle love to create their delicious meals whilst camping on the islands beaches. We will hope to see you both again, perhaps on our Hinchinbrook Island trip. Warm regards David and Attie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coral Sea Kayaking also viewed

Mission Beach, Queensland
Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
Mission Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Coral Sea Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing