We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hostel we've been to!”
Review of Treehouse Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mission Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treehouse Hostel
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We arrived at the Treehouse, originally planning to stay for a few days but ended up staying for almost two weeks! Situated perfectly in a secluded spot in the rainforest close enough to Mission Beach (with a free bus ride) to be able to skydive and buy groceries but far enough away so you can really relax.

Good swimming pool, brilliant hammocks, moderatly clean facilities and sometimes even freshly baked bread from Harry (the manager) himself!

Best of all was the spirit of the place! Friendly and helpful staff (Harry & Dave) and interesting long term guests created a really communal atmosphere; almost like being with your family!

We miss this place already!
Johann & Stefania from Iceland

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

f you looking for a nice hostel with hammocks and a special atmosphere, with a view over the rainforest, a cassowary visiting weekly the garden, great pool, ideal to just relax or to do a nice bushwalk. They have a bus into Mission beach and pick up from the busstation. We loved this place because it is quite unique and finally you get something special instead of the normal backpacker style.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed a week but could have stayed longer. The place is just so relaxing and friendly, met some great people. It's a little bit out of mission beach but they have a free shuttle bus going a few times a day into town, they will also pick you up from the coach. The kitchen is well equip and the swimming pool is lovely. The showers don't always have hot water if you are the last in but its still Luke warm. The staff were great and we enjoyed having a few drinks down in the bar. They also have a resident cat and dog, who are also lovely but be prepared if you have allergies like I do :)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littledonkey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

It is the best Hostel I've ever been in my life, thanks to the owners that are so nice and above all thanks to the nature, in the middle of the rain forest, and the familiar atmosphere between the guys. So quite and nice... and in the morning little kangaroos come to visit you! Annalisa, Italy

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

stayed here for 4 nights in november while travelling around australia for 2 months.after another 6 months and 8 countries this was one of the best spots i stayed at.sure no one runs around cleaning up after you and theres no tv a good thing but relaxing in a hammock with a beer and zero7 on my ipod with a swim in the pool right on edge of the rainforest is hard to beat.its a bit remote but the shuttle bus to the shops or beach works well.water taxi to dunk island is nice or parachute onto the beach if you get restless. the rainforest comes alive at daybreak with all manner of birds and animals calling across the rainforest.dorm i stayed in was ok but it wasnt full and the 2 toilet/shower rooms downstairs was ok but again it was not full.dont expect 5star pampering but do expect one of the top spots on queensland

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkn729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at Treehouse in August, 2010. We had read the brochure beforehand and were really looking forward to a short stay there. However, that was very shortlived. When we arrived there was no parking space available for our car initially. The bus to take us back to Mission Beach, run by the hostel was $2 per person each way, so we elected to drive back to the town for our tea. We found the showers and bathroom facilities worked OK but were dirty and some were in need of repair. There was no sign of the library and international newspapers mentioned in the brochure, only a bookshelf full of old and tatty books. The room is one of the only ones we've stayed in that had absolutely no storage space at all. We have stayed at a number of hostels throughout Qld and this is the worst by far. No sign of breakfast in the morning (free one advertised in the brochure) so we left early and had it at Mission Beach. I would no recommend this hostel to friends and we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoAdventruers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreehouseYHA, Front Office Manager at Treehouse Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2010

I was sorry to read your review of your recent stay with us. On the night of your stay we were very busy and our modest carpark was a little crowded. I personally tried to help you with this matter and moved one of our vehicles so that you could have a space.

The shuttle bus is subsidised by the Treehouse which enables all of our guests to travel to Mission Beach for the greatly reduced price of $2 per person each way. This has always worked well for our guests.

With regards to breakfast, we have not provided this for 4 years, We do however sell breakfast food from reception which is open from 7:30am. As for your room, we can not offer storage due to lack of space. All of our double rooms however come with extra large beds for comfort and are the cheapest in Mission Beach.

I hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay in Australia.

Treehouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

It's the best Backpacker i did in Australia !
Near the Jungle, but a little bit far from Mission Beach (even if there some Bus, a car is a big help). A nice swimming pool and nice weather :)
I wish i could stay longer ... TY to the Team :)

Antoine (Fr)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ac-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
4.9 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
5.7 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
139 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treehouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treehouse Hostel

Address: Frizelle Road, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing