We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mission Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed one night travelling through from Cairns to Townsville for work. We usually only stay in cheaper accomodation when working as we arrive late and leave early. We chose the standard unrenovated room for $100 a night and were pleasantly surprised for the cost. We had a nice outlook onto a bush backdrop, and a pool designated for our group of 6 or so rooms. We didnt swim as it was late in the day but it looked quite nice. Our shower was nice, the bed & linen were lovely, nice toiletries provided and we were also were supplied with the common basics like wine glasses and cable TV which always make a difference. We never expect a great deal for $100 a night with the only disappointment being the pillows which were terrible and the fridge made a running water noise all night.

We ate in the bistro which had a two for one meal deal. Upon arriving we were told we could help ourselves to the soup, salad, dessert & tea, coffee. We ordered the Barramundi which was absolutely delicious with mashed potatoe & an avocado tomato salsa - we were way too full to even look at the dessert bar - a beautiful meal indeed.

Cant really fault the place, I am sure the renovated rooms are much nicer, but for what we stopped in for we were more than happy.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a longer period & want a plush room dont choose the unrenovated rooms. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASSunnyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

This property varies significantly, according to room type. The standard room we had is an extremely basic older style motel room. It is not a resort, merely a set of variable standard rooms set in clusters around a 'BWS' pokies hotel, also dated. It is NOT at Mission Beach but much further south, too far to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathesonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property for two nights was very clean and a nice little place to stay.. Not far from the beach and restaurants with friendly staff.. Rooms where average size but had everything you need... Very friendly area and would recommend for all. Lovely clean place and affordable well worth the money..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mine2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Very clean and comfortable rooms. Beds were great. Simple tranquil and tropical surrounds that are nicely maintained.Nice pool and spa. Staff are all absolutely fantastic. All of them.... the cleaning staff, the reception staff, the bar,the restaurant, the groundsmen and women. They are all naturally friendly and hospitable. No patronising fake smiles or scripts. Just genuine north qld hospitality. So relaxing. Would probably choose to eat elsewhere but its ok for a cheap bite. Really loved the 'vibe' of this resort. Would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snail9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Mission Beach resort is only 120 klm from cairns and the same distance from Townsville . we desided not to rent a car and travelled by greyhound from cairns .There are 3 services daily which is very convienent , and the coach pulls into Mission Beach resort .weighing up the cost of a rental and the coach in is way ahead . There is a Taxi service in mission and there is a local bus that travels around mission beach , The food is great at the resort , with a wonderful buffet . it has all the entertainment you would want ,, 2 pools , and lovely gardens. walking distance to the beach , but no swimming in the summer months ,thats why we travel in the winter months , the water is still warm .we own 2 investment properties there but prefer to stay at the resort.

Room Tip: there is no advise as to a special room all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Had 2 nights escape. Room was lovely, clean, modern, well set up. 30 second walk from our door to the pool, pool was relaxing, clean, spa lovely.
We had breakfast, lunch and dinner, enjoyed all 3.
Staff were fabulous, the groundsman, ladies cleaning the rooms, reception staff, ladies and gentleman in the restaurant and gaming areas, all very friendly and helpful.
We are from Tully, so close, and we have discovered our getaway destination, for peaceful, rejuvinating weekends away, are on our doorstep. No more wasting 2 hrs to run to cairns for a quick weekend away.
We will definitely be back.
Thankyou everyone at Mission Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townsvillemiss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during a trip from Townsville to Cairns. The room was clean enough and the bed was comfortable, but the place is really more a motel than a hotel, let alone a resort. There was pool close to our room but it was very uninviting, we didn't bother going for a swim. It's also a little far from the nice beach which is where the restaurants etc are. You'd need a car to drive down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsNinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.3 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 22 in Mission Beach
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
139 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Resort

Address: Lot 4 Wongaling Rd, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mission Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Resort is centrally located at Wongaling Beach, within 5 minutes walking distance you will discover 14km of world class beaches that meet the magnificent rain forest, creating the perfect setting for your relaxation. The resort has all the facilities and services to make your stay a relaxed and memorable one. Why not kick back in one of our 4 swimming pools or spa? Dine in our fully licensed restaurant or, relax in our Sports Bar or Gaming Room. With convention and function facilities, we are available to cater for special occasions and the various needs of your group. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff offer an extensive information and tour booking service for all local tours and attractions. What more could you ask for? Stay at Mission Beach Resort for a truly relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mission Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing